We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”

La Carretta Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 172 Restaurants in Gresham
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Troutdale
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

The service is amazing! They just keep refilling your chips and salsa, so much that you have to stop yourself and save room for the meal. The meal portions are large enough that you can take some home for a light meal later.
The meal itself is typical Mexican restaurant food. I think that Mexican restaurants can really stand out if they have great chips and salsa. The salsa has a distinct oregano taste, it’s good. But the chips are lacking. The husband and I both wondered if they would be offended if we brought a bag of Juanita’s chips to the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miss_inscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Troutdale, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sad, just so sad.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

If you are really hungry and don't care about flavor then this is your place. Huge portions of totally tasteless food. I'm don't know if we just came on a bad day or what, but I've only a few times in my life experienced food that is so bland that no matter what you do, you can't seem to make it have any flavor. No amount of salt, pepper, salsa, even hot sauce could make this food taste like anything. The chicken in my enchilada and my wifes chimichanga seemed to have been boiled in plain water until it had absolutely no flavor whatsoever. Even my chili relleno had very little flavor. The salsa that is tauted by some, seemed to be nothing more than canned tomatoes, diced up with a few onions and a very small amount of spices. Very mediocre. The best thing on my plate was the refried beans, which I am sure was just heated up from a can. The service was good, the atmosphere fair. I gave it a poor only because the service wasn't bad and the food didn't taste bad. It just had no taste at all.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A Good Choice for Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Food is always good. Affordable. Servers are welcoming. Family atmosphere. There is the lounge on the other side, too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, OR
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hope you are hungry!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

The food is good and the quantities are huge! The bus person periodically walks around with a pitcher of salsa to refill it for you. They leave a pitcher of water on the table. Nice staff and good food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pati13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, OR
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“decent food, dirty restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

La Caretta is a well established and popular restaurant in the area. The food tastes good, the portions are good, but it is pretty generic out-of-a-can mexican food. And, the restaurant is not very clean.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank egustafs56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Carretta Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Carretta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing