We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Carretta Restaurant

La Carretta Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 173 Restaurants in Gresham
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This place has great food and great service. Very friendly. I keep going back to try new items. I love the tamales. I would definitely recommend on going in and giving them a try. Go a little early it dose get busy.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gresham, Oregon
1 review
“Queen of Mexican food in East County”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Best Mexican food at very reasonable prices. Coming from Southern California I have been on a constant search for good, 'real' Mexican food. La Carretta is the answer. Never ending chips and salsa are fresh and tasty. I recommend the fajitas. So good, so much. They will cook anything, any way you want, just ask. Superb service.
Super fun place for a date or birthday. Friday night even has roaming mariachis. Even has a separate bar ifyou are in too that.
Do not miss this one.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“better than taco bell?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We did get to sit down near a window when I asked and they tried very hard to accommodate even when they were very busy, except for a waiter that was in a hurry came close to knocking me over twice, and just keep going not a word ? Food average, taste ediable, textures, somewhat unexpected ,though a variety of flavors and color was represented , (the meal was average ) , My wife who's spanish, had the taco soup and commented that perhaps they should have put the sour crème lots of it and avocado's and other ingredients on a side plate for those who may not want so much SC etc. in there soup. There was to many beans and chips to fill you up ? My son ate half of his food, I ate some of mine which was supposed to be marinated chicken breast, sadly It was dried out and chewy with very little marinade although the taste was good so,between 1-10, I say all things considered a rating of 4. La Carreta 1/21/14

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love love love!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have visited La Carretta several times, and they never disappoint! They always have a friendly greeting ready when you walk in...seat you and soon you have chips and DELICIOUS salsa on your table (I go with my fiance and they put a salsa bowl down for each of us...yum!). One of my favorites there is the fajitas. My fiance and I each got an order of steak fajitas (about $12.95 I think) and only used the meat/onion/pepper skillet from one order...and took the rest home for another meal. There rice is not seasoned a whole lot, but is still very tasty. I love the salsa so much that this time I got chips and salsa to go ($6.00) and got a HUGE bag of chips and, I think, a QUART of salsa! I could eat that stuff like soup it is so good, so it will not go to waste. I have to note...customer service is top notch!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank margielu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“New Menu Items!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have eaten at La Caretta several times, but it's been a while, so we stopped in last weekend. I was pleasantly surprised to see some new menu items featured, including fish tacos....I LOVE fish tacos!

As others have said, the salsa is great. Also, there staffing is pretty consistent--we see the same servers time after time. They are either family, or personally invested in the restaurant! They are also quick to serve their customers.

Husband usually gets the two burrito combo (10.95, I believe). This is more than enough for dinner--we take home leftovers for our ravenous teenagers.

I LOVE their tortilla soup, which is an absolute steal for 7.25, but this time opted for the fish tacos (9.95). They were awesome!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DPitZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Carretta Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Carretta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing