We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUCK!! YUCK!! YUCK!!”

Stockmans Steakhouse
Ranked #26 of 65 Restaurants in Hermiston
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Hermiston, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“YUCK!! YUCK!! YUCK!!”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We have lived in Hermiston for 2 years and never frequented this establishment, due to poor reviews from friends. On a whim we went into Stockmans one friday evening, it was dead, and had a foul odor. We were seated to a sticky table, and the high chair was disgusting, you could have scraped the "gunk" off with a butter knife. The waitress was friendly and honest. When we made selections that she knew the "cook on staff" was not "good at making" she let us know. Going against her advice, we ordered a chicken fried steak. After almost an hour wait our food came out cold, and the orders were inaccurate to what we ordered. We should have listened to her, the steak was inedible. After telling her, we were not offered something in its place, charged full price, and while waiting for our check, we heard her telling the young man cooking that his chicken fried steak was rejected for a 4th time tonight. He was irate, using foul language, and said he could care less. After waiting at the front door for the check, we paid and the cook came out with a cigarette over his ear, mumbling about the complaint, rudely brushed by us and headed out the front door for a "smoke break". YUCK!!! YUCK!! YUCK!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kschluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    6
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Nasty cigar stuck in brick wall over our table!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We come to the Pendleton Roundup every year. Restaurants in Hermiston are slim to none. This restaurant has been there forever...nothing has changed in the 15 plus years we have visited. We were seated at a table where a nasty cigar had been stuck into a hole in the brick wall...obviously, not recently! We had at least three flies joining us for dinner and landing in our food. Tried the special, which was prime rib. Although mine was okay, my husband's was tough. This restaurant could be so much more. We will not be back. Shari's is a better choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraJane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Oregon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Dinner was good.”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We got there only about 15-20 minutes before they closed, but there were no sneery looks. We were made to feel welcome. Our server was very attentive and the food was good and hot. The portions were huge, and we ordered the senior plates!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank grannyjohnson531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Horrible food! Lousy customer service!!!!”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

I should have left when the waitress sat us across from a guy sleeping at the next table!! Iceberg lettuce with 1/4 slice tomato that tasted old olives, miniature corn on the cob? & Cheddar cheese over it. Chicken breast was dry & chewy, warm instant potatoes, broccoli with cheese all over it. Sent it back and owner never apologized just made excuses like I was in the wrong!?!?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmenq55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermiston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I ate breakfast there”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

The food was ok ,the problem I had was with the smoke. It seems that the current ventilation systen can't quite keep up with the cooking smoke and it ruined my experience. Maybe it was a one off but for me...my first experience was ruined. Hit or miss

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stockmans Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Stockmans Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing