We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sulphur smelling water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hermiston Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hermiston
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sulphur smelling water”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

Facility was fine but water smelled and tasted like a mineral spring, ie like rotten eggs. Informed front desk that the lobby's men's restroom had only scalding hot water and heat lamps in a restroom with only sink and toilet. It was 90+ degrees outside so the un-needed heat lamps were unpleasant. Staff didn't seem to care when informed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank National_Park_Lover3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    57
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
64
42
9
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

We stayed at the Best Western Hermiston Inn on both June 29, 2010 and July 14, 2010, stopping there on the way both to and from the Oregon Coast. We were greeted at the front desk by friendly and helpful female staff. We found our room on both occasions to be very clean and well maintained. The beds were extremely comfy and it was nice that there were two big soft pillows per person whereas other hotels would sometimes only provide one pillow per person. The hotel is located just south of Hermiston, in the NE part of Oregon just over the border from Washington. The town of Hermiston is fully equipped with a Wal-Mart, Safeway, gas stations, etc, so this hotel is close to a lot of amenities. This hotel has a nice warm indoor pool that the kids and I really enjoyed swimming in. Although this hotel does not have a hot tub, the pool is warm enough that it suffices. This hotel also has a pool room where you can play pool with a $20 deposit for the balls. It was nice that a continental breakfast was included in the price, but there wasn't a whole lot of food item selections. A hot breakfast would make this hotel 5 out of 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickleInHerHair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, IL
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

My father and I came to Hermiston to visit my brother, who lives here. I booked this hotel based on the reviews, and this hotel was even better than expected. My dad doesn't want to leave! Seriously, the staff was very nice and unassuming, the rooms and the hotel overall is very clean, the breakfast is good - and free - and they have much in the way of common space with the indorr pool, a room with a large pool table, and free use of the computer with internet. It's really a great place to stay and we highly recommend it. It's right off the highway, too, and very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiemaybesomeday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2007

This Best Western was very clean and quiet and I would gladly stay there again. We stayed for two nights. The staff was friendly and the anemities were great.

The rooms are well equipped. Ours had a hairdryer, coffee pot, iron, mini-fridge, TV, phone, wireless Internet, and a microwave. We made use of the mini-fridge, microwave, coffee pot, TV, and wireless Internet. All were in good working order. The cable channels are limited, but there's enough to where you should be able to find something worth watching. Housekeeping did a great job cleaning the room and made sure we had plenty of towels.

The complimentary breakfast was wonderful. There was plenty to choose from- biscuits and gravy, mini-muffins, Yami yogurt, pancakes, waffles, oatmeal, juice, coffee, fruit, and more. Not only was the selection great, but it tasted great too. The staff came in frequently to ensure that everything in the breakfast room was tidy and well stocked.

Denny's shares a parking lot with the hotel and hotel guests get a discount. The discount was nice. We ate dinner there once, not expecting much. The restaurant was clean, but the food wasn't that great and one of the waitresses was clearly sick and should have been sent home.

We made use of the indoor pool at the hotel once. It was very clean, but a little cold. Not too bad. There was only one clean pool towel, but fortunately we had brought some from our room. I was disappointed to see there was no hot tub, but thats ok.

Check out was quick and easy.

My only big complaint about the hotel is that the smell from the smoking room can be quite strong at times, but we only smelled it while in the hallway and not at all in our room or the breakfast room.

  • Liked — Clean room, great breakfast, mini-fridge and microwave
  • Disliked — smoking room, no hot tub
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank arf2184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2007

The Best Western in Hermiston is quiet, clean, and has friendly staff. The continental breakfast was above average, with a variety of items. (The microwave flipped a breaker, but a staffperson was there before long to fix the problem.)
To me, the only drawback is that this motel doesn't have an elevator. Thankfully, we didn't have a lot of luggage to take to our 2nd floor room, but that might be a problem for some. Otherwise, I really liked our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2004

Very bad hotel. Located on a busy highway. Management was terrible.
Odor in lobby from leaking water display. Pool not heated and not working half the time. Had items taken from fridge. Better places in the area. Stay Away.

Helpful?
12 Thank PhillyLuigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermiston
2.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Hermiston
Oxford Suites Hermiston
#1 of 7 in Hermiston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Hermiston
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hermiston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oak Tree Inn - Hermiston
Oak Tree Inn - Hermiston
#3 of 7 in Hermiston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
20.9 mi away
River Lodge and Grill
River Lodge and Grill
#1 of 2 in Boardman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
7.2 mi away
Quality Inn Umatilla
Quality Inn Umatilla
#2 of 3 in Umatilla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hermiston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hermiston Inn

Property: Best Western Hermiston Inn
Address: 2255 Highway 395 South, Hermiston, OR 97838
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hermiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hermiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Hermiston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We serve a FREE HOT BREAKFAST everyday to our guests! Enjoy scrambled eggs, waffles, bacon or sausage, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, yogurt, and more! Enjoy a dip in our heated pool or play a game of pool! Best Western Hermiston Inn is Located at the South end of Hermiston. We have a Denny's Restaurant that is located on the property that is open 24 hours! Guests at Best Western get 10% off their meals as well as a Complimentary Beer or Wine at Denny's. All of our guest rooms have Keurig Coffee Makers, Complimentary Bottled Water, Microwaves, Refrigerators, Hair Dryer, LG Flat Screen TV, Free Internet Access (Wireless/Hardwired)Become a Best Western Rewards Member to start earning Points! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hermiston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermiston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing