We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Experience!”

A Nose For Wine Tours
Ranked #1 of 12 Food & Drink in Hillsboro
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private educational wine tours.
New York
Level Contributor
257 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“An Excellent Experience!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

From the moment you meet Fred Gunton, you know you are in for a special day. Fred will pick you up in a nice van and will bring you to many "hidden gem" wineries throughout the Willamette. Wineries that you might not have known about had your not met him. His knowledge and expertise of the geology and morphology of the valley, as well as the wines, gives you a sense that he's been doing this for a very long time ( he has) and really loves what he does. He is a class act, fun and so knowledgeable, and one who will provide for you a special day. You will not feel rushed as you move from winery to winery and the addition of some great cheeses and other goodies will compliment the tastings. Fred has a special relationship with many of the owners due to his expertise and this relationship allows you to enjoy private conversations with them and get an inside look at the way wine is produced in the Willamette Valley. Fred provides quality transportation, and great conversation. When you are done for the day, you feel like you've gotten a lesson in wine production in addition to tasting some of the very finest Pinot Noirs in the valley. I highly recommend this as a must do experience when visiting this part of Oregon. Be aware the this tour will take nearly five hours as there is no rush. You will get your monies worth in time alone!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ForeFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coldspring, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wine and cheese”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Fred is a very good tour guide and generous with providing us with a wide variety of cheeses, crackers, and fruit as we traveled around beautiful Oregon wine country! He is very knowledgeable about wines and the local vineyards; he was quite helpful catering to our individual needs. Our group believed his tour to be the best of our trip!

Helpful?
Thank Bentleybeagledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Delightful Day!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I feel very fortunate that I happened upon "A Nose for Wine" through Trip Advisor. Our day with Fred Gunton was very relaxed and enjoyable. I felt like we were traveling through beautiful Willamette Valley with a friend, rather than a guide. Certainly he was knowledgable and informative but mainly he was fun and friendly. And, it was obvious that he was well liked at all of the wineries that we visited. This made our experiences at each winery very personal. I would not hesitate to recommend Fred to anyone visiting the Willamette area. Personally, my husband and I hope to return to Willamette just to hang out with him!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank novelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The tour keeps going, even after a year.”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a wonderful tour last September, with Marie Gunton and have stayed in touch since.
She was kind enough to procure another case of our favorites and ship them to Wisconsin for us this April. That's the best service ever. I would highly recommend "A Nose for Wine" to anyone heading to Oregon. Ann and Joanna Rouse

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annies49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Terrific Way to spend a day near Portland”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Fred was the perfect tour guide. Very knowledgable about the area, the wines and the wineries. Very open to answering questions - no matter how dumb! We felt like we got VIP treatment at a number of the wineries. Lot's of personalization based on tastes - and we were surprised that he had googled us before we arrived for the tour. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winenose, Owner at A Nose For Wine Tours, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
I'm glad you were able to meet and talk with some owners and feel the passion
that lives in Oregon's wine community. And...with that rainbow crowning the day after chatting
with the states most "famous grape grower"...Touché indeed~
(you two were so fun..Thanks for coming to Oregon!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Nose For Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to A Nose For Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing