We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun and friendly staff”

Country Cruise In Diner
Ranked #17 of 281 Restaurants in Hillsboro
Restaurant details
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good fun and friendly staff”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This is a cute diner with friendly staff. Staff were attentive and Terry the owner walked from table to table introducing himself and getting to know his customers. We went to this diner for the gluten free burgers and fries. Both were delicious. The beef comes from the owners cattle which are all grass fed. The owners pride themselves on good quality ingredients. There are many burgers to choose from on the menu as well as gluten free chicken strips. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrudyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    22
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best gluten free chicken strips and fries in town!”
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

I love this little place, as they are one of the only places I know of that I can eat gluten free with 100% confidence. The chicken strips are delicious, as are the burgers and fries! The burgers could be bigger, especially as they cost 10 dollars, but when you consider that the ingredients are all locally sourced and vegetarian fed, it is definitely worth paying the extra buck or two over a big name chain. Great service, it is clear the owners care about the customer and want you to have a great experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 870JessicaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Fun, Plenty of Service”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Great little diner on the outskirts of Hillsboro. We showed up today with 13 hungry senior citizens and everyone found something to their liking. No complaint but the price is a little on the high side. Most burgers range from $8 to $11 with a choice of side. The whole wheat buns are made by Killer Dave in Portland. The family raises and processes all their own meat (grass fed - no chemicals) even the buffalo.

If you're looking for a Burger King or MacDonald's experience this isn't the place for you but if you appreciate food grown and prepared in a healthy manner then give them a try. BTW, the fries are cut fresh daily and come with the burger with refills if you dare.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chilidawg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The food has little flavor, very expensive.”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Owners hover over your table, giving you a sales pitch about the food. Expensive, little flavor. I've had much better veggie burgers for less money in Hillsboro. I prefer almost any other local restaurants. Bald peak grill is really fun.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bscen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloha, Oregon, USA
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice Little Diner”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Nice little road side diner. Virtually all the ingredients are local and organic. You do pay extra for it, but we all enjoyed the food. Service is prompt and friendly. Owner is a a bit of a talker. Who knows if all he says it true, but it makes for a good story.They do have vegetarian options wihich was a pleasant surprise. Having a selection of local micros and wine was nice too.

My grandson (2.5) absolutely loved the strawberry shake. Made the old fashioned way.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Country Cruise In Diner also viewed

 

Been to Country Cruise In Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing