We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night here was enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Portland - Hillsboro
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Hillsboro
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
218 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“One night here was enough”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We got bumped to this place when Courtyard failed to hold our reservation. Arrived at 11pm and got two 1st Floor rooms. Ours was small and tight w/ everything just packed in leaving very narrow walkways. The front desk was understaffed while everyone waited for service. They were "behind" on their laundry service and the bedding we needed for the pull out sofa was handed to us in a big wrinkled pile. He assured it was clean but they did not have time to fold it. The room smelled like long term smokers just moved out, there is no shampoo (just bar soap). The biggest problem is how thin the floors and walls are. I could clearly hear every word spoken by the mom to her child upstairs and every footstep they took resonated so loudly downstairs. Not a pleasant night's sleep and I could not imagine having to stay here for an extended period.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs, the first floor is very loud. Also, the place is large - you may want a room closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Portland - Hillsboro, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am sorry to hear about the lack of guest service you experienced upon your arrival. In response to your feedback, I am personally looking at reconfiguring the staff schedule to avoid any lapse in service for our guests. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. Please contact me, at phl@extendedstay.com, if you would like to discuss this further. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    35
    30
    14
    24
See reviews for
39
14
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our stay was very pleasant. The front desk had a trainee, so was a little slow but that was understandable. The pool was wonderful for our two granddaughters and they had a blast! The room was very clean, but when the listing said it had a "full kitchen", we were somewhat disappointed. We had 4 people in the room and the kitchen had 3 cereal bowls, 3 saucers, 2 dinner sized plates, 2 forks, 2 spoons, one butter knife, and a less than sharp small knife. There is no oven, so pizza was out of the question. The hide-a-bed also had not sheets/blankets, but when I called the front desk, they came immediately. If you want to eat out this was a great place to stay (the breakfast was WEAK)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Marcia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Portland - Hillsboro, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Marcia - Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. It was disheartening to hear that you were unable to take full advantage of your kitchen due to a lack of kitchenware; however, it is great to hear that everyone was able to enjoy the pool! We will work with our staff to make sure we are providing adequate amounts of utensils to our guests.

Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, OR, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We rented two suites to serve as a home base in exploring Portland with our daughter and four grandchildren. The facility is very freeway-accessible and is surrounded by just about all of the restaurants, service stations, supermarkets and other amenities one might want or need, many within walking distance. The beds were comfortable and the small kitchen efficient and stocked well with dishes and cutlery. Due to the Extended Stay concept there are no services available in the hotel, and maid services are available once a week. Used towels can be traded for clean ones at the front desk daily. A continental breakfast is available in the lobby daily. There were two irritating but unimportant lapses: a mismatched TV remote that the desk man could not replace, and an inoperable ice machine on our floor. Overall, we were comfortable and pleased with the facility and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the third (top) floor and experienced little noise from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Portland - Hillsboro, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I'm pleased to hear that you found our facility to be conveniently located. I am also pleased that you enjoyed your comfortable bed and your fully equipped kitchen. Still, I do apologize that our front desk staff was not able to assist you with your TV remote. I will be discussing your comments with our maintenance staff so that they can see to repairing or replacing the remote as needed. As well, I do apologize that our ice machine on your floor was not working properly. I will meet with my maintenance staff to ensure that this issue is resolved. Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at phl@extendedstay.com. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersburg, Alaska
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The first impression was pretty good. Both exterior and interior were clean and neat. The appointments of the suite was classy. The suite is said to accommodate four, but that was a tight squeeze. We had to move some furniture about to be able to extend the sofa bed. The supplied amenities in he unit's kitchen was anemic: only one fork and hardly a knife. Remember to bring your own kitchen utensils if you plan to cook.

Some details were problematic. The bathroom door was misaligned and would not latch. The sink had some unsightly scrapes. A window latch was broken. And the continental breakfast is rather meager. It became even more so during the last two mornings of our five night stay. They ran out of not chocolate packets, all muffin varieties except banana nut, all instant oatmeal packet varieties except unflavored, coffee cups were running low, and they ran out of spoons.

I think this would be fine for a couple for a few days. It was a good place to sleep, but not much more than that for us.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Horrible! Checked in, pulled the covers down and there were pubic hairs on the sheets. When I told the front desk, instead of apologizing they kept telling me how they were certain the sheets had been changed.

The trash cans in the vending areas were overflowing with dirty diapers and smelly trash.

I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parklevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hillsboro hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here while visiting family in the area and we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of this particular Extended Stay. It was fairly new and up-to- date; the room, though basic, was comfortable; and the cost was decent making our stay a relative value. There are also some decent shops and places to eat nearby, and good access to the highway. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyohyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Portland - Hillsboro, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your comfortable room and that you were able to take advantage of the shopping in the area. Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel last week for two nights with my family (husband and two children - ages 1 and 4) and I have to say that our experience was very positive. This is an excellent home base for families wanting to visit Portland without having to stay in Portland.

I think what people need to know if that this Extended Stay America is a hybrid between a hotel and a self-catered apartment. You don't get all the perks of a hotel but on the other hand, you aren't paying for the perks either. For example, if you want clean towels, you need to bring your towels down to the front desk and they will exchange them. If you want toiletries like shampoo and conditioner, you need to ask. If you need dish washing liquid for the kitchenette, you need to ask. All those items are complimentary but they aren't automatically given. There's no housekeeping service either. Maybe they'd provide housekeeping if you asked but we were only there for two nights and it wasn't necessary.

Reasons why I really liked this hotel and why I would stay here again:
1. Location: Although Hillsboro is a 15 minute drive from Portland, this hotel is situated in a prime location in regard to amenities. Whole Foods is across the street and this made it very easy to stock our fridge with necessities for breakfast and snacks. The Streets shopping mall is also across the street if anyone is interested in shopping (Macy's, Banana Republic, etc...). There are tons of restaurants within walking distance and even more within a 5 minute drive. Safeway, Target, Trader Joe's and Walmart are also on the same street (within a 5 minute drive). Oh and Starbuck's is next door so if the free coffee in the breakfast room doesn't cut it, good coffee is only minutes away.

2. The Room Itself: I like having a kitchen when I'm traveling. This one is equip with a microwave, a stove top with two burners, a full size fridge, a dishwasher, cutlery, dishes, and glasses. The layout of the room is particularly well designed. There are double doors separating the bedroom from the living room. What this meant for us is that when our kids went to sleep at 7:30 on the sofa bed and pack n play, we could stay up until 11 without bothering them. An added bonus is that each suite has two televisions - one in the living room and one in the bedroom. The room itself has a modern decor - a pleasant surprise.

3. The Pool: with our family, a pool is a necessity when we travel. The pool at the hotel is a good size and the surrounding patio has lounge chairs and umbrellas.

Why I am Not Giving 5 Stars:
1. The free grab n go breakfast is meagre. The hotel would almost be better off not advertising a free breakfast at all. Maybe just free coffee? The breakfast consisted of apples, oranges, prepackaged muffins, granola bars and hot beverages. They don't replenish the breakfast either so by 8:30 all the coffee was gone and there were only a few items left even though breakfast ends at 9:30.

2. I got tired of asking for things. As I mentioned earlier, the hotel has complimentary items upon request. After asking for a variety of different things, I felt a little embarrassed. Also, I asked for a garbage can (3 times) as our bathroom was missing one and we never got it.

3. There's no maintenance staff. At one point, our toilet clogged. When we called the front desk, they offered us a plunger. Yeah, enough said...

All in all, I think the positive attributes greatly outweigh the negative attributes. For the price we paid, I think it was a bargain. I have certainly paid more renting vacation apartments that do not offer any services. Would I stay here again? Yes. Would I recommend it to my friends who have kids. Yes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apollinax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillsboro
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Hillsboro, Oregon
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Beaverton - Eider Court
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland / Hillsboro-Evergreen Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Larkspur Landing Hillsboro
Larkspur Landing Hillsboro
#9 of 19 in Hillsboro
165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn - Hillsboro
Holiday Inn - Hillsboro
#6 of 19 in Hillsboro
30 reviews
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Portland Hillsboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Portland - Hillsboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Portland - Hillsboro

Property: Extended Stay America - Portland - Hillsboro
Address: 19311 NW Cornell Rd, Hillsboro, OR 97124-9010 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hillsboro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Hillsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Portland - Hillsboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Extended Stay, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Portland - Hillsboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe Portland-Hillsboro-Cornell Hotel Hillsboro
Extended Stay Hillsboro
Hillsboro Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing