We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst hotel we have ever stayed at!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Hillsboro-Portland West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Econo Lodge Hillsboro-Portland West
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Hillsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The worst hotel we have ever stayed at!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel since we were on a roadtrip from Washington. To begin the Front Desk was literally empty. No one was there to greet us upon arrival for check-in. Went out and then came back in, and the lady showed up and was coughing all over. Asked my husband to fill out of a form, so out dated, no computer software there! We went to the room and it was depriment! I would say it was good for a one night sleep, but not for three or more which is the amount we stayed. Smelled as if it had been closed for quite sometime, mold smell. There was a microwave, fridge, and TV; which I really liked. The mattress was uncomfortable, either too old or too cheap. The parking lot seemed like there was no security so make sure you get there before sundown... The neighborhood didn't looked so friendly, that's why! Would never stay at any of these hotels again! I have banned the franchise from my list! Sorry but it was a pretty dramatic experience. So they say: "You get what you pay for!".
Internet was quite fast and very reliable for online work. Also the AC worked magnificent, but since that doesn't make up for the unconfortable bed and dirty carpet, I still wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Very depriment. Has all the basics as any other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SRA87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    24
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
13
20
12
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Check in was good. Overall the room was a bit run down and had a musty smell. The bathroom was in good condition. However... as my boyfriend was pulling out the chair to sit down, we noticed these HUGE white stains on the seat of the chair. Disgusting! He suggested we leave, but it was too late to switch hotels. Next time it will be worth the extra money to stay in a clean hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renee4704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here as a family -- 3 rooms with family and friends -- when my son graduated from college at Pacific University. We chose this hotel because we could get rooms for everyone at a price we could all afford, and it was within reasonable distance of the University. (About a 15 minute drive except for graduation morning when the traffic was re-routed... then it was about a half hour. Driver take warning!)

The room was comfortable, the beds firm and the pillows were very puffy! (My Brother-in-law prefers a flat pillow, and the front desk came up for one for him.) The mini-fridge and microwave came in very handy for keeping snacks available, especially since my 4 year old grandson was with us.

The bathroom and sink area were clean, worked well, and there was plenty of hot water even during the mad preparation time in mornings!

The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The bagels and muffins provided at the office in the mornings were fine.

If you are traveling with cell phones, laptops, e-readers, and other devices needed to be plugged in for re-charge, bring a power strip with you. There were not enough plugs available to have more than one device charging at a time. (Yes, there was a plug at the sink, but I am leery of leaving stuff plugged in on a narrow counter right next to the sink except overnight in a room with adults.) Still, only 3 separate devices could charge at one time even if you use the sink, and there was no plug at the desk. Since there was wi-fi available, I was surprised not to have a convenient plug for a laptop at the desk.

Convenience stores, parks, coffee shops (not just global chains!), and other necessary places were in walking distance, which was very useful for an extended stay (some of us were there a week).

The AC was loud, but with the window open it was cool. If you come to stay in the summer, I'd suggest ear plugs in case you need more quiet to go along with the right temperature.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane Valley, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

I stayed for 7 nights and received an excellant extended stay rate. The front desk staff were very helpful. My only disappointment was from the maid service. I left a tip each day but when I ran out of kleenex it wasn't refilled, on the second day I left the empty box on the table with my tip and then I actually got the kleenex. I used the plastic bag in the ice bucket on my first day, it was never replaced. I had my own ziplock bags so more than anything it was annoying.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

This hotel was about half the price as those up the street toward Forest Grove. It had queen beds which was nice. The room was clean, but it is fairly old. We just used it to sleep for about 8 hours. The free breakfast was really small, coffee and muffins. The only downfall was the heater. It was very loud and was really hard to get the right temp in the room, we were either really hot, or really cold.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigRiverhawkFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver,CO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

We just spent one night here. It was satisfactory in all respects...clean rooms, pleasant desk personnel, continental breakfast. It isn't extrememly close to the highway, and the directions leave something to be desired. I would recommend that you call the place for more specific directions.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DenCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Bay, Honduras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

We came for Graduation of relative son and we stayed at this place, Staff was wonderful.
I would recomnad to anyone who is traveling around this area.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor12395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hillsboro hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Conference Center
0.2 mi away
The Dunes Motel
The Dunes Motel
#15 of 18 in Hillsboro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland West/Hillsboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Larkspur Landing Hillsboro
Larkspur Landing Hillsboro
#8 of 18 in Hillsboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
4.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Hillsboro
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland / Hillsboro-Evergreen Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Hillsboro-Portland West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Hillsboro-Portland West

Property: Econo Lodge Hillsboro-Portland West
Address: 622 SE 10th Ave, Hillsboro, OR 97123-4627 (Formerly Hillsboro Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hillsboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Hillsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Hillsboro-Portland West 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Hillsboro-Portland West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hillsboro
Hillsboro Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing