We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we had a GPS”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Our room, on the third floor, was spacious with a king bed. There was a sofa separated from the "bedroom" by a really neat arch. There was a sink, microwave and fridge. The room was clean except for the carpet which was the first thing we noticed when walking into the room. It either needs a thorough deep cleaning or replacing as it doesn't give a great first impression. The bathroom was spotless. The room was quiet and the bed was comfortable so we slept well. There is a small convenience store adjacent to the hotel and within easy walking distance. We found this hotel to be more pricey than others but perhaps this is due to its location along the gorge. It would have been hard to find if not for our GPS unit and still we drove by it twice. The sign is too small and was not lit up when we were looking for it. We stayed here October 5, 2012 so maybe with the renovations to the building, they will consider better signage.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whiteangelgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your response about your stay.
We have looked at our signage and made some improvements to it. Thank you for bringing it to
our attention.

Warm regards,
Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at the Comfort Suites in Hood River for two nights in August. Our room was on the second floor, the ice machine and washer and dryer did not work on that floor. We asked that our roon not be entered by the cleaning people, but they did. They took wash clothes not leaving any for us the next morning. When returning the second night of our stay, the room keys did not work. The next morning we awoke with a man on a fork lift right outside our window at 8 am.

We complained to the front desk who notified the manager. We called 3 times and the manager did not return our call. We wrote a formal complaint to the owner and still did not hear from them.

What a great value for $200 a night!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Please except my apologies in regards to your stay.
We are now under new management and have made changes to some of the policies
here at that hotel.
I do apologize for the treatment you received.
I would hope you would give us a second chance.

Warm regards,
Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is a comfortable establishment and a really good base for exploring the Columbia gorge. Breakfast is somewhat better than average. The problem is finding the place, which is tucked behind a TacoBell on the south side of rte. 30: the modest,small sign is poorly placed and hard to see ( and with average luck may be upgraded by now.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your comment about the signage when you stayed with us.
We have taken a look at things and realized there was a problem with the lighting.
I'm happy to report that we have fixed the problem with the sign.

Best regards,
Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed only one night on a Saturday in July. The room was large and very clean, but smelled horribly of cigarettes despite being a non-smoking room. The front desk was very responsive and came with an "ionizer" to clean out the room. However, it didn't work and we were told there was no other room available. Our room was near the staircase and the housekeepers' closet so we did experience a lot of noise that kept us awake. The room was quite nice and I think it just may have been our bad luck in this instance. Still, this would not be our first, second, or third choices for a place to stay in Hood River.

The location is too far away from the main part of town to walk, but the drive is short and parking was easy to find near restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the staircase and housekeeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elnap29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

I want to thank you for your review.
I aqlso want to apologize that we were unable to move you to a different room due to the fact that we were very full that night.
I do wish you would give us another try when you are back in this area.

Best regards,
Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed one night on a Saturday and luckily were not bothered by the construction. Staff was courteous and cookies offered at the front desk. Our room was large with two very comfortable queen beds and a not-so-comfortabel fold out. There was plenty of room for bags and moving around. The excercise room has limited machines but given the low volume of exercisers, more than adequate. They also have a rather large indoor pool and a jacuzzi. Morning breakfast was as you would expect: sufficient but nothing to talk about.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that the construction did not distrupt your stay and your were able to enjoy your visit.

Kind regards,
Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

surprisingly great stay: wonderful front desk staff connie & especially, tina, was very professional & helpful & accommodating. the hotel is finishing renovations but we arrived on friday eve so no workers on saturday morning. cookies, tea, coffee complimentary in the lobby, gym, indoor pool & ample hot breakfast, lots of splendid renovation in the way of new carpets, beds, covers, basically a complete makeover. we had a room with 2 queen beds and a small sitting area. everything was neat and comfortable. ask about progress of construction if you will visit in the near future. good location but a little bit out of the town of hood river, ie not within walking distance.

Room Tip: ask about construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heyheypippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

I want to thank you for your kind review. And we are happy you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again in the furture.

Best regards,
Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

That we experienced such disappointment with this hotel is bad enough.
That its manager, has yet to respond to both emails and phone messages re. our concerns is inexcusable.
Rm. 104 reeked of cigarette smoke upon entering (presumably non-smoking) an unusable radio/MP3 hook-up and Labor Day construction.
Labor Day! Beginning early in the morning.
But not being able to enjoy the Jacuzzi tub was the final straw.
While enjoying a soak, the ceiling "rained" cold water down on us from the room above; a result of long term plumbing issues it appeared.
This one amenity was THE reason for our reservation and that we weren't able to partake and that our bill was not amended to reflect it, is both unprofessional and reprehensible.
Whereas the initial check-in employee was slow and unhelpful, the check-out staff was at least pleasant and sympathetic, despite orders from her supervisor not to make charge adjustments that weekend.
Breakfast was above average; limited vegetarian selections, but that's usually the case.
(No bagels and cream cheese seemed odd.)
And the abundance of Styrofoam was peculiar given how it's now 2012 and Oregon is particularly eco-sensitive.
If you want to pay higher prices for a sub-par product, by all means- book here.
Otherwise, pass on this deceptive and dissatisfying facility.

Room Tip: Ask a lot of questions and don't be in a hurry to check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ORSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

I would like to apologize for the rude way you were treated during and after your stay.
We are now under new management and are taking the steps to correct any past issues.
We have also taken care of the spa room issues.

Warm regards,
Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
0.7 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
791 reviews
17.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 2625 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031-1078
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: £73 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Hood River
Comfort Suites Hood River
Hood River Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing