We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, But.....”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
“Great Stay, But.....”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Great stay overall, very comfortable, good breakfast, all at a reasonable price. My only complain would be that at check out the young lady checking me out was very friendly but there was another receptionist who was at the reception area right behind her who was talking very loud and carrying on a conversation in Spanish with who I believe is a maid. The young lady checking me out had to speak over them because I was having trouble hearing her. To me, that was very disrespectful. These two sounded like hyenas with the obnoxious laughter. I would definitely return I just didn't like how these two women were being so unprofessional around guests and since one if them was out of uniform I was hoping she was not the manager because if she is, she should know better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarice65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela R, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Clarice,

Please let me apologize for what you encountered at the front desk while checking out. This is not they way we do business.

If you would be so kind as to let me know what day you stayed with us, it would help me narrow down the agents that need to be addressed.

I am glad you enjoyed your atsy with us and hope to see you in the future.

Best regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    68
    36
    18
    12
See reviews for
56
76
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Bend, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2013

One of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in! In walking distance of pretty much everything, the pool and hot tub were nice sized, and the beds were so comfy & soft I didn't want to ever leave (plan on buying that exact mattress)!! They also go way out for a continental breakfast, eggs, bacon, biscuits & gravy, make your own waffle, and so much more! The kids loved every bit of it and so did we! Will definately be recommending this place to friends and family!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
I would like to thank you for your comments in regards to your vist with us. Your opinion
is greatly appreciated.

Warm regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buford, GA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Ok so its not on the river but. The price is right. $5 cab ride from the bars, clean rooms, great service and I stress this is a comfort suites not a comfort inn. Of you want to upgrade they have Jacuzzi rooms as well. Great job comfort suites!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela R, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for the great review. My staff and I are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and it is always a plus for me to share the positive comments with them.

They work very hard and take pride in the fact that their hard work is appreciated.

We look forward to a return visit from you and will strive to provide you with the same great service.

Best regards,
Pamela R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

A little over priced for what you get as compared to some local B&B's. Floor want not clean as I found fingernails between beds (colored get topping that peel off) and a twist tie under the bathroom sink. I did like the ability to choose pillow firmness and the beds were very comfy. Room quiet on 3rd floor and enjoyed the hot tub and pool. Breakfast is to be expected when in this chain...simple egg dishes, meat patties, biscuits and gravy and make your own waffles. Tastes OK and gets you started in your day.

Room Tip: Always try to get a top floor room so no one Is above. The hotel was full on this Sat. night stay y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngeliqueSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Please let me apologize for your findings while staying with us. We have spoken to the housekeeping department and we are working very hard to make sure things like this don't happen in the future.

Best regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We needed a room at the last minute in Hood River. We found the Comfort Suites to be very clean, have friendly staff, and remarkably quiet given its proximity to the freeway. The bedding was new and exceptionally comfortable. We enjoyed the complementary breakfast -- lots of good choices.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank UTHogboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks about your stay.

Warm regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Our room was on the top floor and even though it faced the street it was quiet. The king-size bed was very comfortable and it was roomy with the extra space with a sofa. The breakfast was delicious and had a wide variety of selections. The desk staff was very helpful and friendly. We would stay again.

Room Tip: see above review about the location and bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazinn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind remarks about your stay.

Best regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
117 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a hotel to AVOID. $1.50 to use the safe in your room on top of a $170.00 room charge. On reviewing my bill prior to checking out I saw the $1.50 charge for the safe. When I asked at the front desk I was told that I should have been told at check inn that the use of the safe would be added. I did not use the safe and I was not told anything about the safe at check-in though in addition to the signature I was asked to initial multiple places on the form. The fee was reversed because I complained, but I was told it was a Choice Hotel policy. So to be safe I will avoid all Choice hotels in the future.

Otherwise the hotel was OK but not good value. The breakfast selection was not great.

pea .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair_MacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela R, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Please allow me to apologize in regards to your stay at the Comfort Suites in Hood River.

It is our policy to inform our guests while checking them in about the safes in the rooms and the charge for them. I am deeply sorry that you were not informed about that upon check-in. I have spoken to all of our front desk staff in regards to this matter, what our polices are and how to present them to our guests.

As for this being a Choice Hotels International policy, this is incorrect. I am sorry that the agent who cheked you out the morning of your departure misrepresented Choice and made such a comment.

I apologize again and would hope that you would not hold this against Choice Hotels and give us another try.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hood River hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.7 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
17.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 2625 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031-1078
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Hood River
Comfort Suites Hood River
Hood River Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing