We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor, Poor Customer Service, but Decent Hotel”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Our goal was to visit the Columbia Gorge waterfalls, Mount Hood and outlet shopping during our stay here in Oregon and this hotel was in a good area for all of those activities.

When we booked our room, we had a choice of a regular room or a "mountain view" room...but for a little bit more money. We chose the mountain view room because we were celebrating our anniversary. When we got into the room, we noticed that the only view we had was a parking lot and some businesses behind that. No mountains to be seen. We looked around the hotel from the outside and was pretty sure that the rooms on the opposite side of ours would have been "mountain view" but the front desk clerk insisted that all the views were the same. We were disappointed that we paid for a more expensive room but did not get what we booked for. It wasn't exactly the more economical hotel either, but we went with the trip advisor critiques and figured this one would have been a good one.

The check-in staff did not seem engaged with their position, helping out people checking in...they basically just said.."too bad" and "no" to everything without even attempting to help the customer out. We asked the morning clerk if we could print out a map that we had but he said the business centre was down and he could not print anything for us...even though he has a computer and printer at his desk. I do not consider this good customer service at all...especially for such a large chain! I have never been to a hotel with such unfriendly staff.

I must say, the room itself is very spacious with a nice sitting area and a sink and counter space with refrigerator for anyone wanting to prepare a meal or two. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were dreadfully soft and very small! The internet connection was terrible...even when we went downstairs by the lobby, the connection seemed to cut in and out.

Breakfast is plentiful with a good variety.

Parking is limited. My husband received his first door bang here...not impressed at all. If you come back late to the hotel you're lucky to get a parking spot.

Overall, I was disappointed with my stay. The room itself was good but the hospitality leaves you feeling cold. For the price we paid, I'm sure there are other places in Hood River for cheaper I could have stayed at with the same or better service.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kryssie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2010

We knew the location would be near a strip mall with picturesque downtown Hood River about two miles away, so the large parking lot and the Dairy Queen next door were an expected eyesore. No problem. We were excited to get out of Portland and enjoy a pool, a hot tub, and were even willing to pay the $200 for the night, which we thought was pretty costly. We found the bedroom to be clean and spacious and, as we expected, sort of faux-luxury. The bathroom was not clean when we arrived (mud in the bathtub and a crumpled towel on the toilet seat). We called the front desk and received an apology with the explanation that a maintenance issue had been resolved prior to our arrival but that the room should have been cleaned by now. Someone was sent to up to clean the bathroom so we left to check out the pool. It was murky and frankly, depressing, almost asylum-like. The hot tub was a good temperature but, after looking at the pool, suspect. Our bed was comfortable but the room, cold. We kept the window open to remedy the temperature but were wakened at midnight by screeching children arriving with their parents in the rear parking lot and what sounded like drag racing on nearby roads later on. For their part, the staff at the front desk was pleasant, and the cleaning staff very friendly and accommodating. It was not awful by any means, but it was also not worth $200, $80 maybe (with a clean pool), but not $200.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDXfam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We were in Hood River for a wedding and this Comfort Suites was the only one available for $200 a night. I requested 2 queen beds in my reservation. When I got there, the lady at the front desk told me she could not give me two queen beds and she was going to call the GM to find out what the problem was. The GM was rude and said that she paid hundreds of thousands of dollars to Choice hotels for not benefits at all. As a customer this is not what I wanted to hear. She said she called the program Choice Disadvantage. It took her 45 minutes to check us in. She never apologized and continued to be rude. Other people were also having problems when they were checking in.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Honestly we didn't sleep all night, the air conditioner didn't work even when they had it fixed, it was hot and so super loud. The GM has no social skills, was not helpful or apologetic. If it is the last place in town to stay I wouldn't go. ESPECIALLY for $200 a night which is what we paid... what a JOKE!!!! if we paid $69 it would have made more sense.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bendreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Very nice hotel on a quiet end of town. Room, double queen, was spacious & comfortable. Front desk friendly & helpful. Would return if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel when sightseeing along the Columbia River Gorge. Prior to arrival, we priced several hotels and believe this was the best value. The location was convenient, hotel well maintained, and the room was clean. If we return to the area, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HooHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Clean room, free internet, free breakfast, free pool. Just way too expensive. Our room was a bit bigger then the rest of the rooms. It had a nice sitting area with a small couch. We paid $200 for single week night, which I think is quite expensive. Most other hotels in the area were booked, so we ended up here. You can’t go wrong with this hotel. However, there are certainly more attractive hotels in Hood River. But if you are traveling this place will certainly do.

Summary: nothing special, too expensive, but certainly ok for 1-2 nights.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
0.7 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
770 reviews
17.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 2625 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031-1078
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: £83 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Hood River
Comfort Suites Hood River
Hood River Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing