We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stressed me out, cancelled reservation” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hood River Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hood River Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stressed me out, cancelled reservation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

After making my reservation with HRH 3 months prior to my stay, I had to deal with them repeatedly spelling my name incorrectly (even when on the phone with them) and never receiving a confirmation e-mail. When I decided to double-check my reservation 1 week prior to my event, they told me they were full and had zero rooms left and couldn't find my name anywhere in the system. This call really, really stressed me out, and I couldn't sleep last night. It was too late to try and make other reservations.

This morning, they were able to find my information, my previously ' misspelled' name, and attempted to remedy the situation. Little too late. The 'special discounted' price that they gave me was still ~$20 over the price they additionally quoted me. I decided that I didn't want to book with them after such a negative experience.

Sadly, there aren't too many options in Hood River, but I am not planning on going back to this establishment again.

Room Tip: Don't believe their first price given.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Dru_at_IDSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Boy, do we have egg on our faces. We pride ourselves on having a great team, but much to our regret, your experience points to what can be called a team error. As best we can deduce, our problem (and your frustration) began when you first called to make your reservation. We entered your name almost correctly, but instead of an “s” in spelling your name, we entered an “f.” Egg splat! This error carried into the e-mail address to which we tried to send confirmation. It bumped. We goofed again in failing to determine why. Egg splat! On your follow-up call to change your reservation, we failed to clarify the source of your frustration, and correct it. So, the follow-up confirmation e-mail also didn’t reach you. Egg splat! We offered you compensation, but you declined. We have an idea or two why. Sorry. The offer still stands. But bottom line is, we realized from this incident that key guest reservation contacts need a reminder that we are here to help you, not frustrate you. Management shares part of the blame here, for not stressing enough the importance of prompt e-mail response. As a result, we will be providing all guest reservation team members a brush-up on ways to 1) prevent problems, and 2) resolve problems when they occur. We’re sorry your experience provided us this painful opportunity to make sure it doesn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    138
    52
    13
    11
See reviews for
42
168
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Vintage hotel. A little worn but kept up well and very clean. Friendly staff. Nice view but no a/c. Not a big problem as it was cool but train and interstate noise was bothersome during the night. Definitely ask for a fan.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGR1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is a vintage hotel on the main street in Hood River. It has all the charm you would expect from a building on the National Historic Register, yet also has modern amenities like a small jaquzzi room, conference rooms and ballroom. It is right downtown, unlike the other hotels in the area, so you just need to walk outside your door to take in great restaurants and unique shops. The small restaurant in the hotel is fantastic- and they give you a voucher for 10 dollars off of breakfast to entice you to eat there. A bonus are the ground floor suites that have kitchenettes and are dog friendly. My only con is that parking was not easy- they do not have a parking lot, so you need to park on the street, which is not easy on a busy weekend!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RNforPEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

Paid a couple hundred bucks for a gigantic suite with a kitchen and a killer view. Very nice room. Bathroom was small, but not a problem for us because that's in the nature of historic places like this.

The hallways could use some refurbishing, but the place in general was great. The food in the dining room was good, and the night we were there they had an old-time country band in the lobby that was quite enjoyable. All in all, I'd come back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ITravelandEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your recent visit, and appreciated our pricing. We're heading into our peak season -- a tough time to find a room, or a deal. Even so, we do what we can to share the historic charm. For people with last-minute flexibility, we often drop room rates through Twitter specials. Follow us to @hoodriverhotel to get notice when we send Cheep Sleep alerts. All during 2011, we're offering any available room for $99 on Sunday nights -- our Centennial Sundays special, in observance of our 100th anniversary. And during the month of May, we're offering available rooms with a view of the Columbia River for $99 Sunday through Thursday. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

Had to rent this place because the hotel where my conference was held was already booked. Had along my hubby and Dog. Booked G1 pet room. The place was pretty clean. Downside? The bathroom was so dark I couldn't put my make up on in the morning, I had to move one of the chairs from the kitchen in there just to have somewhere to set items on. There is absolutley no where to put any toilet items in the bathroom, There was no fan in the bathroom (YUK) or window. There was only one small window in the living room that would open. The door to the unit is directly on the street where you have to pay for parking. Everytime you left and came back your spot was taken. The price was rediculous $154 +tax+pet fee+parking. ON A TUESDAY night!
Becareful of the hot water when taking a shower, it will get really hot suddenly. Had to listen to the elevator go up and down at all hours, the train going by. The blinds in the living room were all bent and screwed up. This place is really old and needs desperate updating. @$154 + a night, this is too much. Would NOT rent here again. The fitness center was in the basement. very strange and dank.

Room Tip: only if you're desperate
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jujupearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
First, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Although we believe the room in question is nicely appointed, you point up several things we can and will do to improve the guest experience. We love the idea of adding shelf space in the bathroom for extra personal care items. We also agree that a lighter choice of paint color would help brighten what is one of our rooms best situated for morning light. We apologize that you found the blinds bent. They become bent because guests choose to pull them apart rather than use the draw cord to raise and lower them. That said, it’s time for a replacement. We have only three rooms with direct exterior access, and they are the only rooms in which we accommodate pets. We believe that quick outdoor access is a positive, both for pets – who somehow fail to use indoor plumbing – and the owners who must walk them. As always, we encourage any guest who finds their room lacking to contact the front desk about other options – or, at minimum, a rate adjustment. Again, thank you for ideas that can help us improve, and please join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
136 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

If you're looking for luxury this is not the place to stay but if you want to experience some history, then this IS the place to visit. This hotel dates back to the early 1900s (the building is 100 years old) and part of the decor is old photographic enlargements of the place at the turn into the 20th century. The current owners attempted to decorate it in such a way that gives one the feeling of going back in time--I think they did a great job. The rooms are a bit smaller but that's the way they were 100 years ago. Granted, it's not that far from the train yard and trains do go by a lot but one gets used to it. (also an historical experience--one that a young boy would LOVE). There aren't too many places in the city of Hood River where the trains aren't heard. The staff there are a friendly bunch who go out of their way to help. If you stay there I would recommend staying on the 2nd or 3rd floor for a better view of the river and a little less street noise (and train noise) since it is downtown and next to some restaurants that stay open late. They have a very impressive spa in the basement....very nice weight room, jacuzzi, sauna, and locker rooms. I'd like to go back with just my husband and rent an upper story room or even suite (they have a Sunday night special!), get there earlier, and have more of a chance to experience the atmosphere of the place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PullmanCougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

We choose to stay at Hood River Hotel every time we come to town. The staff at HRH has always been highly accommodating and we are eagerly looking forward to the next visit. The new booking system on their website makes things really simple, too.

Harold and Gayla Adkins

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gayla m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Thank you. We love our staff, too. Many of them have been with us for years. We think of our staff as family, and when people stay with us, we want them to feel like guests in our home. And thanks for noting the recent upgrades to our web site and booking system. Patricia Byrnes, our IT-Accountant, deserves all the credit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
2.0 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
18.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hood River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hood River Hotel

Property: Hood River Hotel
Address: 102 Oak St, Hood River, OR 97031-2312
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 41 renovated guest rooms and suites are beautifully appointed in classic European style with all the modern conveniences. With views of the Columbia River, downtown Hood River or of our Roof Top Garden each style of guest room conveys a different personality. Free WiFi, Fitness Area and Air Conditioning throughout the entire hotel. inside our friendly staff, inviting rooms and comfortable lobby with fireside seating will ensure a pleasant stay. Venture outside and be at the center of all that Hood River has to offer; walk to five wine tasting rooms, shop artisan jewelers, couture fashion or fire arts. Savor craft beer and dining delights. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing