We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Predictable Historic Hotel”
Review of Hood River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hood River Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 July 2011

This hotel was exactly what we experienced 4 years ago. A small Hotel (less than 50 rooms I think). Inexpensive small rooms, very clean and with good linens and towels. Hairdrier included. No airconditioning, but a great ceiling fan and large window to open. Includes voucher for breakfast which is great. Exactly what I would want and expect in Hood River, where the atmosphere and crowd dictate a casual crowd, mostly into hiking, wind surfing, fishing, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Hood River Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed at the Hood River Hotel for one night as part of a two week trip around the Pacific Northwest and we paid $99+tax a night, which was probably a little over priced but what a wonderful historic buidling to stay in after two corporate chains.

First thing to mention is that Hood RIver has parking meters across the town so either fill the meter or do as we did and get a half day permit from the hotel. This will save you an early start as the meters are only operational from 8-6 each day. We actually managed to find a spot right next door to the hotel which was extremely handy.

First impressions from the outside were wow. It is a stunning building. Inside the public areas are just as impressive and we were soon checked in and on our way to our room via the rather stunning lift. Use it, not the stairs, unless you are in a hurry!

The room was ok, but nothing special. Wooden floorboards made us concious of making too much noise and in fairness to other reviews, the floor did slope but isn't this part of the fun of staying in an older property? The bed was comfy, the room overall was big enough and we had a Town view having paid for a cheaper Courtyard room. What is not to like? Ok, the bathroom. Not the best but perfectly adequate with the vanity area actually in the room motel style.

Breakfast was outstanding. We had the $10 voucher provided with the room which certainly paid for one our breakfasts so I don't understand the previous reviews comments about it being expensive. I think overall our bill came to $26, minus the voucher and we had our best breakfast the whole holiday for the princely sum of $16. Great value. Oh and a warm welcome and very attentive waitress as well.

Location is perfect for Hood River itself. It is a small town so very easy to walk around. There is the Full Sail Brewery about 5 minutes walk away which served great food and even better beer and there were a few other brewpubs we visited as well which actually gave me my only hangover of the holiday!

Overall the Hood River Hotel and Hood River itself was well worth a day and night after a long drive through the Columbia River Gorge. The rooms are different to what you might get in a chain property in the USA but it all adds to the fun. We would certainly head back to the Hood River Hotel next time we find ourselves in this beautiful area of Oregon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ju123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Thank you so much for visiting us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, both at the Hood River Hotel and in downtown Hood River. You're absolutely correct -- we're totally different than the chain motels. We're proud of our antique elevator, and the character of our facility -- modern conveniences in an historic setting. We're also pretty proud of our chef and kitchen crew -- they DO kick out great meals, which is why many locals choose to dine here, too. Sorry about the hangover. The best thing about enjoying Hood River's abundance of microbrewpubs is that you never have to touch the car keys -- just stroll a couple of blocks back to your room at the hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We wanted to stay downtown on this working holiday, and had stayed at this hotel several years ago. I was very disappointed. It is really run down from last time. The beds were more like second hand. Very Very VERY uncomfortable and in our room it was on a cheap metal frame that kept rolling "downhill" becuase the hotel is old and the floors are uneven. Sheets smelled of Bleach (well at least we knew they were disinfected!). Breakfast was very overpriced. You get a $10 coupon per room...this will buy coffee!
On the positive, we enjoyed some great jazz music and apps in the lobby one of the nights.
All in all, I cannot recommend the Hotel until they invest some money into the furnishings and such.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillygates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2011

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent visit. We wish you had shared them with us when you were here. Yes, we do provide every guest with a $10 voucher good toward the cost of breakfast. That voucher, by the way, would purchase SIX cups of coffee, OR the Cornerstone Cuisine breakfast of eggs, roasted potatoes, whole wheat toast and choice of bacon, sausage or ham. The voucher also would cover the cost of our Goat Cheese Omelette, the Spanish Ham & Cheese Scramble, or the Tuscan Skillet omelette. Not to mention several other menu items. Since your note seems slanted away from fact and more towards rhetorical hyperbole, we’re not sure what to make of your encounter with our beds. If it were a common complaint, we’d be concerned. By definition, we guess, every hotel bed in the country would qualify as “second hand.” We change out our mattresses every five years – probably more frequently than most people change out their home mattress, given that not every mattress in a hotel is used every night, like your home mattress is (except when you’re using ours). Yes, because ours is an historic hotel, some of our floors have a slight tilt. That said, if any guest finds anything about their room to their disliking, we always hope and expect that you will call it to our attention when we have an opportunity to correct it, not after you have endured what you find lacking. We can’t move you to another room if you don’t tell us when you first note it, rather than when you have retreated to the comfort and security of your computer. As for the hotel being run-down, we again respectfully disagree. The Hood River Hotel is constantly upgrading rooms. We just completed a total makeover of a ground floor suite, for instance. Several rooms have recently had floors refinished. We paint the hotel from one end to the other over the course of every year, and take on several larger maintenance projects each year as well. This fall, for instance, we will be carpeting all our town-view rooms. Oh, yes. We do use 1 tablespoon of bleach in each load of laundry. Sorry your sniffer detected residual evidence of our attention to sanitation. Again, if we had known that it was disturbing you, we could have moved or upgraded you to a different room. We're sorry only that you didn't give us that opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

After making my reservation with HRH 3 months prior to my stay, I had to deal with them repeatedly spelling my name incorrectly (even when on the phone with them) and never receiving a confirmation e-mail. When I decided to double-check my reservation 1 week prior to my event, they told me they were full and had zero rooms left and couldn't find my name anywhere in the system. This call really, really stressed me out, and I couldn't sleep last night. It was too late to try and make other reservations.

This morning, they were able to find my information, my previously ' misspelled' name, and attempted to remedy the situation. Little too late. The 'special discounted' price that they gave me was still ~$20 over the price they additionally quoted me. I decided that I didn't want to book with them after such a negative experience.

Sadly, there aren't too many options in Hood River, but I am not planning on going back to this establishment again.

Room Tip: Don't believe their first price given.
Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
2  Thank Dru_at_IDSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Boy, do we have egg on our faces. We pride ourselves on having a great team, but much to our regret, your experience points to what can be called a team error. As best we can deduce, our problem (and your frustration) began when you first called to make your reservation. We entered your name almost correctly, but instead of an “s” in spelling your name, we entered an “f.” Egg splat! This error carried into the e-mail address to which we tried to send confirmation. It bumped. We goofed again in failing to determine why. Egg splat! On your follow-up call to change your reservation, we failed to clarify the source of your frustration, and correct it. So, the follow-up confirmation e-mail also didn’t reach you. Egg splat! We offered you compensation, but you declined. We have an idea or two why. Sorry. The offer still stands. But bottom line is, we realized from this incident that key guest reservation contacts need a reminder that we are here to help you, not frustrate you. Management shares part of the blame here, for not stressing enough the importance of prompt e-mail response. As a result, we will be providing all guest reservation team members a brush-up on ways to 1) prevent problems, and 2) resolve problems when they occur. We’re sorry your experience provided us this painful opportunity to make sure it doesn't happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Vintage hotel. A little worn but kept up well and very clean. Friendly staff. Nice view but no a/c. Not a big problem as it was cool but train and interstate noise was bothersome during the night. Definitely ask for a fan.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGR1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is a vintage hotel on the main street in Hood River. It has all the charm you would expect from a building on the National Historic Register, yet also has modern amenities like a small jaquzzi room, conference rooms and ballroom. It is right downtown, unlike the other hotels in the area, so you just need to walk outside your door to take in great restaurants and unique shops. The small restaurant in the hotel is fantastic- and they give you a voucher for 10 dollars off of breakfast to entice you to eat there. A bonus are the ground floor suites that have kitchenettes and are dog friendly. My only con is that parking was not easy- they do not have a parking lot, so you need to park on the street, which is not easy on a busy weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RNforPEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Paid a couple hundred bucks for a gigantic suite with a kitchen and a killer view. Very nice room. Bathroom was small, but not a problem for us because that's in the nature of historic places like this.

The hallways could use some refurbishing, but the place in general was great. The food in the dining room was good, and the night we were there they had an old-time country band in the lobby that was quite enjoyable. All in all, I'd come back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ITravelandEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your recent visit, and appreciated our pricing. We're heading into our peak season -- a tough time to find a room, or a deal. Even so, we do what we can to share the historic charm. For people with last-minute flexibility, we often drop room rates through Twitter specials. Follow us to @hoodriverhotel to get notice when we send Cheep Sleep alerts. All during 2011, we're offering any available room for $99 on Sunday nights -- our Centennial Sundays special, in observance of our 100th anniversary. And during the month of May, we're offering available rooms with a view of the Columbia River for $99 Sunday through Thursday. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
2.0 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
770 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
197 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westcliff Lodge
Westcliff Lodge
#4 of 8 in Hood River
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hood River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hood River Hotel

Address: 102 Oak St, Hood River, OR 97031-2312
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: £95 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hood River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 41 renovated guest rooms and suites are beautifully appointed in classic European style with all the modern conveniences. With views of the Columbia River, downtown Hood River or of our Roof Top Garden each style of guest room conveys a different personality. Free WiFi, Fitness Area and Air Conditioning throughout the entire hotel. inside our friendly staff, inviting rooms and comfortable lobby with fireside seating will ensure a pleasant stay. Venture outside and be at the center of all that Hood River has to offer; walk to five wine tasting rooms, shop artisan jewelers, couture fashion or fire arts. Savor craft beer and dining delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hood River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing