We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming! We'd love to come back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hood River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hood River Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming! We'd love to come back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We actually have stayed here twice, once on our wedding night (July 2009) and again around Valentine's day (February 2010). I know it was a while ago, but I just have have say what a great experience we had both times. The rooms do have kind of creaky floors and can be a little drafty but honestly, I think it adds to the overall charm. If you're not into the fact that it is a HISTORIC hotel, you should probably stay elsewhere. I personally really enjoyed the atmosphere of both the rooms we stayed in, though.

On our first stay they even gave us free mimosas at breakfast because we were on our honeymoon, which we thought was very sweet. The breakfast is a tad pricey (for poor folk such as us, that is) but the $10 voucher will cover pretty much most or all of one meal, which is a really great value! Also, the food is great. Not sure what one of the previous reviewers was talking about; our coffee, at least, didn't cost $10. Not even close.

Whenever we drive through Hood River, I always look fondly at the big Hood River Hotel sign and hope we can find another excuse to get away there again soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cattletownusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    139
    52
    14
    11
See reviews for
42
171
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Whats not to like ... Very comfortable, clean aand well presented old style hotel with friendly helpful staff and good food

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuarto99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is a very nice hotel. I had a very nice experience here ! Thanks for the services.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonuinfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We booked this hotel a month in advance and were so glad we did. We loved this old renovated hotel and the location. The room was quaint and pretty, albeit a bit small. The shower was also a little small but the room was clean. The worn wooden floors and trim gave it the right feel. We had a nice view of the river, but right near train track which ran all night. Ask ahead for a quiet part of hotel. No laundry which we needed as we had hiked in some mud. The front desk gave us the number of someone who comes and picks up laundry to wash and press, very handy. There are so many good shops, restaurants, coffee shops, breweries, galleries, really hard to choose where to go. We stayed 2 nights and hiked on Mt Hood one day, so convenient. Many wind surfers use the river on nice days, which are fun to watch. The restaurant in hotel is excellent and all the hotel and food service is great. The gym and hot tub were wonderful and hardly used, which was nice. Nice big lobby to relax. They give a discount on breakfast at the restaurant if you are a guest. Good music playing, outdoor eating as well. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: book in advance and ask to be away from train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowershopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
238 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

This hotel was exactly what we experienced 4 years ago. A small Hotel (less than 50 rooms I think). Inexpensive small rooms, very clean and with good linens and towels. Hairdrier included. No airconditioning, but a great ceiling fan and large window to open. Includes voucher for breakfast which is great. Exactly what I would want and expect in Hood River, where the atmosphere and crowd dictate a casual crowd, mostly into hiking, wind surfing, fishing, etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed at the Hood River Hotel for one night as part of a two week trip around the Pacific Northwest and we paid $99+tax a night, which was probably a little over priced but what a wonderful historic buidling to stay in after two corporate chains.

First thing to mention is that Hood RIver has parking meters across the town so either fill the meter or do as we did and get a half day permit from the hotel. This will save you an early start as the meters are only operational from 8-6 each day. We actually managed to find a spot right next door to the hotel which was extremely handy.

First impressions from the outside were wow. It is a stunning building. Inside the public areas are just as impressive and we were soon checked in and on our way to our room via the rather stunning lift. Use it, not the stairs, unless you are in a hurry!

The room was ok, but nothing special. Wooden floorboards made us concious of making too much noise and in fairness to other reviews, the floor did slope but isn't this part of the fun of staying in an older property? The bed was comfy, the room overall was big enough and we had a Town view having paid for a cheaper Courtyard room. What is not to like? Ok, the bathroom. Not the best but perfectly adequate with the vanity area actually in the room motel style.

Breakfast was outstanding. We had the $10 voucher provided with the room which certainly paid for one our breakfasts so I don't understand the previous reviews comments about it being expensive. I think overall our bill came to $26, minus the voucher and we had our best breakfast the whole holiday for the princely sum of $16. Great value. Oh and a warm welcome and very attentive waitress as well.

Location is perfect for Hood River itself. It is a small town so very easy to walk around. There is the Full Sail Brewery about 5 minutes walk away which served great food and even better beer and there were a few other brewpubs we visited as well which actually gave me my only hangover of the holiday!

Overall the Hood River Hotel and Hood River itself was well worth a day and night after a long drive through the Columbia River Gorge. The rooms are different to what you might get in a chain property in the USA but it all adds to the fun. We would certainly head back to the Hood River Hotel next time we find ourselves in this beautiful area of Oregon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ju123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Thank you so much for visiting us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, both at the Hood River Hotel and in downtown Hood River. You're absolutely correct -- we're totally different than the chain motels. We're proud of our antique elevator, and the character of our facility -- modern conveniences in an historic setting. We're also pretty proud of our chef and kitchen crew -- they DO kick out great meals, which is why many locals choose to dine here, too. Sorry about the hangover. The best thing about enjoying Hood River's abundance of microbrewpubs is that you never have to touch the car keys -- just stroll a couple of blocks back to your room at the hotel. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We wanted to stay downtown on this working holiday, and had stayed at this hotel several years ago. I was very disappointed. It is really run down from last time. The beds were more like second hand. Very Very VERY uncomfortable and in our room it was on a cheap metal frame that kept rolling "downhill" becuase the hotel is old and the floors are uneven. Sheets smelled of Bleach (well at least we knew they were disinfected!). Breakfast was very overpriced. You get a $10 coupon per room...this will buy coffee!
On the positive, we enjoyed some great jazz music and apps in the lobby one of the nights.
All in all, I cannot recommend the Hotel until they invest some money into the furnishings and such.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillygates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent visit. We wish you had shared them with us when you were here. Yes, we do provide every guest with a $10 voucher good toward the cost of breakfast. That voucher, by the way, would purchase SIX cups of coffee, OR the Cornerstone Cuisine breakfast of eggs, roasted potatoes, whole wheat toast and choice of bacon, sausage or ham. The voucher also would cover the cost of our Goat Cheese Omelette, the Spanish Ham & Cheese Scramble, or the Tuscan Skillet omelette. Not to mention several other menu items. Since your note seems slanted away from fact and more towards rhetorical hyperbole, we’re not sure what to make of your encounter with our beds. If it were a common complaint, we’d be concerned. By definition, we guess, every hotel bed in the country would qualify as “second hand.” We change out our mattresses every five years – probably more frequently than most people change out their home mattress, given that not every mattress in a hotel is used every night, like your home mattress is (except when you’re using ours). Yes, because ours is an historic hotel, some of our floors have a slight tilt. That said, if any guest finds anything about their room to their disliking, we always hope and expect that you will call it to our attention when we have an opportunity to correct it, not after you have endured what you find lacking. We can’t move you to another room if you don’t tell us when you first note it, rather than when you have retreated to the comfort and security of your computer. As for the hotel being run-down, we again respectfully disagree. The Hood River Hotel is constantly upgrading rooms. We just completed a total makeover of a ground floor suite, for instance. Several rooms have recently had floors refinished. We paint the hotel from one end to the other over the course of every year, and take on several larger maintenance projects each year as well. This fall, for instance, we will be carpeting all our town-view rooms. Oh, yes. We do use 1 tablespoon of bleach in each load of laundry. Sorry your sniffer detected residual evidence of our attention to sanitation. Again, if we had known that it was disturbing you, we could have moved or upgraded you to a different room. We're sorry only that you didn't give us that opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
2.0 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westcliff Lodge
Westcliff Lodge
#5 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hood River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hood River Hotel

Property: Hood River Hotel
Address: 102 Oak St, Hood River, OR 97031-2312
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hood River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 41 renovated guest rooms and suites are beautifully appointed in classic European style with all the modern conveniences. With views of the Columbia River, downtown Hood River or of our Roof Top Garden each style of guest room conveys a different personality. Free WiFi, Fitness Area and Air Conditioning throughout the entire hotel. inside our friendly staff, inviting rooms and comfortable lobby with fireside seating will ensure a pleasant stay. Venture outside and be at the center of all that Hood River has to offer; walk to five wine tasting rooms, shop artisan jewelers, couture fashion or fire arts. Savor craft beer and dining delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hood River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing