We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic hotel with unbeatable location.”
Review of Hood River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hood River Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Classic hotel with unbeatable location.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is a comparatively basic hotel whose location and service can't be beat. It is older and has the feel of a classic European hotel. With that said, the rooms are perfectly acceptable and the location places you right in the middle of everything Hood River has to offer.

To be fair, we stayed in a corner suite, which was huge and awesome, with a full kitchen, dining room, living room and gorgeous views. If it is available, absolutely book it. (It can sometimes be booked for $100, which is a steal.)

The hotel does not have any designated parking, which can be a bit of an issue. They offer a $10 breakfast voucher per room, but we chose the bagel place across the street instead. We'd absolutely stay here again and would do everything possible to arrange our stay to get the suite.

Room Tip: Splurge and get the suite if available. Suites with river views are popular for watching July4th fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chwsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    140
    52
    14
    12
See reviews for
43
171
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

By modern standards, this hotel is spartan. Our rooms were small with bathrooms fashioned (very well) out of the original closets. Sink in the room. Shower and toilet in the closet.
But it's not a modern hotel. That's the point. It is a wonderful old hotel that you can imagine travellers from 90 years ago stopping in on their way west. Breakfast was excellent in their downstairs cafe (for which a ten dollar voucher was provided).
Had a great night's sleep and enjoyed a fascinating hotel and town.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EnglishViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Quaint old hotel with old-fashioned elevator right on Oak St. Which means there were plenty of dining options. I got the $99 special offer which was nice. The woman at the front desk was friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The people at the front desk are 11's out of 10. Each one during our 3 day stay was awesome. We had the big family suite...what a room! We have stayed in a smaller room, which was great too but this family suite was over the top. Things here are old, do keep that in mind but it is spacious, love having a kitchen and the view from all the windows is breathtaking. An incredible place to stay, didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welikecabobest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Will definitely stay here if we find ourselves in Hood River again! Feels like a bed and breakfast (decor-wise), friendly staff, rooms are a little older but completely clean, and wonderful view of the river! We traveled with an infant and they provided a pack n play free of charge. Breakfast was nothing earth shattering, but plenty good enough. It was hard to tell on the website, but the restaurant is essentially in the hotel lobby - no walking outside to get there. With the $10/day voucher, breakfast was about 5 bucks for two of us. Not bad!

Room Tip: We had a room near the stairwell, and it was noisy at night. Wouldn't recommend this particular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sierrachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Georgia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a great location, if you are staying in Hood River and intend to enjoy local establishments, you should stay here. The lobby is exactly what you would expect, it appears as it most likely was back in the last century.

The rooms are not luxurious, just know that going in, but this is a facility that is north of 100 yrs old so you cannot expect a Ritz or Westin. The bathrooms (most of them) are former closets they converted, and the sinks are actually in the room itself, not in the bathroom. The air units are stand-alones that are loud but not overwhelmingly so. The rooms are neat and the noise in the hotel is pretty low.

Breakfast there is great and the service is really good. The hotel is within a few blocks of everything, and there is a lot of good local food and beer here along with some good local shops. There are some hiking trails a couple of miles away (we walked to them) but the roads are pretty busy leading to them so keep an eye on the traffic.

The service at the hotel left nothing to be desired, and the front desk was really helpful. The parking here is limited to the street, so if you arent staying on the weekends, just know you will have to coordinate with the hotel to get the parking permits or park around the corner at another lot.

Overall, our stay was great and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manu4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
198 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We will be back to stay again and again. Front office desk staff--- friendly, helpful and positive. Housekeeping--does a great job!~ Sunday brunch was very yummy and very reasonably priced.
Now, the room---cute, darling, sweet with a HUGE bathroom, full kitchen and on Sunday nights the rooms are specially priced, even when it was Memorial weekend.
IF you get to Hood River and want to stay downtown where most of the great pubs and restaurants are located, and fun shopping, I recommend this hotel.
Special kudos to Curtis at the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymo362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
2.0 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westcliff Lodge
Westcliff Lodge
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hood River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hood River Hotel

Property: Hood River Hotel
Address: 102 Oak St, Hood River, OR 97031-2312
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hood River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 41 renovated guest rooms and suites are beautifully appointed in classic European style with all the modern conveniences. With views of the Columbia River, downtown Hood River or of our Roof Top Garden each style of guest room conveys a different personality. Free WiFi, Fitness Area and Air Conditioning throughout the entire hotel. inside our friendly staff, inviting rooms and comfortable lobby with fireside seating will ensure a pleasant stay. Venture outside and be at the center of all that Hood River has to offer; walk to five wine tasting rooms, shop artisan jewelers, couture fashion or fire arts. Savor craft beer and dining delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hood River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing