We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Impressed, More Than Expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very Impressed, More Than Expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

My husband bought us a stay at the Columbia Cliffs Villas because we saw it on Groupon. Sometimes when you buy these deals online, you get a well advertised hotel, but just so-so accommodations. This was unbelievable. We stayed in one of the larger suites, overlooking the river and spent three days soaking in the scenery.

The Columbia Villas is next to, but not affiliated with, the historic Columbia Cliffs Hotel. The only way we found out was when we ate there for dinner one night and they said that they could not put the charge on our room. Otherwise, you'd think they are one in the same. The Hotel has the most incredible food, even for the most discerning palate. We learned that they have a well known Chef AND pastry Chef on staff making everything fresh daily. We ate there 2 out of 3 nights. The Bar at the hotel was top notch too. They had live entertainment by a guy named Tony, whose been playing there for over 30 years.

The nuts and bolts: The place was immaculate, and beautifully decorated. We had a kitchen, and since I love to cook, I was impressed with Dacor appliances, and the well stocked supplies. The service on check in was very friendly, and they were very willing to help with anything we had questions about. The bed was crazy comfortable, and the shower was huge. The housekeeping was perfectly done, and we never saw them.

The front desk suggested a local company for a private tour of the Columbia River, Martin's Gorge Tours, and it was the highlight of our trip. Martin spent a whole day with us, giving us the history of the area, showing us the sights and taking us wine tasting. It was wonderful.

We will be back.

Room Tip: Get a room on the river side to avoid the freeway noise from the carriage houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHuante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear JH,
Thanks for staying with us and sharing your experience. We are fortunate to have Tony and Simon’s Cliff House restaurant right next door in the historic Columbia Gorge Hotel building. Our guests always enjoy their breakfast, lunch, bar and dinner menus. I hope you can return later this spring and enjoy Simon’s outdoor veranda that overlooks the waterfall. Martin always shows our guests a great time. You probably noticed that our staff and just about everyone in the Gorge has a great attitude and strives to encourage your return visits. We are all very fortunate to live in such a beautiful place with so many recreational opportunities. If you ever choose to share the Hood River experience with friends or family, you will see on our website that several of our rooms and suites can be adjoined into 2BR or 3Br configurations. Hope to see you and your friends soon. Check our website of like us on Facebook to receive preferred guest offers.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    79
    39
    18
    0
See reviews for
75
252
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukie, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights this last weekend. The hotel grounds were beautiful. Friendly staff as well. The rooms were above average with quality bedding, Aveda toiletries and even Kuerig coffee makers.

We stayed in a Euro King room and I can only imagine how incredible a suite would have been!

Thank you for the great stay.

Room Tip: Recommend upgrading rooms to get the full experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjburchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear rjburchet,
So glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in our Euro King room. These comfortable new rooms were added about a year ago to provide a competitive price point for our active guests who escape to Hood River for the outdoor adventure, great restaurants and wine tasting during daylight hours. We hope you can spend more time on your next visit and take advantage of some of the views, fireplaces and other amenities available in some of larger suites. Better yet, bring some friends or family and share the fun. Please visit our website for pictures, details and floor plans of our wide variety of 1,2,&3BR villas - also a great value when you split the cost. Northwesterners love Springtime in the Gorge. Lots of wildflowers, roaring waterfalls and way more sunshine than the I-5 corridor. Thanks again for your patronage and sharing your experience.
Sincerely,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed here last weekend just to get out of the city for a short weekend. The incredible service started when we booked our room over the phone, where the woman was funny and very polite. When we arrived, it was dark, but the room was absolutely beautiful. It was clean and very tastefully done. The next morning we woke up to incredible views of the Columbia River, complete with rainbows! The grounds were amazing, and the staff was very friendly, and gave suggestions about good places to go in town, as it was our first trip to Hood River. We will definitely be returning in the future, and highly recommend the Columbia Cliff Villas!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KR0922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear KR0922,
Thanks for choosing Columbia Cliff Villas for your first (of hopefully many) trips to Hood River. We love helping new visitors discover the Gorge. It's always a bit surprising to us how many Portlanders have never been here. Did you know that a recent poll of tourists named the Columbia River Gorge as the #1 attraction and primary reason they visited Portland? We are located just one very scenic hour from downtown Portland or PDX (with no stoplights along the way). Hood River receives about half the annual precipitation, compared to the I-5 corridor. Whether you enjoy waterfalls, wild flowers, wine, craft brews, fine dining, wind-, water-, or snow-sports, you'll find it here. You can find links to most on our website. We look forward to your future visits and promise we can help you discover something new anytime you can find a day or two run out.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

We had a wonderful visit to Hood River for 2 days. The property and grounds are beautiful. There is careful attention to detail and the staff was friendly. We stayed in a River View Room and it was so worth it for a breathtaking view of a winter wonderland! The fireplace did a good job of keeping us warm! It was a very relaxing weekend after spending a week in Portland. We look forward to returning in the summer to explore Hood River and the Columbia River Gorge area. We will deferentially stay at Columbia Cliff Villas again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garnetkw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear garnetkw99,
Great to hear that you enjoyed your winter visit to the Gorge. Thanks for choosing Columbia Cliff Villas and especially for sharing your experience. Hood River and The Columbia River Gorge make a great destination any time of year. In the winter, you can ski powder in the morning and play golf in the afternoon on one of the Northwest's driest 4-star golf courses, surrounded by snow-capped peaks. Spring comes early out here and brings wildflowers and roaring waterfalls, starting in late February. Our infamous summer winds attract windsurfers and kiteboarders from all over the world to perform their magic 250' directly below our cliff side perch. Fall colors are spectacular during the harvest and crush season in Gorge wine country. PS: Wine tasting is not a seasonal activity!
Hope to see you again soon.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bonneville, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

My Groom and I stayed two nights during our wedding weekend. The rooms were beautiful and a perfect setting for my Maid of Honor and I to have our hair done while sipping on champagne looking out onto the beautiful Columbia River. Our photographer loved the grounds (it was December!) and the photos turned out beautiful! We found that the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is very close to Hood River activities but tucked away so you feel as if you are secluded among the beautiful scenery of the Columbia Gorge.

The staff informed me that there was a big party going on in a penthouse suite so they found us parking right outside our room. We didn't hear a thing!! We will definitely stay at this property again. Nothing but a positive experience. We encourage you to do the same.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fsugatorgorgegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear fsugatorgorgegirl,
Thanks for sharing your experience with TA. We were honored to play a role in your memorable event and delighted to hear that everything was perfect. Looking forward to seeing you for many anniversaries to come. Remember that our wedding and honeymoon couples receive free anniversary upgrades - for life! Many happy returns!!
Congratulations to both of you.
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Two families from Portland traveled up the gorge for a ski day at Meadows and a very comfortable overnight and morning at Columbia Cliff Villas. Our three-room villa was perfect for two couples and kids: roomy, comfortable, private sleeping quarters, gracious and well-appointed (and equipped) kitchen, dining room and living room. Friendly helpful staff. Outstanding views. Solid, quality-designed and built villas. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Doug D,
Thanks so much for choosing Columbia Cliff and especially for sharing your experience. Our multi-room villas were designed precisely for your type of 'friends and family' trips. We look forward to your return visit, whether it be for skiing this Winter, wild flowers and waterfalls this Spring, wind & water sports next Summer or enjoying the colors and bounty of Fall.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, WA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Stayed in the Euro King Suite last weekend and thought it was very nice. The room was clean, modern, large, quiet. I loved the large tub and the gas fireplace. The TV was small. We didn't cook in the room but there is a stovetop, sink, microwave & small refrigerator if you want to cook. The room had a Keurig with Kcups available. The two employees we encountered were very friendly & helpful. If it hadn't poured down rain I would have enjoyed sitting outside in the adirondack chairs that look out over the river. Very nice place - I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZiggerBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear ZiggerBean,
Thanks sharing your positive experience with other TA travelers. Our friendly team always aims to please but unfortunately we can’t always control the weather. But did you know that Hood River is usually a great escape from stereotype Northwest weather? Even though Hood River (at only 100’ above sea level) is only one relatively flat (and very scenic) hour from Portland, it lies far enough east of the Cascade Mountain Range that we only receive about half the annual precipitation of the I-5 corridor, including the Willamette Valley.
The Columbia River Gorge micro-climate is even more dramatic and is the primary reason The Gorge has become one of North America’s top producers of wine grapes and pears, as well as an international recreation destination. Hood River is situated in the Central Gorge, right on the Columbia, between Mt. Hood (11,250’) and Mt. Adams (over 12,000’) - both within 35 miles…some serious terrain out here. While outdoor enthusiasts get their yea yea’s out up there with year around snow sports, everyone enjoys the year around views of snow capped peaks and the rivers and waterfalls that run throughout the Hood River Valley. In fact, Phelps Creek ends with at dramatic 208’ waterfall right next to our hotel. Indian Creek Golf Course offers some of the best wintertime playing conditions in the NW - especially fun after powder skiing in the morning.
As the Cascades hold back and empty out the Pacific weather systems, places Stevenson, WA, just 20 miles to our west can see 3 - 4 times our annual rainfall. Drive just 20 miles further east and The Dalles only gets half what we do. These dramatic conditions, combined with ideal soils allow the Columbia Gorge AVA to produce a wider variety of grapes than any other single AVA in the world. Great winemakers have been attracted to the area by the scenery, recreation, and the opportunity to experiment and blend exotic varietals to create delicious wines like nowhere else.
Great wine attracts great chefs and great restaurants too. With over 50 restaurants in The Gorge, our concierge will help you find the perfect match to enjoy the wines have chosen – they all provide reasonable corkage service for your discoveries.
We hope you will return soon to enjoy some better weather, wonderful food, exceptional wine and all the fun the Gorge has to offer! Think about bringing friends next time; Columbia Cliff Villas offers some really functional multi-room room options to help you share the experience.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
0.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
17.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel

Property: Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
Address: 3880 Westcliff Drive, PO Box 887, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wide variety of price points, from luxurious 1-3BR suites to charming Euro-style rooms, all furnished with robes, premium bedding and amenities. Most options offer breathtaking views of Columbia River Gorge from this cliff-edge settting 220' directly above world-famous windsuring sites. Stroll a short garden path to top of year-around waterfall to enjoy indoor & outdoor, fine and casual dining at adjacent restaurants or venture just one mile to take in the charm of downtown Hood River's boutique shopping, great restaurants, interesting wineries and brew pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Cliff Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing