We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Hood River”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I recently stayed 2 nights and was very impressed. Like others are saying it was more than I expected. Very clean and quiet, my room even had a small kitchenette (with granite counters). This hotel is right next door to the historic Columbia Gorge Hotel which has a beautiful grounds complete with waterfall. Staff at both properties were very friendly. I would highly recommend staying at the Columbia Cliffs Villas if you are planning a trip to Hood River.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Joshua C,
Our team always strives to surpass expectations and it means a great deal to all of us when our valued customers share their memorable experiences with TA travelers. Hood River and the Columbia River Gorge have so much to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon and sharing our local knowledge to help you discover the area’s best wining, dining, viewpoints, activities and attractions. Thanks again for your great review.
Sincerely,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

My husband bought us a stay at the Columbia Cliffs Villas because we saw it on Groupon. Sometimes when you buy these deals online, you get a well advertised hotel, but just so-so accommodations. This was unbelievable. We stayed in one of the larger suites, overlooking the river and spent three days soaking in the scenery.

The Columbia Villas is next to, but not affiliated with, the historic Columbia Cliffs Hotel. The only way we found out was when we ate there for dinner one night and they said that they could not put the charge on our room. Otherwise, you'd think they are one in the same. The Hotel has the most incredible food, even for the most discerning palate. We learned that they have a well known Chef AND pastry Chef on staff making everything fresh daily. We ate there 2 out of 3 nights. The Bar at the hotel was top notch too. They had live entertainment by a guy named Tony, whose been playing there for over 30 years.

The nuts and bolts: The place was immaculate, and beautifully decorated. We had a kitchen, and since I love to cook, I was impressed with Dacor appliances, and the well stocked supplies. The service on check in was very friendly, and they were very willing to help with anything we had questions about. The bed was crazy comfortable, and the shower was huge. The housekeeping was perfectly done, and we never saw them.

The front desk suggested a local company for a private tour of the Columbia River, Martin's Gorge Tours, and it was the highlight of our trip. Martin spent a whole day with us, giving us the history of the area, showing us the sights and taking us wine tasting. It was wonderful.

We will be back.

Room Tip: Get a room on the river side to avoid the freeway noise from the carriage houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHuante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear JH,
Thanks for staying with us and sharing your experience. We are fortunate to have Tony and Simon’s Cliff House restaurant right next door in the historic Columbia Gorge Hotel building. Our guests always enjoy their breakfast, lunch, bar and dinner menus. I hope you can return later this spring and enjoy Simon’s outdoor veranda that overlooks the waterfall. Martin always shows our guests a great time. You probably noticed that our staff and just about everyone in the Gorge has a great attitude and strives to encourage your return visits. We are all very fortunate to live in such a beautiful place with so many recreational opportunities. If you ever choose to share the Hood River experience with friends or family, you will see on our website that several of our rooms and suites can be adjoined into 2BR or 3Br configurations. Hope to see you and your friends soon. Check our website of like us on Facebook to receive preferred guest offers.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights this last weekend. The hotel grounds were beautiful. Friendly staff as well. The rooms were above average with quality bedding, Aveda toiletries and even Kuerig coffee makers.

We stayed in a Euro King room and I can only imagine how incredible a suite would have been!

Thank you for the great stay.

Room Tip: Recommend upgrading rooms to get the full experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjburchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear rjburchet,
So glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in our Euro King room. These comfortable new rooms were added about a year ago to provide a competitive price point for our active guests who escape to Hood River for the outdoor adventure, great restaurants and wine tasting during daylight hours. We hope you can spend more time on your next visit and take advantage of some of the views, fireplaces and other amenities available in some of larger suites. Better yet, bring some friends or family and share the fun. Please visit our website for pictures, details and floor plans of our wide variety of 1,2,&3BR villas - also a great value when you split the cost. Northwesterners love Springtime in the Gorge. Lots of wildflowers, roaring waterfalls and way more sunshine than the I-5 corridor. Thanks again for your patronage and sharing your experience.
Sincerely,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed here last weekend just to get out of the city for a short weekend. The incredible service started when we booked our room over the phone, where the woman was funny and very polite. When we arrived, it was dark, but the room was absolutely beautiful. It was clean and very tastefully done. The next morning we woke up to incredible views of the Columbia River, complete with rainbows! The grounds were amazing, and the staff was very friendly, and gave suggestions about good places to go in town, as it was our first trip to Hood River. We will definitely be returning in the future, and highly recommend the Columbia Cliff Villas!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KR0922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear KR0922,
Thanks for choosing Columbia Cliff Villas for your first (of hopefully many) trips to Hood River. We love helping new visitors discover the Gorge. It's always a bit surprising to us how many Portlanders have never been here. Did you know that a recent poll of tourists named the Columbia River Gorge as the #1 attraction and primary reason they visited Portland? We are located just one very scenic hour from downtown Portland or PDX (with no stoplights along the way). Hood River receives about half the annual precipitation, compared to the I-5 corridor. Whether you enjoy waterfalls, wild flowers, wine, craft brews, fine dining, wind-, water-, or snow-sports, you'll find it here. You can find links to most on our website. We look forward to your future visits and promise we can help you discover something new anytime you can find a day or two run out.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We had a wonderful visit to Hood River for 2 days. The property and grounds are beautiful. There is careful attention to detail and the staff was friendly. We stayed in a River View Room and it was so worth it for a breathtaking view of a winter wonderland! The fireplace did a good job of keeping us warm! It was a very relaxing weekend after spending a week in Portland. We look forward to returning in the summer to explore Hood River and the Columbia River Gorge area. We will deferentially stay at Columbia Cliff Villas again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garnetkw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear garnetkw99,
Great to hear that you enjoyed your winter visit to the Gorge. Thanks for choosing Columbia Cliff Villas and especially for sharing your experience. Hood River and The Columbia River Gorge make a great destination any time of year. In the winter, you can ski powder in the morning and play golf in the afternoon on one of the Northwest's driest 4-star golf courses, surrounded by snow-capped peaks. Spring comes early out here and brings wildflowers and roaring waterfalls, starting in late February. Our infamous summer winds attract windsurfers and kiteboarders from all over the world to perform their magic 250' directly below our cliff side perch. Fall colors are spectacular during the harvest and crush season in Gorge wine country. PS: Wine tasting is not a seasonal activity!
Hope to see you again soon.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My Groom and I stayed two nights during our wedding weekend. The rooms were beautiful and a perfect setting for my Maid of Honor and I to have our hair done while sipping on champagne looking out onto the beautiful Columbia River. Our photographer loved the grounds (it was December!) and the photos turned out beautiful! We found that the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is very close to Hood River activities but tucked away so you feel as if you are secluded among the beautiful scenery of the Columbia Gorge.

The staff informed me that there was a big party going on in a penthouse suite so they found us parking right outside our room. We didn't hear a thing!! We will definitely stay at this property again. Nothing but a positive experience. We encourage you to do the same.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fsugatorgorgegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear fsugatorgorgegirl,
Thanks for sharing your experience with TA. We were honored to play a role in your memorable event and delighted to hear that everything was perfect. Looking forward to seeing you for many anniversaries to come. Remember that our wedding and honeymoon couples receive free anniversary upgrades - for life! Many happy returns!!
Congratulations to both of you.
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Two families from Portland traveled up the gorge for a ski day at Meadows and a very comfortable overnight and morning at Columbia Cliff Villas. Our three-room villa was perfect for two couples and kids: roomy, comfortable, private sleeping quarters, gracious and well-appointed (and equipped) kitchen, dining room and living room. Friendly helpful staff. Outstanding views. Solid, quality-designed and built villas. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Doug D,
Thanks so much for choosing Columbia Cliff and especially for sharing your experience. Our multi-room villas were designed precisely for your type of 'friends and family' trips. We look forward to your return visit, whether it be for skiing this Winter, wild flowers and waterfalls this Spring, wind & water sports next Summer or enjoying the colors and bounty of Fall.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
0.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hood River
805 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
199 reviews
17 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel

Address: 3880 Westcliff Dr, PO Box 887, Hood River, OR 97031-8710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: £100 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wide variety of price points, from luxurious 1-3BR suites to charming Euro-style rooms, all furnished with robes, premium bedding and amenities. Most options offer breathtaking views of Columbia River Gorge from this cliff-edge settting 220' directly above world-famous windsuring sites. Stroll a short garden path to top of year-around waterfall to enjoy indoor & outdoor, fine and casual dining at adjacent restaurants or venture just one mile to take in the charm of downtown Hood River's boutique shopping, great restaurants, interesting wineries and brew pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Cliff Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing