We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
432
128
59
23
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
128
59
23
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river pinnacle suite historic columbia the penthouse partial view aveda products french doors kite boarders master bedroom large walk in shower courtyard room gas fireplace wine tasting romantic getaway wonderful room close to town road noise
Filter
Updating list...
502 - 507 of 643 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We wanted to stay an extra night in the area and were able to get a last minute booking over Labor Day. I was worried about the mixed reviews, and having stayed there I can see why they are mixed.

The view from the room was lovely - a direct view of the river and the WA side of the valley. The room itself was very nice - comfortable bed, nice bathroom and a small fridge. And the staff at check-in couldn't be friendlier.

Several of the buildings are right on the Interstate, and no doubt are very noisy. We stayed in the Riverview room, and there was no road noise. But it's true that train tracks run at the base of the cliff, so some noise is inevitable. With the windows shut and air conditioner on, it wasn't a problem, but with the window open it's pretty noisy.

For one night it was fine. The room was good, the location very convenient for Hood River. But the proximity to train tracks and the road would get tiresome after a couple of days. I imagine most hotels in Hood Rive suffer from the same problem - the train and highway seem to go past pretty much every hotel in the area.

We stayed 2 nights at Carson Ridge Luxury cabins before this - well worth alook if you want something a bit quieter.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englishman_in_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Englishman_in_NJ,
Thank you for staying with us and posting all your positive comments, as well as for bringing up a point that I have really wanted to address. In addition to being a National Scenic Area, the Columbia River Gorge is also the primary transportation corridor through the Cascades. Fortunately, our property is located at the top of a sheer cliff, over 200’ above the river and railroad tracks, where the steep terrain creates a natural sound barrier and breathtaking views on the river side. Except for the occasional train passing far below and screeching eagles at eye level, the adjacent 208’ waterfall is about all guests can expect to hear from the North side rooms and balconies. We have four separate buildings conveniently located just off exit 62 of Interstate 84, on a natural basalt ledge just below the frontage road. The extra distance and terrain also help shelter some of our more economical South-side rooms from the road noise. This places us about 150’ above and a mile West of downtown traffic and almost two miles from the closest train whistle. Known as the Westcliff district and the Gateway to Columbia Gorge Wine Country, we have several great restaurants and a spa within easy walking distance. All of our rooms were built with special windows and insulation to minimize noise. Like most of our guests, you discovered that these extra soundproofing measures provide a peaceful night’s sleep. We hope you will return and try one of our cliff-side suites, with more space, a private balcony and full kitchen – perfect for extended stays.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

For the second consecutive year Columbia Cliffs Villas has provided the perfect setting for our company leadership group strategy meeting. The Penthouse is a beautifully furnished, welcoming space for "around the table" meetings, and has ample room for easels, projector screens, etc. The view of the gorge is spectacular. All the guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and well appointed. I could not have asked for better service from Tracy and the staff at Columbia Cliffs Villas, and I look forward to working with them on our next event!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy0430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Kathy0430,
Thanks for holding another leadership strategy retreat at CCV and especially for taking time to post your flattering review. Tracy’s team consistently does an outstanding job of helping event planners bring all the pieces together to provide an inspiring venue for memorable meetings. From dining and catering to spouse tours, transportation, and team building activities, they have all the contacts to simplify the process and assure maximum productivity and enjoyment. You might also be interested to know that we have recently added to our furnishings inventory, which will allow even more flexibility for meeting set ups. Whether you need board room, classroom, dining or just comfortable soft seating around the fireplace, we are now equipped to do just about any configuration in any of our seven meeting suites. We look forward to your next event.
Sincerely,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The Columbia Cliff Villas are a combination timeshare/hotel by the night rental feature. I am not sure they have the best business model, i.e. are they a timeshare or a hotel? But I guess they do whatever it takes to keep the cash flow going. For example, upon check-in, we had to pay for all 5 nights up front. Traditionally, you have given the first night's payment to guarantee the reservation, and then pay the rest upon departure. But not here. They wanted their money ALL upfront. Not sure what would happen upon an early departure. Rates for the Columbia front rooms are about $250.00/night. The bed we had was a very comfortable king facing a set of French doors that looked north to the Washington side of the Columbia River. The view is to die for given the continuous wind, beautiful mountains and the hundreds of kite and sail surfers out practicing their sport on the river. Boats occasionally pass by, so lots of activities are there to watch.

The room was air conditioned and large. A gas fireplace was also at the ready depending on the time of year. Good internet connection and all the bathroom amenities. The shower was a walk-in with two shower heads. The downside was the closet which was poorly designed. The door opened to the drawers, but all the hanging clothes had to be placed behind the front wall. The was no reason the door to the closet couldn't have been more centered. The service staff are very good about clean-up and not coming too early. Parking can be a problem, so you may have to walk a distance to get to your villa.

Adjacent to this property is the Columbia Gorge Hotel which is a historic landmarks, but we were told the rooms are small and of the old world. However, that is the closest and best place for breakfast.

Across the freeway is the town of Hood River which is very charming and beautiful shops as well as many eateries. Hood River also abounds with numerous wineries and wine tasting opportunities. Also, in Hood River is the Mount Hood Railroad that is a 5 hour excursion up the hill towards Mount Hood. I will write about this later, but am told it is a fun time.

So in summary the Columbia Cliff Villas are worth the money for the views, the room comfort (despite the closet and parking). Personally, I am more into the ocean sites, but for a river view, this was a nice change. Could be a great place for a honeymoon as well.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the Columbia River front rooms as a number of villas don't face the Columbia River.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliffwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear cliffwalters,
Thank you for staying with us, your positive comments and for your thorough review. To clarify, we are not a time-share but we do have a very unique lodging facility. As you can see from our website, we offer a wide variety of rooms and suites for nightly rental. Some of these rooms and suites are privately owned condominiums that can be adjoined for friends and families, or locked off for complete privacy. You stayed in one of these lock-out guest rooms, where the closet was configured to provide both drawers and hanging space, adequate for short stays. We hope you will return for a longer visit next time and maybe bring friends to share the larger adjoining suite, which includes a walk-in closet in the master and a fully equipped gourmet kitchen off the great room. I should also note that even though not all parking spaces are adjacent to every room, we do have adequate free parking closer than many hotels. The adjacent historic Columbia Gorge Hotel and Spa is within easy walking distance and also provides fine and casual, indoor and outdoor dining for lunch, dinner and happy hour, as well as great breakfasts, overlooking the waterfall and Columbia River Gorge.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed in the Penthouse Suite. The view of the Columbia river is amazing when you walk into the room. It is well worth the money to stay here. It is very comfortable and luxurious room. The furnishings are very well done. We especially enjoyed sitting on the balcony with a drink and watching the scenery and the kite boarders on the river. It is a very convenient location with each access to restaurants in hood river and the outdoor activities along the Columbia river. The Columbia Gorge Hotel next door has a good breakfast also.

Room Tip: Get a good view of the River.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear John L,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We look forward to your next visit.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at CCV for our honeymoon in one of the Carriage Houses. The friendly, helpful staff helped us securing the best rate and even booking some recreational activities for us. The one-room suite was stayed in was impeccably decorated and maintained- we did not want to leave! Very comfortable, and struck the right balance of cozy and spacious for the two of us. The river views are lovely and we enjoyed walking the grounds around the hotel with our morning coffee. Before arriving I had some concerns about the property being too far from downtown Hood River, but it was a very easy 5 minute drive away. I'd highly recommend staying at CCV.

Room Tip: The bedrooms of the Carriage House do face the highway however we hardly noticed the noise and slept great.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Kate M,
Congratulations on your recent marriage and thanks for sharing your honeymoon experience. We are honored to have played a part in the memorable event and hope to see you return for many happy anniversaries in the years to come.
Best wishes,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews