We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveller rating
430
127
57
23
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
127
57
23
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverpinnacle suitehistoric columbiathe penthousepartial viewaveda productsfrench doorskite boardersmaster bedroomlarge walk in showercourtyard roomgas fireplacewine tastingromantic getawaywonderful roomclose to townroad noise
Filter
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 638 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I were married in January and live in the south so we wanted to spend a couple days in the snow, relaxing in Hood River for a couple days. We had purchased a voucher on Groupon for the stay and wine tastings. I absolutely recommend this hotel to stay. The room was roomy, clean and comfortable. Our room had a gas fireplace which we loved since we don't get to run fireplaces much in the south. We found the trip really relaxing and were not disappointed.

The one thing I do have to say is that the wine tasting we received with booking was a little deceptive. They gave us a pass which was good for wine tastings in the area. We found a few tasting rooms downtown and visited there. One of the attendants at those tasting rooms informed us that 3/4 of the wineries on our ticket were closed for the winter and did not have tasting rooms. This was not a huge concern for us considering we had other plans snowshoeing and not much time for wine tasting.

Room Tip: Our view didn't have a room, try to arrange a room with a view! The cliff is beautiful and would have really added to our stay.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMoodyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear AMoodyTraveler,
We were honored to play a role in your honeymoon last winter. Thanks for sharing your experience. We partner with several top award-winning Gorge wineries who honor our promotional certificates; a few of them have limited hours during the off-season. However, our guests will find some of the best are open year-around and many of our 40+ wineries are planning to expand hours this winter. We hope you will have the opportunity to join many of our honeymoon couples who often return for an anniversary to enjoy one of our Riverview rooms.
Best wishes!
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We decided to stay here because of the views and weren't disappointed. Truly fascinating views. The room was very nice in and of itself. You can hear the train, but it didn't really bother us. I couldn't hear the highway, but again we were on the river, and I really don't think I'd stay here again if I wasn't on the river. It is a mile or 2 down the highway to downtown Hood River, so keep that in mind. Nice outdoor seating area to wind down at night weather permitting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JACoppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear JACoppo,
Thanks for staying with us and sharing these positive comments. We hope you return and enjoy one of the several great restaurants and spa - all within easy walking distance. TA readers are encouraged to book early for best selection of view rooms or may prefer to save on lodging costs with one of our Euro rooms - and still enjoy the views from our outdoor seating areas. Our website provides details, pictures and floor plans of our wide variety of accommodations.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

No mixed reviews here! We loved this hotel, by far the best in Hood River! Our River View room was gorgeous and the view was stunning! I loved the large double headed showers.

The hotel is next to the highway which was noisy when you were outside, however the rooms were very quite. You are only 3 minutes from all the attractions downtown.

The only thing that could make it better, is a pool! it was near 100 when we stayed and a pool would have been nice.

We will be coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bbeck2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Bbeck2013,
Thanks for the great review. There just is not enough space for a pool on our limited cliff ledge. Next trip, be sure to visit some of Hood River’s beautiful beaches. We have several nice sand swimming beaches on the waterfront and the Columbia River is very refreshing during hot weather. You and other TA travelers can find more information about beaches and many other attractions on the Location page of our website.
Hope to see you again soon.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We wanted to stay an extra night in the area and were able to get a last minute booking over Labor Day. I was worried about the mixed reviews, and having stayed there I can see why they are mixed.

The view from the room was lovely - a direct view of the river and the WA side of the valley. The room itself was very nice - comfortable bed, nice bathroom and a small fridge. And the staff at check-in couldn't be friendlier.

Several of the buildings are right on the Interstate, and no doubt are very noisy. We stayed in the Riverview room, and there was no road noise. But it's true that train tracks run at the base of the cliff, so some noise is inevitable. With the windows shut and air conditioner on, it wasn't a problem, but with the window open it's pretty noisy.

For one night it was fine. The room was good, the location very convenient for Hood River. But the proximity to train tracks and the road would get tiresome after a couple of days. I imagine most hotels in Hood Rive suffer from the same problem - the train and highway seem to go past pretty much every hotel in the area.

We stayed 2 nights at Carson Ridge Luxury cabins before this - well worth alook if you want something a bit quieter.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englishman_in_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Englishman_in_NJ,
Thank you for staying with us and posting all your positive comments, as well as for bringing up a point that I have really wanted to address. In addition to being a National Scenic Area, the Columbia River Gorge is also the primary transportation corridor through the Cascades. Fortunately, our property is located at the top of a sheer cliff, over 200’ above the river and railroad tracks, where the steep terrain creates a natural sound barrier and breathtaking views on the river side. Except for the occasional train passing far below and screeching eagles at eye level, the adjacent 208’ waterfall is about all guests can expect to hear from the North side rooms and balconies. We have four separate buildings conveniently located just off exit 62 of Interstate 84, on a natural basalt ledge just below the frontage road. The extra distance and terrain also help shelter some of our more economical South-side rooms from the road noise. This places us about 150’ above and a mile West of downtown traffic and almost two miles from the closest train whistle. Known as the Westcliff district and the Gateway to Columbia Gorge Wine Country, we have several great restaurants and a spa within easy walking distance. All of our rooms were built with special windows and insulation to minimize noise. Like most of our guests, you discovered that these extra soundproofing measures provide a peaceful night’s sleep. We hope you will return and try one of our cliff-side suites, with more space, a private balcony and full kitchen – perfect for extended stays.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

For the second consecutive year Columbia Cliffs Villas has provided the perfect setting for our company leadership group strategy meeting. The Penthouse is a beautifully furnished, welcoming space for "around the table" meetings, and has ample room for easels, projector screens, etc. The view of the gorge is spectacular. All the guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and well appointed. I could not have asked for better service from Tracy and the staff at Columbia Cliffs Villas, and I look forward to working with them on our next event!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy0430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Kathy0430,
Thanks for holding another leadership strategy retreat at CCV and especially for taking time to post your flattering review. Tracy’s team consistently does an outstanding job of helping event planners bring all the pieces together to provide an inspiring venue for memorable meetings. From dining and catering to spouse tours, transportation, and team building activities, they have all the contacts to simplify the process and assure maximum productivity and enjoyment. You might also be interested to know that we have recently added to our furnishings inventory, which will allow even more flexibility for meeting set ups. Whether you need board room, classroom, dining or just comfortable soft seating around the fireplace, we are now equipped to do just about any configuration in any of our seven meeting suites. We look forward to your next event.
Sincerely,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews