We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
432
128
59
23
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
128
59
23
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river pinnacle suite historic columbia the penthouse partial view aveda products french doors kite boarders master bedroom large walk in shower courtyard room gas fireplace wine tasting romantic getaway wonderful room close to town road noise
Filter
Updating list...
496 - 501 of 643 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We could not have picked a better hotel for our stay in Hood River. We listened to the other reviews and booked a river room. It was well worth it. The views were beautiful and worth every penny, wonder full to wake up and see. The bathroom was great and the shower huge. The staff was friendly and the room clean. This was a great place for all of our outings in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmc2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Imc2003,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and greatly appreciate your posting. Hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

No question the view from the riverfront villas is spectacular. The room itself is small but nicely appointed with a comfortable king size bed, quality sheets, towels and robes. The large shower was wonderful. The deck overlooking the river was barley big enough for the two of us to stand - no chairs would fit. Yes, there's a train that runs almost underneath the hotel but you hardly notice it. The staff was delightful and willing to go out of their way to make our stay pleasant. But really, the riverfront rooms are way over-priced at over $250 a night. Wish I had found a Groupon.

Room Tip: Try to bargain for a lower rate but if you can't stay in the riverview rooms find another hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nuwildcat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear nuwildcat65,
Thanks for all the compliments on your accommodations. I wish we could offer a room with like that for $150 but we do have several options in that price range throughout the winter and offer discounted Mt. Hood Meadows lift tickets and complimentary wine tastings to our guests. We also have several room options with large balconies and decks overlooking the river. TA readers should check the Accommodations page of our website for details, pictures and floor plans of our wide variety of rooms and suites.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

you cannot walk around the bed without moving a chair or tripping over it when it is dark. A room this size in NYC is expected. But in Hood River? For $160, one gets a claustrophobic closet next to the sounds of a major highway. For $300, much nicer overlooking the river. The girl at the desk was very nice. The landscaping very nice. The room is an insult.

Room Tip: Only if you are willing to spend $300. Otherwise forget it. Also note that Google has the wrong street address of this place. Right number, wrong street.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gerard1448804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Gerard, Thanks for staying with us. You chose one of our smaller Euro rooms that were designed with one bed to provide a comfortable, clean, well-appointed and competitive alternative to chain hotels. As you noted, we also offer a wide variety of rooms and suites in an equally wide price range. Our website provides details, pictures and scaled floor plans so guests can choose the best accommodations to suit their needs. While our larger view rooms start well below the figure you quoted, our economical Euro rooms have become very popular with the many active outdoor enthusiasts who frequent the Gorge - just seeking a good night's sleep between adventures. We hope you will return and try one of our many spacious alternatives.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I were married in January and live in the south so we wanted to spend a couple days in the snow, relaxing in Hood River for a couple days. We had purchased a voucher on Groupon for the stay and wine tastings. I absolutely recommend this hotel to stay. The room was roomy, clean and comfortable. Our room had a gas fireplace which we loved since we don't get to run fireplaces much in the south. We found the trip really relaxing and were not disappointed.

The one thing I do have to say is that the wine tasting we received with booking was a little deceptive. They gave us a pass which was good for wine tastings in the area. We found a few tasting rooms downtown and visited there. One of the attendants at those tasting rooms informed us that 3/4 of the wineries on our ticket were closed for the winter and did not have tasting rooms. This was not a huge concern for us considering we had other plans snowshoeing and not much time for wine tasting.

Room Tip: Our view didn't have a room, try to arrange a room with a view! The cliff is beautiful and would have really added to our stay.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMoodyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear AMoodyTraveler,
We were honored to play a role in your honeymoon last winter. Thanks for sharing your experience. We partner with several top award-winning Gorge wineries who honor our promotional certificates; a few of them have limited hours during the off-season. However, our guests will find some of the best are open year-around and many of our 40+ wineries are planning to expand hours this winter. We hope you will have the opportunity to join many of our honeymoon couples who often return for an anniversary to enjoy one of our Riverview rooms.
Best wishes!
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We decided to stay here because of the views and weren't disappointed. Truly fascinating views. The room was very nice in and of itself. You can hear the train, but it didn't really bother us. I couldn't hear the highway, but again we were on the river, and I really don't think I'd stay here again if I wasn't on the river. It is a mile or 2 down the highway to downtown Hood River, so keep that in mind. Nice outdoor seating area to wind down at night weather permitting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JACoppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear JACoppo,
Thanks for staying with us and sharing these positive comments. We hope you return and enjoy one of the several great restaurants and spa - all within easy walking distance. TA readers are encouraged to book early for best selection of view rooms or may prefer to save on lodging costs with one of our Euro rooms - and still enjoy the views from our outdoor seating areas. Our website provides details, pictures and floor plans of our wide variety of accommodations.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews