We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get town, great view but a young hotel experiencing some growing pains.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Get town, great view but a young hotel experiencing some growing pains.”
Reviewed 16 August 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here for almost a week in on the top floor of the river building facing east. The room has an incredible view and is well furnished. Our stay was marred by a sewer smell in our master closet. Since we were in town for our best friend's wedding all our clothes were in need of dry cleaning or washing. Though the unit is billed as a condo and has a place for a washer/dryer it was not installed which force my girlfriend who was commuting back to Portland for work to drop her dresses off at the cleaners and wash everything else during her breaks away from patients at her clinic. By the second day you could not walk in the room without a towel around your head.

Also on the second night we had left one window open in the kitchen... we had our double doors locked in the bedroom and so how the wind through the vent in the bathroom and window in kitchen rattled the doors open in the middle of night making me stand straight up in bed. We were told that it was our fault since we left a window open but placed rubber bumpers on all the door since they all rattled when closed in the condo.

Other issues we encountered: the ice machine was not I guess turned on, the fireplace in the living room didn't work, if two people used the double headed shower then the heat goes schitzo.

I left note on the door of the office with what were having trouble with which was still there by 11am and had to track someone down to get it fixed in-between wedding duties. When I tracked the office lady down she said she would send someone over. I waited in the room... he was very nice and looked at everything on the list.

Bottom line.. a new hotel with wrinkles still to be worked out. Not worth $600 a night for sure since there is another hotel on the same road for $60 a room a night with the same view. For a condo it needed to be fully equipted, half a role a paper towels, no washer/dryer, no pool or spa, staff seems to come a go on odd hours. For the billing they need to fix these issues and decide if they are a hotel or vacation rental in my opinion.

The real issue that made me stop my life on sunny Sunday to write this review was we were not even offered to get reimbursed for our dry cleaning or hassle... not much they can do for the train or rattling doors causing loss of sleep but it would have been nice for them to stand up to the trouble they caused us on busy week.

I do truly hope that they get their act together... it could be a stunning place and DO believe that our troubles were isolated to our room since all the other parties reported a good stay. Just don't expect a quick or thorough response when issues arise. Sill would recommend even though we went through all the hassles.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Phaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    89
    41
    19
    0
See reviews for
96
288
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, CO
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Seven of us (ranging in age from 2 to 67) stayed 4 nights here. The facilities were spacious, spotless and lovely. We enjoyed the large deck, the children's easel we found under the stairs and exploring the beautiful grounds of the historic Columbia Gorge Hotel (now closed) which adjoins the Villas.

The management and staff were extremely helpful and cooperative. We needed 2 roll a-ways, and because of nap time, flexible service.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 1Micke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We "happened" onto Columbia Cliffs online, and what a treasure! Here for a wedding, we had a beautiful one bedroom. Our friends booked a "house" to accommodate their 7 people, including two kiddos, and with the 100 degree weather, turned out to be a "hot" house disaster. They called to see if there was any room at the Cliffs. Tracy in the office juggled their nearly fully booked location around to get them in here. It turned out to be a fantastic plan. Not only is the Cliffs a gorgeous new location (villas to purchase too), it has the benefit of the incrdibly beautiful grounds of the old historic hotel next toor. Located directly on the "cliffs" of he Columbia, this is a prize. Don't miss it. Pay the extra and STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelcroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2009

The quality of this hotel/condo is superb. Add the views and city nearby and we were sad to stay only one night.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caflisch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at the Columbia Cliff Villas in Hood River. We needed some alone time and this was the perfect setting. The condo's were gorgeous and equipped with everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. It took us a while to adjust to all the space and the top flight decorating and amenities but we were able to struggle thru the transition into an upper echelon mindset with only a little effort. The views from our villa were spectacular. The surrounding grounds/gardens were beautifully maintained and worth the stroll. Hood River and the wine country (we did the fruit loop tour) were great fun with magnificent views and places to stop around every bend in the road. We had excellent in town dining experiences (best duck around) with deserts to die for. I can't recommend this place enough for a peaceful and romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElliottIowaCity_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

I've stayed in many places in my travels; however, this was THE BEST place so far. It worth every dollar you pay for it. Great location in proximity to nice restaurants in downtown Hood River (only minutes away), all major attaractions, quality of the brand new condos, views of the Gorge, and furnishings in rooms are top notch and definetely high end. If you're in the luxury, this place is for you. The management was very nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inspector62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

This is quite possibly the nicest hotel room we have ever stayed in...including the Four Seasons Maui. The rooms are very new and elegantly furnished with leather and nice dark woods. The bathrooms are beautiful with interesting sinks and faucets, double showers and nicely used tiles. The best part of the property, however, was the amazing views of the river. Our balcony opened directly onto the most expansive water view we have seen. The innkeeper was friendly and informative. I would definitely stay here again...especially after walking through downtown Hood River, which is loud and congested with few lodging options. We drove to town in about two minutes and were glad to have this beautiful place to return to. The pictures on their website accurately portray this property.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northwesttravels42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
0.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
724 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
190 reviews
17.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel

Property: Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
Address: 3880 Westcliff Dr, PO Box 887, Hood River, OR 97031-8710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wide variety of price points, from luxurious 1-3BR suites to charming Euro-style rooms, all furnished with robes, premium bedding and amenities. Most options offer breathtaking views of Columbia River Gorge from this cliff-edge settting 220' directly above world-famous windsuring sites. Stroll a short garden path to top of year-around waterfall to enjoy indoor & outdoor, fine and casual dining at adjacent restaurants or venture just one mile to take in the charm of downtown Hood River's boutique shopping, great restaurants, interesting wineries and brew pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Cliff Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing