We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views!”
Review of Westcliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westcliff Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Dearborn, Michigan USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great views!”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Have stayed here several times and enjoyed the quiet setting. Beautiful vistas of the Columbia River from Lodge grounds. Friendly staff with fresh coffee every morning. Reasonable pricing in this pricey tourist area.

Room Tip: Some smoking rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Thanks for your review, over time we hope to make even more improvements so your "3" can be a "5". Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    256
    64
    14
    9
See reviews for
198
323
50
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The room was spacious; reception was fast and friendly. This is an older "motor hotel" style property, so it's convenient being able to park in front of the room and unload bags without a long walk or stairs. But here's a tip: I booked a non-view room a couple of weeks in advance and the only option was a smoking room. I'm not a smoker, but I figured if it was clean with clean linens it could work. Well, it was clean (except for the carpet, my feet started to get dirty walking around after a shower) but it did smell strongly of stale cigarettes despite a clean ashtray and no other obvious sources of the smell. I suppose it gets into the paint, bedspreads, upholstery, etc. It was tolerable, but another time, confronted with the same choice, I'd pay the extra for a non-smoking view room.

Room Tip: Don't take a smoking room unless you're a smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2006VFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thanks for your review, we'll check out the carpet in those rooms; it is almost time for replacement. The building you were in was the first building built, completed in 1954. We agree it's nice to not have to walk a mile between your room and your car. We do have 2 rooms that are still 'smoking' rooms, 40 rooms that are non-smoking. In the summer especially, it helps to reserve a room well in advance to get the kind of room most preferred. If all we have left is a smoking room, we do let our guests know that fact as early as possible. We do try to get as much of that smoke scent out of the rooms as possible, and we always replace all linens daily. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, LA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I recently went on a trip with my husband and other family members to tour some of Oregon and northern California. The first day, after flying into Portland, we drove to Hood River to spend the night. We had reservations at the Vagabond Lodge and found it to be charming. The surroudings and the building we stayed in reminded me of summer camp in my childhood (that is if Cedar B Cabin at Tall Timbers had had private baths and a TV!) We stayed in one of the view rooms that had 2 queen beds and a balcony that looked out over the Columbia River. It was so pretty and so peaceful. We sat in the chairs on the deck balcony enjoying the cool air, the quiet and the view.

As others have said, this is not a luxury hotel, and doesn't pretend to be. But it is a very nice, clean, comfortable place to stay in Hood River. OH, and the fact that you don't get breakfast at this lodge is a big plus! And the reason is that you get to go to downtown Hood River for breakfast at Bette's Place. I think we all agreed that breakfast there was our favorite meal of the whole trip. (I'll review Bette's seperately, but go there and start by ordering the HUGE homemade cinammon roll.) Other places we ate were the 3 Rivers Grill, and the White Buffalo Wine Bar and Bistro. I recommend them as well.

So thanks, Vagaond Lodge, for a peaceful night's stay in Hood River.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandmartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thanks for your review, I did laugh a bit when you explained why we don't have our own restaurant / breakfast (there's so many great places to go!). Glad you enjoyed Bette's, and your stay. You are right, we are not a lux hotel (there's a couple more lux hotels next door to us), but we'll keep on upgrading our rooms and making things as nice as we can while still reminding you of Cedar B cabin. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This was our first trip to Hood River and after an internet search decided to stay at this hotel and was not disappointed. What a great place to stay. We had a "partial view" room and it was better than expected. We tend to choose hotels/motels with exterior doors and this one fit our need. The grounds are beautiful and the location was convenient. While this hotel is on the older side it is very well maintained and the room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the linens were new and fresh. There is a fridge and micro in every room. The woman at the front desk was pleasant and informative. If you are traveling to Hood River we would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Partial View Rooms and Full View Rooms (in three different buildings)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdblackandblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thanks for your review! The building you were in is one of our older ones (we opened in 1954), but we do like to keep them fixed up and update them as we can. We do have newer buildings as well, the most recent one being completed in 2002; we remodeled one from the studs last year. Glad we could be helpful and you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Not your run of the mill motel, the Vagabond is located right on the Columbia River with fabulous views and convenient to the entire gorge area. Rooms are clean and have everything you need, and there's a great breakfast place next door and a small wine bistro on the other side. Worth the stop, whether you're traveling through or hanging out for a long weekend.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubycat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thanks, we do try to not be a "run of the mill" place. We're going to be adding a few more unique features that we hope you also enjoy the next time you visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This is one of the very best places I've ever stayed. The view of the Columbia River is enormous, the price is very affordable, the people friendly. What more do you want? It is just out of town from the adorable, hip, and outdoorsy Hood River, and conveniently located to any number of sites to see in the area. We liked the drive through the historic old Columbia River highway, about 20 minutes away. Just next door, a wine-tasting shop called White Buffafo Wines. Lots of good wine, food, and music. Fun!

Room Tip: Just ask for a view, and a terrace, on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirkygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Thanks for your review, we'll try to keep earning your 'perfect spot' distinction (or better!). We'll let the White Buffalo Wine Bar & Bistro know you enjoyed their services too. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Our room was clean and comfortable. It has a great view of the Columbia river. It was nice to sit on the deck and watch the wind surfers on the river. We didn't have any problems with the internet while we were there. The one down side was not having a coffee maker in the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skypay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thanks for your review, and for the feedback about coffee makers. We do have them available at the office for free, and I am also looking into getting the little one-cup size ones as well for each room. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
189 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Property: Westcliff Lodge
Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing