We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Terrific Place to Relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westcliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westcliff Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Terrific Place to Relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

9/17-20/2011 We did a great deal of research via computer and phone contact before choosing this motel, and it turned out to be even better than we expected! Of course, this is an older establishment, but the room was clean, comfortable, and well maintained. Choose #63 for a tremendous view from your queen bed or balcony of the Columbia River and mountains of Washington State. The vanity is separate from the shower/head area, which I appreciate. The refrigerator was larger than the ordinary cube ones you get in motels. It also had a microwave. The table and chairs were positioned so that you could look out the window at the river while eating. The front desk ladies and housekeeper went out of their way to be helpful. Just to walk around the grounds was relaxing and quiet! You certainly can't beat this place for room rate and still get the amenities you desire!

Room Tip: Room #63 has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RustyMiller_052606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Thanks for your review! Glad we could be even more than you were expecting! We do prefer to keep our rates reasonable and fair and get items for the rooms that people enjoy using, like the larger fridges, but definitely let us know if there's anything additional you would like and we'll see if we can make it happen! Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    226
    57
    11
    8
See reviews for
163
272
44
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

My family spent two nights at the Vagabond Sept 22 and 23. We were very pleased with the rooms and the view. The rooms (51 and 52) were large and very clean. We enjoyed the balconies. The furniture-cherry wood- appeared new as did the lamps. A nice touch was two wine glasses in each room. We called the office about a glogged bath tub drain. Someone came to fix it within minutes.I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had rooms 51 and 52. We could hear footsteps from the units above us. If you select the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthbrookTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Thanks much, Pam does like to make sure guests have a couple wine glasses at the ready in case they sit out on the balcony with a bottle of wine from the bistro next door. We'll check the floating subfloor upstairs for sound, or see if it's heavy walking (like I do sometimes). Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

The manager is so pleasant and accomodating. She does everything she can to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. It's such an amazing value, I hate to let people in on my secret. Yes this is an older hotel, but very comfortable and clean, with nice personal touches. Even with a room with half a view, you will still be amazed with your view. The Best Western and Hood River Hotel have lovely rooms but are so loud from the train, you can't sleep. The Best Western even supply earplugs in each room. You won't have a noise problem at the Vagabond Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gointo_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thanks for your review! We do like to make sure everyone has a great stay with us, glad your was as well. Give us a call in advance anytime you'd like to visit, so we can reserve your room for you and keep being your secret spot! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadiz, Kentucky
Level Contributor
128 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Don’t let your first view of this motel scare you off. After passing the first unit, you will see how nicely the property is landscaped. They have a friendly staff, MW, fridge, and good WIFI. We had a partial view room which was a very nice size with a queen-size bed, table and chairs. It overlooked the Columbia River Gorge where we could view the windsurfers enjoying the “windsurfing capital of the world.” It was definitely a distant view, but still enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Thanks for your review; we do look small from the front! A lot of people who live in HR don't even know of the additional buildings we have in back by the cliff. The building you were in, if we could physically pick it up and move it closer to the cliff for an even better view we would! We will be putting together a couple more nice viewpoints in the meantime, so everyone can enjoy the view regardless of which room they are in. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Older motel but clean and nicely landscaped. Helped to have restaurants right next door. Had a nice dinner at the White Bear.

Room Tip: Paying extra for a River View is not worth the extra money in our opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyJack_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thanks for your review. If there's anything additional we should do so your stay is even more than pleasant if you visit us again, please feel free to let me know or call our office. We'll keep improving our rooms, and always like the feedback. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, VA.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Loved this place! We were next door to the Historic Columbia River Hotel, and probably paid half the price for the same view! We had a very large room with a very comfortable bed and a nice balcony to sit and watch the river flow by. They were nice enough to give us an early checkin, and we stayed till the very last minute of checkout. Didn't want to leave. It was so relaxing. They had a frig and microwave too. highly recommend!

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for a room with a view of the river! You will be so glad you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thanks for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed every minute (literally!), especially the view from balcony. If you visit us again in winter, the view is nice during or just after a nice snow when everything is hushed. It's best bundled up on the balcony with a coffe / cocoa / spiced cider. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, NV
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This isn't the newest of lodges, but the location beats ALL. It's right on the cliff overlooking the Gorge and the location, quiet, but location close to everything is fabulous. We were here for an epic wedding next door, but will come back whenever we can!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the upper floors with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kandnico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thanks for your review! Our little group of people are what make our place into what it is. Glad you had a great stay, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.2 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Property: Westcliff Lodge
Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing