We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westcliff Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn(Hood River)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$132
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River(Hood River)(Great Value!)
US$128
Hampton.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Hood River)
US$112
US$108
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hood River Hotel(Hood River)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Columbia Gorge Hotel(Hood River)(Great Value!)
US$180
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Motel 6 The Dalles(The Dalles)
US$73
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (935)
Filter reviews
937 results
Traveller rating
519
309
78
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
309
78
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolumbia riverpicnic tableswhite buffaloriver viewview roomnewer buildingwind surfersthe cliffqueen bedlarge roombit datedshort driveshower headfire pitclean roomswould stay againcoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
700 - 705 of 937 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have stayed here three times and love the serenity. The grounds are well kept and many of the rooms have great views of the Columbia River. The rooms need a little updating but are comfortable. Easy access to Hood River and nearly everything else in the Gorge.

Room Tip: The suites have a great view and plenty of room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thanks for your review! We agree, and are updating the rooms right now. The new solid wood, local, hand-built furniture is going to start coming in this week, and we'll do more updating through winter. Hope you approve of the updates next time you visit! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Fun family-owned property--like something from an earlier era. Loved the cozy, clean room and fantastic view. Swings and toys for kids were a hit with our little ones. Pleasant staff and attractive grounds (some revamping underway, but will be even nicer next year). We've driven by this place for years and never realized how nice it is! Be sure to pick a view room if one is available, preferably upstairs. (We stayed on the ground floor, so we didn't have to worry about our excited little kids driving the other guests crazy!) Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebjo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thanks for your review! Yep, my grandparents built the first building and opened in '54, and we'll keep making improvements to share with all our guests. We're going to build a small treehouse sometime as well, after we get the other things done, so the kids will have another thing in the courtyard! Glad you had a great stay, and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is a great little motel located on the Columbia River with spectacular views. The room itself was cleaner than any I've stayed in, including the higher end chains. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had a lovely room with a balcony with views of the Columbia River in a peaceful, quiet woodsy setting. Such a lovely setting and truly a hidden gem!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room - you'll love it!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peanutbrutal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you for your review, glad you had a great stay! We'll share your kind words with the housekeepers; they do a great job. We'll keep making things even better with more improvements. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a little mom and pop hotel that is kept immaculate. Everything was spic and span. Had a great room with a view of the Hood River. Very quiet and peaceful with a woodsy setting watching birds in the trees and windsurfers sailing by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay! Our housekeepers do take great care in cleaning each room, I'll let them know to keep up the great work. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I have been spoiled by work with some pretty nice, big city hotels, and have become a little picky. This has the feel of a mom and pop motel, which totally worked for me. The rooms were not particularly fancy, but were clean and well kept. We spent an extra few bucks to get a room with a balcony...totally worth it. We didn't arrive until 1am, and the folks who live on the property kindly accommodated our very late arrival. We arrived in darkness and woke up to the most beautiful view outside our room. I would totally stay here again. BONUS...they had a dog on the property!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeamoLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your review! We'll always be pet friendly; they're members of the family too. Glad you had a nice time with us, we'll have some brand new nice stuff for you to check out next time you visit us. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews