We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westcliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westcliff Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel was great. It was very nice and quiet and I had a room with a beautiful view of the river. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were better than the ones I have at home. The staff was very friendly. The bathroom was a wonderful shower. The room was very clean. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river, they are quieter and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for your review! We're fans of doing things the right way (pillows, shower for example), so it's good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again and you enjoy improvements we'll keep making. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    228
    57
    11
    8
See reviews for
164
272
46
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Definitely worth getting an upgrade to avoid the noise from the freeway and the smoke from the nicotine afflicted. Loved the house plants in the room, the shower stalls, the organic bath products, and the setting. Look forward to returning for another stay [in a view room] when the grounds are spruced up and the furnishings updated.

Room Tip: Choose a view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dr_hoople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thanks for your review! We're leveling out the topsoil in back now and will plant grass and wildflower seed soon as it's ready, plus more new furniture being built. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condon, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

I stay at the Vagabond every Friday night for work. It is such a relief when I check into my room. Staff are friendly and helpful. The room is clean and well appointed with lamps and stands on BOTH sides of the bed, a desk, table and chairs, easy chair, microwave and frig. Little things like the thriving house plant make it feel homey. There is only a shower (in the cheapest room where I stay) but I'll live. It is tiled and feels "substantial" especially with the wide shower head. A nice grade of shampoo etc. is in the room. The ice for this room is down near the office in a "home spun" sort of arrangement, but the ice is plentiful so I don't mind.

The great part is that from the back window, I can see the park like area between the widely spaced buildings. Old growth trees, picnic tables, and playground give it a park like feel. Some of the more expensive rooms (only up to $125 a night) have stunning views of the Columbia Gorge.

They are currently building an additional building with 15 rooms because of demand.

Room Tip: For a few dollars more, ask for a room with a view of the Columbia Gorge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie92959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thanks for your review, and thanks for your high compliment of us being your home away from home! We'll do our best to live up to that, and we'll keep making improvements so each stay is more comfortable. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TACOMA WA.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here in August and we were very impressed by the views of the Colombia River from the room we stayed in. I had stayed at this motel several years ago and was pleased to see that the owners have seen fit to upgrade the rooms. This a very sound value in a area that is not known for reasonable rates because of the various tourist activities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TacomaWa_Webby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thanks much for your review, glad you like the updating! We are putting in some now furniture right now too, and will continue to update things. Hope you approve next time you visit! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was an excellent value! The room was spacious. The Views were spectacular!
We sat on our patio and watched two bald eagles in a nearby tree. We walked the grounds and picked fresh blackberries, which we ate on our morning granola, while we watched a rainstorm, and then a rainbow on the Colombia Riiver.
Also the hotel is family owned!

Room Tip: ask for a second floor room looking out at the Colombia River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fuchsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thanks much for your review! Those bald eagles nest on the cliff, glad you got to see them! Yes, family owned from the start ('54), and we'll keep making improvements. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern, Ontario
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

The Lodge has Highway rooms, partial river view rooms and full river view rooms. The room we chose had a partial view of the Columbia River. As far as we were concerned, it had a full view of the Columbia River. I would not pay the extra for the full river view, if your stay is short.The grounds in front of our room were lovely and the rear grounds on the river side will be lovely, but are currently under going landscaping changes. There are some picnic tables and I think the Vagabond Lodge's grounds would be a lovely place to relax.
The room was a nice size and well thought out for travellers, with a nice size table for a take out meal. The rooms were neat and the staff were friendly and helpful.
We would have enjoyed a longer stay here.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BSCSkiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thanks for your review, we hope you enjoy the redone grounds when they're ready (soon)! There will be more wildflowers, more picnic tables, and nice open spaces for guests to enjoy the views. Give us a call anytime you visit and we'll try to reserve your favorite room for you! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We showed up late past midnight after experiencing some live music in Hood River. The front desk was friendly, quick, and very helpful. We were given a clean room that was inexpensive, we left the key on the table in the morning and that was all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DocW543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thanks, glad you had a nice night on the town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.2 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Property: Westcliff Lodge
Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing