We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a nice clean comfortable and friendly place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Westcliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westcliff Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Washington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Just a nice clean comfortable and friendly place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I was in Hood River for work. We perform maintenance and testing on Cellular Sites all over the Northwest. This place was minutes from our project site. I really like this place. It is not fancy or pretentious. Its not a place that tries to be more than it is. They keep a clean comfortable room with plenty of towels and amenities. Plenty of hot water for the shower. Comfortable beds. I will stay here anytime I am working or playing in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in the single story building at the back are quieter and have really great views of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjaminConant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your review, I'll let the girls know that you appreciate what they do! We'll keep making improvements, plus we hope you like our new building when it opens this spring (same price as the building you were in). Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    237
    60
    12
    8
See reviews for
177
288
47
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Vagabond was a great place to stay on our trip through the Columbia Gorge. This place is a great value for a comfortable night's sleep. There's nothing fancy here...just a place to lay your head before heading down the road. Great shower with lots of hot water. We were upgraded to a river view room which we couldn't actually enjoy until the following morning. It was too cold to stay outside long. I'll bet it's a great place to hang out in warmer weather. Parking was right outside our room which I appreciate for easy unload/load the vehicle. I recommend staying on the river side of the motel to avoid freeway noise.

Room Tip: Request a river side room to avoid traffic noise from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsydoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thanks much for your review; you'll have to come visit when the weather warms up a touch so you can enjoy the view and outside a bit more! The grass and wildflowers are seeded and should transform the back of the property come spring, and we will keep making upgrades. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed at the Vagabond twice this summer with family and friends and was thrilled to find such a warm welcoming place. It can be a challenge at times to travel with pets and the Vagabond makes it so easy. They charge a minimal fee for pets, compared to most "pet friendly" hotels and their beautiful grounds and river walks are amazing, they even provide the poop bags! Do let them know ahead of time you have a pet, which helps them to place your room in the closest building to the pet area. The comfort and cleanliness of their room was also a bonus, no "pet room" smells. My second visit required some room adjustment on arrival and was taken care of immediately and with a "no problem" attitude. The rooms are very comfortable, and the suites were spacious, have refrig and microwave, big fireplace and waking up in the morning with that river view was everything we wanted for such a reasonable price. This our new home when visiting Hood River.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms in the pet area side (west side) have a fabulous river view. Also very quite wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridget O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thanks much for your review! Yep, we think that it shouldn't be a huge burden to bring your pet along on a trip; they are part of the family too! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condon, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

This is more than a roadside motel! With lush, tree-covered areas between the buildings & views of the river (except in the front building) this is a great place to stay for an overnight or more when in Hood River.

The room had a lodgy, rustic feel but with all amenities. There is no tub which my wife dislikes but if a good shower with hot water is all you need, this is fine. Some of the furniture is a little old but everything functions as it should. Oh, and it's dog friendly.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TIMGRAVES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thanks for your review! A couple of our buildings do have showers (not the usual tub enclosure), but our 3-story building does have tubs, as will our new courtyard building. Please do remind us and next time we'll reserve a room with a tub! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

In all the times I have stayed at the Vagabond over the years, I am always amazed by the beauty and tranquility of the grounds. It is very much like a park with benches, picnic tables, shady trees, flowers, and huge boulders. Try to visit in the autumn when the leaves are in their golden or fiery splendor.
Then, of course, there is the spectacular view of the Gorge. Three of the hotel's buildings hug the cliff above the river. If you stay in one of these rooms, you will be drawn to sit by the window and just soak in your surroundings. There is always something to see: a tug on the river, birds, a long freight train across the river... The TV in the room is not a flat screen, but you probably won't be watching TV anyway, since there is so much else to look at right outside your window!
On my last visit, I found the bed to be comfortable; I slept better than I do at home. And the room was quiet! Even though the hotel was quite full, I did not hear any of my neighbors until mid-morning when I heard the faint sound of water running. The bathroom was very clean and the water pressure was good. I appreciated the rainfall showerhead. Even the coffee in the room was good.
On one side of the hotel is the Charburger which serves a pretty decent breakfast, and on the other side sits the historic Columbia River Gorge Hotel. It is a great place to go for a drink in the evening. With its extremely reasonable prices and superb location, the Vagabond is definitely a great value!

Room Tip: Unless it's just a quick overnight stop, select a river view room--much quieter and the view can...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Gayle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thanks for your review! Glad you enjoy staying with us. We'll keep fixing the grounds, and have plans to get some flat screen TVs. And we will continue to make the grounds even better so it will always be a nice, serene place. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel was great. It was very nice and quiet and I had a room with a beautiful view of the river. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were better than the ones I have at home. The staff was very friendly. The bathroom was a wonderful shower. The room was very clean. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river, they are quieter and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for your review! We're fans of doing things the right way (pillows, shower for example), so it's good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again and you enjoy improvements we'll keep making. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Definitely worth getting an upgrade to avoid the noise from the freeway and the smoke from the nicotine afflicted. Loved the house plants in the room, the shower stalls, the organic bath products, and the setting. Look forward to returning for another stay [in a view room] when the grounds are spruced up and the furnishings updated.

Room Tip: Choose a view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dr_hoople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thanks for your review! We're leveling out the topsoil in back now and will plant grass and wildflower seed soon as it's ready, plus more new furniture being built. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.2 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Property: Westcliff Lodge
Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing