We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic and wonderful”
Review of Westcliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westcliff Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed in this charming lodge last night and loved it. The room and surroundings made me feel like we were vacationing in a cabin in the woods. The décor was welcoming and the little touches really made the place. The staff was very friendly and made us feel right at home. I would gladly stay again. Oh, and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 906christie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thanks for your review! One thing my family has always done with the property is keep it as natural as we can with native trees and flowers throughout the grounds for guests to enjoy. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we'll keep doing those little touches everywhere. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Two nights on trip touring Oregon. Great value, clean, basic motel. Had large, two bed room overlooking river. Earplugs recommended as trains pass through frequently at bottom of hill that lodge overlooks. If staying in rooms on front, seems they would catch the road noise. Very pleased for price paid.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank sammywv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thanks much for your review! Typically there's much less train noise, sorry they ran loud that night. We're continuing to improve the property and rooms as well; thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was my second stay at the Vagabond and my stay was just as comfortable as the last time. I made my reservation the day before and was greeted by a friendly receptionist who allowed me to select from several rooms. She offered to give us a tour prior to selecting our room which we did. My last visit was in the original motel building. This time, we stayed in a much larger room on the main floor of a two story building. The room was comfortably appointed with a king bed, pub table and chairs, big windows overlooking the Columbia River and a nice bathroom. The nightly rates are extremely reasonable and the location convenient.

Room Tip: I prefer the river-side rooms. I've read complaints about traffic noise, but haven't ever no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Betsydoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thanks for your review! Our non-view, classic rooms up front get some traffic noise, but the back of the property is nice and quiet. Glad you enjoyed the River View room, we'll keep making upgrades and improvements as well! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We hesitated in making reservations here knowing it was an older hotel, I read several reviews and decided to go ahead a book a night. We were very pleasantly surprised!! The outside is obviously dated but our room was awesome! The view couldn't have been better! The room was spotless, size was awesome and the location was perfect! We don't need new and modern, we prefer clean and friendly and that's exactly what you get here! We actually booked a return trip upon check out and are excited to return during he summer months! We highly recommend this hotel and have already told our friends about it! The staff was so helpful and so friendly!

Room Tip: the 3 story building to the right will get you the closest to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thanks much for your review! Yep, we've been here since 1954, but will keep updating any making even more improvements! Our newest building will be complete in about 3 weeks, and will be open soon. Thanks so much for your kind words, everyone is glad you had a great time. See you in the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just wish the suites with decks had a king size bed in the living room area - we would gladly pay more for this addition. Whenever we get the urge to go to Hood River, we always consider Vagabond Lodge first because it is so affordable but then opt for Hood River Inn because they have king beds in their new east wing that also have balconies overlooking the river. BIG DIFFERENCE IN PRICE THOUGH. Vagabond's office personnel are extremely helpful and helped us discover what is our now favorite restaurant in Hood River - Divots at the Indian Creek Golf Course - even though we do not golf. Please consider changing the queen bed in the living room area so we can visit Hood River more often.

Room Tip: River view with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeDee45210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thanks for your review! Yes, we are looking at changing those to kings, it's just a matter of time. We'll get the new headboards built and plan to switch things over when all the pieces are here. It is on the furniture builder's schedule and hopefully we'll have that done this summer or fall. Glad to hear you have a great time when you visit, thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I planned to spend one night here on my way through Oregon. The weather turned horrible and I ended up being stranded here for 4 days. The staff was great, very accommodating. The room was very nice, clean and quiet with a great view of the river. They are very dog friendly, with pick-up stations located near each building. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thanks for your review! We do our best to make things comfortable, even if the weather turns to a little winter storm. Thanks again, stop by anytime you're back in the area again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Wow it's a cozy clean beautiful place to stay with a great view and the price is reasonable. I would highly recommend staying here! The staff was friendly and very helpful. The coolest thing was the wine glasses sitting on the desk very romantic. Can't wait to come back this summer!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thanks much for your review! There's such nice wine up here, it's great to sit out overlooking the river with a bottle to share in the evening. Hopefully the eagles fly by for you when you visit in the summer; thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
0.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hood River
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.2 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
348 reviews
16.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: £65 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing