We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation Value with View”
Review of Westcliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westcliff Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We enjoyed our river view from room w balcony and from the counter height chairs/table inside. Very helpful staff pointed out a lovely wooded path leading west to stunning Columbia vistas; they also provided a secure place for our bikes.
This is a hidden gem accessed by a road parallel to I-84 (just west of the historic Columbia Gorge Hotel). Our room on the north edge of the park-like property was surprisingly quiet. Our bed was comfortable.
This is an excellent base to explore Hood River, The Dalles, Mary Hill Museum, Stonehenge, bike the Mosier Tunnels, hike Columbia Gorge trails, etc.

Room Tip: Riverside! Rooms in the east building have balconies. Upper floors have best views. If you can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CascadeSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thanks for your review! Hopefully the bike path along the historic highway will finish construction soon, and people can enjoy a great bike ride up from Portland. Glad you had a great time and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

After a long drive from Southern California...almost home to Montana, this traveler just could NOT drive another mile! Happened upon the Vagabond Lodge and was pleasantly surprised. Nothing real FANCY but the bed was comfy enough, the grounds were wonderful, the view from the room was nice and I would recommend this Lodge to anyone. Staff was very accommodating and I give them FIVE STARS!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review! Glad you had a great stop on your drive; we will continue to make improvements around the grounds and in the rooms. And thanks so much for the compliment; we do have a great group of 5-star people here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Vagabond Lodge resides just outside of central Hood River and offers a variety of comfortable room options that include private balconies with quiet and pleasant views of the Columbia River. Their grounds include a small park for kids and doggie area. It’s a great place to stay if you plan to visit Hood River and Mt. Hood. In fact, you’ll enjoy a much more scenic and pleasant drive to the Timberline Lodge on Mt. Hood from here than you would if you drive straight from Portland to Mt. Hood, which is a far more commercial route. While you’re staying at the Vagabond, drop by the White Buffalo (next door) for dinner and occasional live music.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thanks much for your review! Highway 35 to Mt Hood is definitely a great drive, plus all the waterfalls along the way to hike to. We've done a bit of work to our place since your stay with us last summer, so we hope you'll stop by next time you're in Hood River. We're also partnering more with the White Buffalo on additional (and exclusive) services for our guests! Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed in this charming lodge last night and loved it. The room and surroundings made me feel like we were vacationing in a cabin in the woods. The décor was welcoming and the little touches really made the place. The staff was very friendly and made us feel right at home. I would gladly stay again. Oh, and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 906christie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thanks for your review! One thing my family has always done with the property is keep it as natural as we can with native trees and flowers throughout the grounds for guests to enjoy. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we'll keep doing those little touches everywhere. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Two nights on trip touring Oregon. Great value, clean, basic motel. Had large, two bed room overlooking river. Earplugs recommended as trains pass through frequently at bottom of hill that lodge overlooks. If staying in rooms on front, seems they would catch the road noise. Very pleased for price paid.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank sammywv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thanks much for your review! Typically there's much less train noise, sorry they ran loud that night. We're continuing to improve the property and rooms as well; thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was my second stay at the Vagabond and my stay was just as comfortable as the last time. I made my reservation the day before and was greeted by a friendly receptionist who allowed me to select from several rooms. She offered to give us a tour prior to selecting our room which we did. My last visit was in the original motel building. This time, we stayed in a much larger room on the main floor of a two story building. The room was comfortably appointed with a king bed, pub table and chairs, big windows overlooking the Columbia River and a nice bathroom. The nightly rates are extremely reasonable and the location convenient.

Room Tip: I prefer the river-side rooms. I've read complaints about traffic noise, but haven't ever no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Betsydoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thanks for your review! Our non-view, classic rooms up front get some traffic noise, but the back of the property is nice and quiet. Glad you enjoyed the River View room, we'll keep making upgrades and improvements as well! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We hesitated in making reservations here knowing it was an older hotel, I read several reviews and decided to go ahead a book a night. We were very pleasantly surprised!! The outside is obviously dated but our room was awesome! The view couldn't have been better! The room was spotless, size was awesome and the location was perfect! We don't need new and modern, we prefer clean and friendly and that's exactly what you get here! We actually booked a return trip upon check out and are excited to return during he summer months! We highly recommend this hotel and have already told our friends about it! The staff was so helpful and so friendly!

Room Tip: the 3 story building to the right will get you the closest to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thanks much for your review! Yep, we've been here since 1954, but will keep updating any making even more improvements! Our newest building will be complete in about 3 weeks, and will be open soon. Thanks so much for your kind words, everyone is glad you had a great time. See you in the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.2 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
339 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: £69 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing