We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Immaculate Grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Westcliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westcliff Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Immaculate Grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights in early August. Room was comfortable, view was great for that particular part of the river. Very quiet. Couldn't get over how beautiful the grounds themselves were. Easy drive to do the fruit loop or Hood River. Nice place to take it easy.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelinglizardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks for your review and compliments of the grounds; Ramon and Jarren do great work! We're going to make even more enhancements to them, especially along the cliff. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    236
    60
    12
    8
See reviews for
174
288
47
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mead, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were a bit leary upon entering the office as things looked more than a bit dated, like "a blast frrom the past." However, we had rooms located in what they called the "stacks" and though we had the lower level, I thought the view of the river and surrounding grounds ( that include a short hiking trail) was very nice. I think that the 2nd and 3rd floors would have even better views. We did drive into town to eat and walk around, but wanted to do that anyway. We had a small microwave and fridge. We went here because the hotel we had been to before was full and this was recommended. For the price, and the roomy, adequate and clean room with a view, I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the Columbia River in a new building on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dirkskm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thanks for your review! Yes, our front building and office is about all guests can see from the road, built by my grandparents back in '54. We have plans for updating the front, as well as more work around the property. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The rooms are clean and large. Just not fancy. It is a motel. Ask for a room in the building along the river and the top floor. Balcony overlooks the whole area. Beautiful view.
Convenient to all the activities in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shein2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thanks for your review, glad you had a nice time with us. We'll keep updating so each stay is better than the last one; thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed there with family while in the area to attend a wedding. The rooms we had were fairly new and very clean. They came with a mini coffee maker, small frig (no freezer compartment and I never did locate the ice machines) and a very small microwave. That was the extent of the amenities. There was no hot tub, pool, or even river access which us supposedly part of their "charm" They are not close to much in the way of entertainment, or eating, although there is a small Bistro in front of them. We were not impressed by their menu. I would not stay there again, too high priced for what they offered.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Coloradoluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thanks for your review, sorry we couldn't offer everything you were looking for. We can't access the river from where we are because we're on top of a 200 foot cliff overlooking the river. There is an access road down at the end of our street, as well as the new Riverfront Park toward downtown. There are 3 restaurants next door to us to choose from: White Buffalo, Charburger, and Simon's Cliff House. We would like to earn back your trust if you are staying in the area, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The complex is on a surprisingly large treed property adjacent to the Colombia Gorge Hotel, so you get all the benefits of the views for half the price.

The rooms were a little dated, but very clean and comfortable and had fridge and microwave to make up for it. You are a little ways out of town here so you'll need to plan on driving. I'm glad we didn't find anything in town for this trip though, the hotel gave us both sides of town and country for our weekend vacation.

We upgraded to a room with a view ($140/night) due to multiple night availability. I wouldn't upgrade for the sake of the view next time though, the property is big and accommodating enough that you'll be able to enjoy the scenery regardless.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed the view and the grounds! We're upgrading things as well, so each stay is better than the last. It's always great to hear from our guests about these too: it helps us make the right upgrades for our guests to enjoy! Thanks again and see you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We took a chance after reading reviews on the location of this lovely little motel. It reminded me of the places my family stayed at when I was a kid as we travelled from CA to Tx. No frills just funky and cool little rooms right near the cliff overlooking the gorge. Like staying at a families summer house ... Nothing pretencious here. We liked it so much we stayed an extra nite and postponed our trip to the coast. The view and the laid back feeling coupled with super clean rooms made our stay more than comfortable.
Miss it already so we will be back! Oh yes.. The staff is super friendly and helpful and shared fruit from their garden with us.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for your review! Yep, we go have a very special spot in the gorge, and love sharing it with our guests. Glad you enjoyed staying with us; give us a call when you plan on stopping by again and we'll reserve a favorite room for you! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umatilla, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stumbled upon this place and was very pleased with what we found. Although it seemed a little dated it was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The view outside the window looking down into the Columbia River was awesome. We also enjoyed seeing the beautiful flowers and the park-like setting. They were pet friendly and we loved having a comfortable place for us as well as for our little Molly. So much better than the large cooperate places we are used to staying at.

Room Tip: We were in the older building but worth staying there to have the view of the river and beautiful fl...
See more room tips
Green Features: Like the park-like setting in the front and back of our building.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondLodge, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks much for your review! We're updating rooms as we go, and will keep making things nicer and nicer for our guests. We'll have more wildflowers coming up next spring as well. Glad you and Molly enjoyed staying with us and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.2 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Property: Westcliff Lodge
Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing