We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds overlooking Columbia River”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Westcliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westcliff Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
199 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds overlooking Columbia River”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2006

The hotel is situated on the banks of the Columbia River. We had a riverside room with a private balcony. Trees between our room and the river partially blocked the view but it didn't keep us from enjoying the boats and water skiiers. Room was spacious, sink separate from bathroom, very clean. Motel surrounded by gardens. Helpful staff.

If you're up to walking lots of steps, the Horse Feather Pub has really good food at reasonable prices. Also recommend the Egg Harbor Cafe for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Elphaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    237
    60
    12
    8
See reviews for
177
288
47
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2005

I stayed at the Vagabond Lodge for two nights and enjoyed myself very much. The room was clean, there was a nice view of the Columbia River and the property was conveniently located to I-84 for a quick jaunt into town or neighboring Cascade Locks. I highly recommend the Vagabond - and when plans for my trip changed later bringing me back into the area for whitewater rafting, I called and stayed here and drove an hour into Maupin rather than staying closer because I thought so much of my last stay.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2004

Stayed in a small riverview room for two nights over Labor Day weekend. Small riverview room with one queen bed is an older motel style room, stand up shower without tub, rooms in this building need remodeling. In the morning, central vac sound was loud in our room, as air was being sucked through central vac inlet. Staff was friendly, no major problems, but I won't be back. Would suggest anyone looking at this for a vacation be particular with the management to understand which room you are getting. Building next door with larger rooms and suites for families is much nicer.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2004

Did a long weekend trip through the Columbia River Gorge and through the reviews on this board, booked the Vagabond Lodge in Hood River, Oregon.
At first, we thought, "Oh God", but after getting into our room, we pleasantly surprised. It is a 'ma and pa' kind of place, not a chain. We had asked for a room in the 'newer section' and for $94 got a 2 room suite with a fridge and coffee pot. We were on the 3rd (top floor) and were equal to the tops of the trees. Had a terrific view of the Columbia River.
Would stay there again, as long as it was in the new section.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank debbieinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2003

We were there in September 2003. Stayed in a lovely 2nd floor suite: one bedroom, huge living room with gas fireplace, refrig and microwave, and large balcony. Hated to leave our magnificent view even for meals! $91 per night was real bargain for this sort of accommodation.

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2003

We were there in 95 and came back in 96. Great location. Clean rooms.
Great setting. A trip doesn't have to break your budget! We've recommended lots of friends. Just did again today!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2003

My wife and I stayed at the Vagabond on our honeymoon. We have returned every year. The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly, and the views of the river are awesome! We bring binoculars every time we go. This hotel is definately worth the drive. There is some wonderful stuff around, but for us staying in the room is exciting enough.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.2 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Property: Westcliff Lodge
Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing