We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little things do make an impact”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Westcliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westcliff Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Yakima, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little things do make an impact”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2006

The room (64) was large and comfortable. Nice view of the river from the balcony. The furnishings are adaquate but the rug IS horribly stained from wall to wall. The bathroom area is small (you have to stand to the side of the toliet to shut the door) the sink is on outside of the toliet/tub area. There are really no in-room amenities, no alarm clock or coffee maker. The front desk has instant drinks (coffee, cocoa, tea)and glass cups you can carry back to your room.

  • Liked — The view of the river
  • Disliked — The size and layout of the bathroom
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike&Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    236
    60
    12
    8
See reviews for
174
288
47
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2006

Despite the fact that this motel is right next to I-84, you'd never know it if you have one of the rooms facing the river as we did. Our room was large, clean, and we loved having a balcony where we could sit and watch the activity on the river.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Book a room with a river view
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
436 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2006

Don't be scared off by the roadside sign! The room was actually quite large, clean, beds were very comfortable and the balcony overlooked the Columbia River Gorge with great views.
The Columbia Gorge Hotel next door has a 7 course brunch, expensive and quite good and there is also a Charburger Country for cheap, quick meals. Would definitely stay here again, liked the room better than my friend's at the Columbia Gorge Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mdgipsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2006

We loved the Vagabond Lodge!! Our room was quiet, clean, comfortable, and enormous. We were in the very back of the property, with a balcony looking out on the Columbia. We debated spending the few extra dollars for the view room, but we're SO glad we did! Sitting on the balcony after dark and watching the lights from the trains across the river...getting up to watch the windsurfers zipping by in the morning...that alone was worth the price! I can only think that there must be a big variation in the quality of the rooms in different parts of the hotel, judging by the wide differences of opinion here. But we'd go back in a heartbeat, and we'll ask for room 51 again!

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — no internet connection
  • Tips/Secrets — get a room in the back, with a balcony looking out on the river (we had room 51 and it was lovely)
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MsMaryMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Vagabond Lodge for one night at the end of our week long Oregon vacation. The room was spacious and clean, but the view of the Columbia River and the windsurfers was fantastic. Oddly enough, the room had no clock whatsoever! There was a mini-fridge and a nice balcony to enjoy the great breeze, though. At around $90 a night it's a bit pricy, but the view was worth it. There seemed to be inexpensive motel options in and around Hood River for the traveler on a budget and the Vagabond Lodge did advertise a $49/night room on their flashing sign out front. The place is convienently located as well, just right off of I-84, but being in the back of the hotel complex we heard no highway noise. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly and I would gladly stay here again.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The lack of a clock
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archaeosteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2006

We have returned here every July during cherry season for 8 yrs. We started out in the little bungalow rooms at the front of the property, and then graduated to the river view balcony rooms in the newer section. This year, we took some elderly family members who shared one of the apt-style suites. We didn't even know they existed! They are hidden back on the property behind the office. We love the down-home feel of this place - the older rooms, friendly staff, beautiful gardens. And we also enjoy walking thru the fancy gardens next door! We recommend this place over & over again - great value for a wonderful cozy place. Not the Ritz - but then, who needs that????

  • Liked — The down-home coziness of the facilty
  • Disliked — No swimming pool
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HPYKMPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Vagabond after reviewing good on-line reviews. We were very disappointed and felt mislead/ripped off. The carpet in the room was gross with stains - we wore shoes at all times - the a/c window unit was old and noisey (but worked okay), and although we had a nice view of the river, the balcony looked liked it hadn't been cleaned or used for a long time -had cob webs and an old tacky plastic chair. The dated 70's style decor and all mentioned above did not make for a romantic enjoyable stay. This is more of a Motel 6 type place and should be charging as such, or clean up their act (this potentially could be an awesome place with some major room rehab and upgrades). Unfortunately we discovered the quaint town of Mt. Hood the next day, approx. couple miles south of the lodge, where we would have preferred to stay and know about.

  • Liked — River view, being close to the river
  • Disliked — Not clean, dated, tacky decor
  • Tips/Secrets — Check out downtown Hood River - cute place
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.2 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Property: Westcliff Lodge
Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing