We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive Motel with a Million Dollar View!”
Review of Westcliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westcliff Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Inexpensive Motel with a Million Dollar View!”
Reviewed 21 January 2007

I booked this motel due to the great reviews of others and wasn't disappointed! This motel is located right next to one of the most expensive hotels in the area (which I stayed in about 8 years ago) and I liked this place better!! The view was better, the room was huge, the bathroom was convenient and it had a great balcony. (Be sure to get a balcony with a river view - you will not regret it!!!) This was our last city on our road trip and the motel welcomed you to take all the ice you needed for your cooler each day. I'm really glad we had 2 nights to enjoy. It's very conveniently located and away from all the highway noise.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No elevator
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BARB S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    277
    67
    18
    11
See reviews for
237
349
52
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Weber, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Vagabond a couple of years ago during the summer and had an amazing time watching the wind surfers. This time we were there in November and we didn't know if we would need a *view room* but decided to go ahead. We were so glad we did! The view from the balcony is amazing, no matter what time of year. We sat and had a beer (that was cold from being in our mini-fridge in the room) and watched the birds land on the river. The Vagabond is not super close to town, it is on the river. It is not super expensive, but it does share the same view as the Gorge, which is high $$$$. The people are pleasant, the view is amazing and the price just can't be beaten. I would recommend this over many other hotels. My husband and I went to Hood River, just to stay at this hotel. It will always be on our lists of stops.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank SurprisingWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2006

The Vagabond Lodge offers three seperate levels of accomodations. The cheapest rooms are old-fashioned budget motel-style rooms that face the freeway. The intermediate rooms are similar to the cheap ones, but are located at the back of the property and have a view of the the river. (The view is pretty.) The most expensive lodgings also look out on the Columbia, but are located in a newer muti-story building. I stayed in one of the intermediate rooms, based on information from the desk clerk that these were quieter than the cheapies. I was dubious at first, because freight trains run all day and night on the tracks just behind the motel. However, I barely heard any noise from them during the two days I stayed at the Vagabond. I think the tracks are down at the base of a cliff or something and the motel is screened from the noise. Whatever the reason, I was never disturbed by train noise. (On the other hand, noise from an adjacent room was all too audible.) My room was clean and came with a refrigerator, a microwave and multi-channel cable. The location is only so-so. The motel is on the edge of town, so you have to drive to get anywhere. But then it's not a big town, so you won't have to drive far.

  • Liked — view, room amenities
  • Disliked — noise from adjacent room
  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank booradley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2006

Ok, i have to admit to being pretty nervous when I pulled into this motel. I checked into a room with 2 double beds and a balcony (89 a night plus tax). From prior posts I knew to ask for a room in the new building/upper floor. I think we had room 62. The views make this hotel.

The room is nothing to write home about. It was clean (but carpet was heavily stained). It was the views from the balcony that made the stay. There is an eagle that nests down from the motel (towards the river) so you should see the eagle soaring.

The hotel does not have alot of info for local attractions and certainly does not tell you where the local fast food/grocery store/etc is at. I listened to the motel and went into downtown HR for food--i was very disappointed.

But if you ask at the desk, they can tell you how to get to the supermarket, fast food restaurants and the walmart. (i cannot give directions because i cannot recall the streets--but it is closer to get to these than it is to hop back on the expressway and get off at the next exit for downtown hood river---i only learned this after a horrible experience with one of the downtown restaurants!!)

I will try to attach a picture from the balcony so you know what i mean.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank new2vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2006

The room (64) was large and comfortable. Nice view of the river from the balcony. The furnishings are adaquate but the rug IS horribly stained from wall to wall. The bathroom area is small (you have to stand to the side of the toliet to shut the door) the sink is on outside of the toliet/tub area. There are really no in-room amenities, no alarm clock or coffee maker. The front desk has instant drinks (coffee, cocoa, tea)and glass cups you can carry back to your room.

  • Liked — The view of the river
  • Disliked — The size and layout of the bathroom
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike&Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2006

Despite the fact that this motel is right next to I-84, you'd never know it if you have one of the rooms facing the river as we did. Our room was large, clean, and we loved having a balcony where we could sit and watch the activity on the river.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Book a room with a river view
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
552 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2006

Don't be scared off by the roadside sign! The room was actually quite large, clean, beds were very comfortable and the balcony overlooked the Columbia River Gorge with great views.
The Columbia Gorge Hotel next door has a 7 course brunch, expensive and quite good and there is also a Charburger Country for cheap, quick meals. Would definitely stay here again, liked the room better than my friend's at the Columbia Gorge Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mdgipsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.2 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Property: Westcliff Lodge
Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing