We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same view, 1/3 the price”
Review of Westcliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westcliff Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2007

We didn't experience the noise problems of the previous reviewer. In fact, this was one of the quietest properties we stayed at on our 7 night trip through Oregon. Outstanding views of the Columbia River - most likely the exact same view as the fancy property next door (The Columbia Gorge Hotel) at about 1/3 the price. No breakfast offered, but there are plenty of dining places a couple of miles away in Hood River. This is not a centrally located property, so don't expect to walk around the lovely town of Hood River.

The room was small but clean. We were in the two story building closest to the river. There are also several one story clusters. Lots of families staying here - I think they have suites. It's very convenient to the highway, also. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank kcl491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

857 - 863 of 888 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2007

After reading all the reviews about the Vagabond Inn I was very excited to find such a bargain. We had a simple, clean large room in the back with a great view. The bed was quit lopsided and uncomfortable. Now here's the kicker, the walls are paper thin and this is where a group of twenty something kiteboarders decided to through an all nighter. The music was loud, I could hear every conversation and anytime anyone used the stairs, we could hear the steps. Managment never stepped in to take care of this problem. We shortened our stay and book book a room at Mosier House Bed and Breakfast, which was $10.00 less and served a kick [--] breakfast.

td

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sakequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2007

The Vagabond is a great value. We stayed in a river view room with balcony. There is one smoking room in the river view complex. The only problem is that management encourages smokers to stay in non-smoking rooms as long as they smoke outside - on the balcony. Be prepared to take a dose of a neighbor's cigarrette smoke from the balcony of your non-smoking room. If your sensitivity to smoke will allow you to deal with that, you will love the river view rooms. There is no in- room coffee or breakfast. The restaurant next door is very good.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValueSeeker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2007

If you are looking for fancy toiletries, bathrobes, and new furnishings, look elsewhere. We were passing through the gorge and had hoped to stay at a B&B in town. They were full and referred us to the Vagabond Lodge. What we found at there, in the Rocks area of the property, was a spacious balcony room with a fabulous view of the
Columbia River.

We were lulled to sleep by the rumble of Union Pacific trains (it's a heavily used freight route, though not at all intrusive), slept by starlight, and awoke to bird songs. It was really quite heavenly.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank zinlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2007

I booked this motel due to the great reviews of others and wasn't disappointed! This motel is located right next to one of the most expensive hotels in the area (which I stayed in about 8 years ago) and I liked this place better!! The view was better, the room was huge, the bathroom was convenient and it had a great balcony. (Be sure to get a balcony with a river view - you will not regret it!!!) This was our last city on our road trip and the motel welcomed you to take all the ice you needed for your cooler each day. I'm really glad we had 2 nights to enjoy. It's very conveniently located and away from all the highway noise.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BARB S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Vagabond a couple of years ago during the summer and had an amazing time watching the wind surfers. This time we were there in November and we didn't know if we would need a *view room* but decided to go ahead. We were so glad we did! The view from the balcony is amazing, no matter what time of year. We sat and had a beer (that was cold from being in our mini-fridge in the room) and watched the birds land on the river. The Vagabond is not super close to town, it is on the river. It is not super expensive, but it does share the same view as the Gorge, which is high $$$$. The people are pleasant, the view is amazing and the price just can't be beaten. I would recommend this over many other hotels. My husband and I went to Hood River, just to stay at this hotel. It will always be on our lists of stops.

Stayed: November 2006
9  Thank SurprisingWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2006

The Vagabond Lodge offers three seperate levels of accomodations. The cheapest rooms are old-fashioned budget motel-style rooms that face the freeway. The intermediate rooms are similar to the cheap ones, but are located at the back of the property and have a view of the the river. (The view is pretty.) The most expensive lodgings also look out on the Columbia, but are located in a newer muti-story building. I stayed in one of the intermediate rooms, based on information from the desk clerk that these were quieter than the cheapies. I was dubious at first, because freight trains run all day and night on the tracks just behind the motel. However, I barely heard any noise from them during the two days I stayed at the Vagabond. I think the tracks are down at the base of a cliff or something and the motel is screened from the noise. Whatever the reason, I was never disturbed by train noise. (On the other hand, noise from an adjacent room was all too audible.) My room was clean and came with a refrigerator, a microwave and multi-channel cable. The location is only so-so. The motel is on the edge of town, so you have to drive to get anywhere. But then it's not a big town, so you won't have to drive far.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank booradley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
0.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
791 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.2 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
341 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: £68 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing