We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene, Beautiful”
Review of Mirror Lake Trail

Ranked #7 of 69 things to do in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the Mount Hood's north side.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Serene, Beautiful”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Best lake I have ever seen - You can see the reflection of the mountain in the lake. Its a scene you've seen all those desktops and paintings, but it gets real in front of you right here. Definitely worth the 1 mile hike back and forth. Dont miss

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank yuvarajvima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    26
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
154 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Pretty trail”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This popular trail took a little longer than we planned (maybe an hour and a half total), but it was nice. The reflection of Mt. Hood in the water was not as spectacular as I imagined but that could have been because people were fishing in there and the water was not totally still.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jayne1973Dallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Perfect for kids”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hike was stunning, and perfection with 1- 4 year old, 1- 3 year old, 1-2 year old. The views were breath taking and kids and adults were all happy hikers

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
356 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“One of the Most Popular Mt Hood Area Hikes”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a hike on the South side of Hood, not the north, as described. It's accessed from parking areas alongside Route 26. If the first area is packed with cars (usual on weekends), continue on to a second parking area a bit farther east to try your luck there. The hike itself is a steady uphill hike for about a mile. Rated "easy" in most hiking guides, it's still a breathy experience for folks who are not accustomed to uphill hiking or mile-high altitude; so take it easy, rest when you need to, and drink lots of water. The hike can include a circuit around the small lake, which gives you nice views, and can also include a further ascent up the ridge overlooking the lake (very nice). Lots of folks make this hike, especially on weekends and holidays, so try to do it on a weekday and get there early for parking. Take a picnic lunch.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgePortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We really enjoyed our hike to Mirror Lake. We went on a Monday around 11am. The drive from Portland was nice and scenic. We stopped at the first gas station we saw in Sandy to buy our parking pass for the day and continued on to the trailhead.

There was a rushing stream at the trailhead that was really cool. The hike up to the lake was invigorating. It is uphill of course, so be prepared for that. When you get to the top there is a trail around the lake, part of it was a boardwalk to take you through the watery areas.

We took the trail to the right at the top, then continued to the right on the Tom Dick and Harry Mtn trail. I had read that there was a scenic viewpoint of Hood Mountain part way up, and boy it did not disappoint. We got some great pictures, and you can see down to the road below. It is amazing how far up we had climbed on the trail!

We headed back to the lake, then took the loop around for views of Mt Hood in the lake. Awesome.

From here we drove over to the Timberline Lodge, then to Hood River and back to Portland. Views, views and more views. The best day of our trip!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank robinshoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mirror Lake Trail also viewed

 

Been to Mirror Lake Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing