We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience”

Cathedral Ridge Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$139.00*
and up
Small Group Columbia Gorge Waterfalls and Wine Tour from Portland
Ranked #14 of 69 things to do in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted Oregon Winery of the Year and located in Hood River, Oregon, Cathedral Ridge is a premier Oregon winery and vineyard experience that features Columbia Gorge hospitality and world-class wines by Michael Sebastiani. Visit us during your next trip to Oregon Wine Tasting, or sign up for our Wine Club to bring the Cathedral Ridge experience directly to your doorstep each month.
Aloha, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough about how much we love this place. We drive 75 miles one-way at least 4 or 5 times a year to Hood River and have to make this one of our stops each time. The wine, customer service, and view are all outstanding.

Helpful?
Thank bcunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    10
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farmville, Virginia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Will never return”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We visited this winery earlier in the month. Not only did we not like any of the wines, but we felt like the staff was talking down to us at times. They charge $10 per person to taste 6 wines, and you get $5 taken off that price if you buy a bottle of wine, but most of the wines are quite pricey. That's okay - it's their business to run - but for the $10 per person we paid we didn't expect to be treated so poorly. One woman acted annoyed by our questions, and used the same terms over and over to describe almost all of the wines. She disappeared for a while, and someone else poured me another taste, but when she returned, she chastised me for choosing one type of wine after just sampling another. We are certainly not experts on wine, but know a little about what we're drinking, and, besides, we had come to have a good time. We left in a hurry.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank furnmtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small, pretty, high quality winery”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have family in HR so I've been around the block with the vineyards in the area. Cathedral ridge is a smaller establishment with extremely high quality wines. The grounds are beautifully manicured, with picnic tables and flowers. Wines are high quality. Pour size has increased slightly since the previous reviews.

Buy your favourite bottle after the tasting and enjoy it outside in the garden area. That's what we like to do on a lazy afternoon! (Also, the Wine club is most economical way to enjoy these fine wines.)

Highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paige K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great wine but horrible business and customer service!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Cathedral Ridge has wonderful wine - so much so that we joined the wine club. The same day we joined, they charged our credit card even though they said they would only charge us once the wine has shipped. That was July 22. It is now August 24th and not only have we not received our wine but our calls go unanswered. We've called 6 times and only twice have I talked to an actual person. The first time we finally reached them (Aug 18th or so) she said it hasn't shipped because the weather was too hot. The 2nd time I reached an actual person she had no clue who we were or where our order was but said "Mary" will call you first thing tomorrow - well, that was about 4 days ago. I've left messages with the manager, with the shipping dept. and no luck. So today I make my final attempt via email meanwhile we now have to dispute over $200 worth of charges on our credit card for wine we never received. They really should hire someone with business skills to run their business and their customer service dept. Like I said, the wine is great but in this competive market there are a lot of great wines out there and other wineries who have much better ethical practices - I will spend my money with them instead.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ombody22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralRidgeWinery, Public Relations Manager at Cathedral Ridge Winery, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
We were sorry to hear about the confusion and are thrilled that everything worked out in the end. We hope you enjoy the Syrah Reserve and look forward to seeing you again soon, -All the best, Cathedral Ridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Wines”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We visited Cathedral Ridge Winery on a recent stay in Hood River and were really impressed with wines, impressed enough to buy several bottles and have them shipped to Montana. If you like good wine this is one a tasting room that should be high on your list, along with Marchesi.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RLMskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralRidgeWinery, Manager at Cathedral Ridge Winery, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Hello RLMskier!
We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit at Cathedral Ridge Winery! Thank you for sharing!
Enjoy the wines:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathedral Ridge Winery also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Ridge Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing