We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful old hotel with great service and friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful old hotel with great service and friendly staff.”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed for just one night in the off season. The hotel was nearly empty, but seemed fully staffed and everyone seemed very happy to have us, even with our infant son in tow. The food at the hotel restaurant was tasty, the bar was a pleasant place to sit and visit and we were even able to arrange a massage, despite the spa normally being closed that day.
The rooms are on the small side., but totally adequate and with a lovely view.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjfeischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    183
    79
    31
    21
See reviews for
84
477
29
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I've always wanted to stay at the Columbia Gorge Hotel and It was all I anticipated. This historic property is well cared for and the welcoming staff delightful. My sweet corner room offered beautiful views of the river. The bathroom was nicely updated, the mattress and crisp linens were delicious. Pity I was only staying one night! The restaurant staff was wonderful and meals were creative and tasty. A great wine list featuring local wineries was a treat. Don't miss soaking up the historic atmosphere in the bar named for Rudolph Valentino. I loved it all!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovebeinggone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed at the Columbia Gorge Hotel for a couple nights in August and I found it to be absolutely charming. It is certainly not one of the world's great hotels .... but it's comfortable and quaint and exceedingly welcoming. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are quiet, the food tasty. I felt like a guest in someone's home, and every member of the staff was very kind.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AYellowWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I was recently married at Columbia River Gorge, and despite having the best day of my life, this vendor had multiple aspects about the way they take care of Brides and Grooms that I would have like to know prior to one of the most important days of my life. I hope this review is helpful, and that you consider a different venue when choosing your special day.

1. Horrible Event Manager. Columbia River Gorge Hotel (CRGH) has been ranked in one of the top 10 places to get married in the world by some. With its breath taking views, blush landscapes, and unbeatable location, this venue has the potential to be just that. However, I would say that Trina, their event manager, is holding the venue's potential at bay. Not only was Trina unprofessional with her delayed email correspondence, she lacks knowledge about her staff, the venue's amenities/resources and your personal contract. Multiple times during our wedding planning experience, Trina did not know basic questions about the hotel, such as the number of wine glasses she had available, number of chairs, or the size of the hotel's dance floor. In addition, Trina neglected to look at our contract multiple times and charged us for "upgrades" that were never communicated until a few days prior to our bid day. CRGH even went as far as asking me for final payment 1 hour before I was about to walk down the aisle. Imagine, I was in my wedding gown! Surrounded by friends and family, and they demanded payment before "we could proceed." As a side note, we were on time and very respectful about payment, we did not miss a beat in the payment process. In addition, we had to pay the alcohol bill to pay at the end, and we thought we would pay any additional charges after (like most venues do) at the end of our event so that we could enjoy our day prior to such a joyful moment. Believe me, as a bride, you want to feel safe with your venue. They do not create or foster this for you. Trina was by far, my biggest complaint of CRGH.

2. Needs updating. Although CRGH is historic, the beds and the amenities do not need to be. A simple upgrade of mattress while keeping the historic bed frames and quaint decor, would do this place wonders. The ballroom, which I was thankful not to be using, smells of mothballs and cheap perfume. The dinnerware, silver ware and the linens they provide are all outdated and over used. The chair covers are stained, the lanterns and bridges outside are caked with dirt and ash from the train that runs below. Again, holding this venue's potential at bay.

3. Carlos. One thing I would say was the saving grace at this venue is Carlos, their banquet captain. He was the one thing I would never change about CRGH. He is positive, a great communicator and does everything for Trina. I did not see her once during our event or rehearsal or for the day after. However, I saw Carlos during the entire thing. He was more knowledgeable than her, more respectful of our time and overall, a great person.

In conclusion, I would take your time and money else where. Dealing with this venue is really NOT worth your time. On your day, you want to be able to relax, enjoy and soak up the things that matter. Family, Friends, Celebration. You do not want Trina, headaches and endless correspondence to deal with simple decisions. One of the goals at CRGH is to take off as much stress for the bride as possible, believe me from experience, they will add to it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lauryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hood River, Oregon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I stayed for four nights in September. I was treated like royalty, and truly enjoyed the experience! The hotel itself was lovely and reminiscent of a past I would have enjoyed had I been born 80 years earlier. The restaurant staff made every effort to accommodate my dietary restrictions, and in their dining room, it didn't feel like restrictions!!! One of the best Gluten Free cakes I have ever eaten!!

Room Tip: The quietest side is on the River, and the views are spectacular for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenaLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Absolutely awesome experience for our wedding! First, the Columbia Gorge Hotel is beautiful - lovely interior, comfy beds in spacious rooms, lots of windows to gaze out onto the well-maintained and beautiful grounds, and of course the Columbia River can be viewed while strolling along the backside of the hotel along with their own waterfall.

But the most impressive aspect of this hotel is really the staff. We had a relatively small wedding of about 28, but it was a daunting task for me (the bride) to keep track of everything up until the wedding. Once I arrived, I was treated as I imagine royalty are. The staff anticipated my every need and I had a fabulous time as did all the guests. I have had several people tell me that was the best wedding they have ever attended. I owe this success to the staff.

Did I mention the food? It was simply scrumptious. I must have gained 10 pounds over that weekend. Nothing compares to this place. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Dennis, our waiter on the patio! The hotel and it's staff were superb. The surroundings and location were more than we were expecting. We're so glad we stayed two nights here! You must bring your camera and take a couple hundred pictures inside and out. Our anniversary was well spent. Dennis is an excellent example of what excellent service should be. He made our experience both memorable and entertaining.
The room, bed and bath are 5 star as far as we're concerned.

Room Tip: Expect some talking heard on the gorge/river side if you like to sleep in with the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cqui2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
0.1 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
190 reviews
17.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa

Property: Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Address: 4000 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its historic charm and reputation for excellence the Columbia Gorge Hotel is a perfect location for your next leisure visit in the beautiful Columbia River Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing