We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Rude Manager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hood River
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Rude Manager”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have lived for several years across the freeway from the Columbia Gorge Hotel and read in the newspaper that they will be piping in music to enhance their outdoor lighting display. I gave the manager a courtesy call to inquire about the potential noise level, because we prefer not to hear "elevator" music for the next month or so wafting across the highway. I was very polite and simply wanted to know their plans. The manager responded in a very rude tone with," I'm sorry you don't like holiday music" and slammed the phone down on me. This is a first. I have traveled extensively and have never had a hotel manager be anything but helpful and courteous. If this is how he treats members of the community, I wonder how they treat out-of-towners.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank misterinkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewGM1, Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Hello misterinkman,

We would like to apologize on behalf of our team in the response to this matter and the experience you had on the phone. We try to go above and beyond in assisting each person we come in contact with at this hotel. As we will be having music played, we also will be considerate of our guests and our neighbors with a respectable volume. We completely understand the frustration of being disturbed in a neighborhood and we want to be a model for upholding a good standard. Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns and we'd be happy to talk with you. Again thank you for shedding light on this matter and we will address our team on all areas needed.

Sincerely,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    165
    72
    30
    21
See reviews for
82
435
25
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Pretty place in the old inn style with beautiful grounds up against the banks of the Columbia River with its very own water all in the backyard. Hotel takes advantage of the act it is only nice place to stay while exploring the gorge area and charges accordingly. Rooms are comfortable, have a tired feeling and are a bit "frumpy". Staff is young and friendly and helpful. For the rate, a continental breakfast should have been included at the least.

Room Tip: No self service elevator so get a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peripateticmensch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have always wanted to stay here! It is a beautiful, old hotel, located right on the Columbia River. The grounds are perfectly manicured, with paths and a natural waterfall. Everywhere you look, there is a view of the river. The hotel reminds me of a grand old hotel from the 40s or 50s (I am imagining this, because I didnt go to grand old hotels at that time). It has one elevator, the cage kind, that has to be run by an employee! Quaint, but not necessarily convenient. Our room was beautifully appointed, with a totally modern bathroom and a king bed, as well as view windows. It had a gas fireplace with chairs in front. We splurged on room service breakfast just so we could eat it in front of the fire. We even had a very old fashioned, yet functioning, dial phone. It was very romantic. In the evenings, cheese and crackers are served in the bar for happy hour. There is a view from the bar and restaurant of the river. We had dinner in the dining room. It was an OK dinner, nothing awful, but nothing memorable. It just was convenient and beautiful. We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Or room was a corner room and one of the biggest. We were lucky because we were upgraded to this roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fandmsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
437 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The first place I've ever stayed that didn't have a tv in the room! We loved it! We spent time down near the "huge" fireplace and played cribbage, drinking Irish coffee's :) It was clean, the break was incredible. The grounds and the view of the river were awesome. One of the most romantic places we've ever stayed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LLP1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We didn't manage to stay at the hotel this time, but we did stop in for breakfast, which we loved!! It was wonderful and especially nice to be overlooking the water and the gorge. We would definitely go back and hope to stay at the hotel next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJ00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I planned my mom's 70th birthday weekend at The Columbia Gorge Hotel. I had 19 family members staying 2 nights here and everyone loved the Hotel.
The elevator was original and needed staff to run it. So I suggest taking the stairs, it is only two floors.
I can't say enough wonderful things about the front desk staff. They were so helpful and friendly every time we came in contact with them. It is such a different experience than staying at a chain hotel.
The rooms were a little small. But I am pretty sure besides some upgrades to the bathrooms they were the original 1920's layout. They were so charming and the beds were very comfortable. We slept like babies both nights. We had River view rooms, it came with a refrigerator, and bathrobes for two. Some of my family members booked the Double room hotel suites, which were two full hotel rooms that shared a bathroom in the middle. They loved them and wished more hotels had them.
Most of the women of the party had services done in the Spa. The massage therapist were fantastic, and the manicurist were so friendly and fun. The prices weren't outrageous either, pedicure was 45.00 and a massage was 90.00 for 60minutes.The spa was beautiful, clean and relaxing.
My mom's birthday dinner was in Simons Cliff house restaurant. We had booked one of the private rooms and the service was Spectacular!!! The food was flawless and the in-house Baker baked the birthday cake which was beautiful and delicious.
The live piano music in Valentino's was just what we needed to end the perfect weekend, bar staff was friendly and fun.
The only thing I would not recommend is the Farmers Brunch we had on Sunday morning. This was their 7 course breakfast, which was not worth $28.00 per person. The pastries and scones were fantastic. The food was good, but it was your regular breakfast.
My husband and I can't wait to visit the hotel again, where we have time to explore the grounds and Hood River.

Room Tip: Try the Spa services I do not recommend spending the money on the Farmers Sunday Brunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
337 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent views of the Columbia River from the hotel and from several rooms. Rooms are small, but are well- decorated for the time period.

Restaurant is a little stuffy, but the fish dishes, as would be expected were very tasty. Good wine list at somewhat inflated prices, but workable. Corkage is reasonable in the state of Washington.

Recommend.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank packcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
0.1 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
17.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa

Property: Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Address: 4000 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its historic charm and reputation for excellence the Columbia Gorge Hotel is a perfect location for your next leisure visit in the beautiful Columbia River Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing