We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning gardens and views over the river!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place. Beautifully maintained gardens and lovely views over the river. Lovely old building full of character and comfortable rooms that are clean and inviting.

If you want a little romance steeped in history this is definitely worth a visit. Not only is the area one of incredible natural beauty but the hotel fits right into this picture.

When I'm next in the area I won't think twice about staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLFkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had our wedding here. The mature landscape with the old stone bridges, to the breathtaking waterfall, to the gardens overflowing with beautiful flowers in every color, and then the Columbia River views are spectacular. The buffet we had was delicious. The staff was top notch. The service is superior. We mistakenly left the top of our wedding cake and were pleasantly surprised when there came a knock on our door. It was the hotels executive chief Paul hand delivering our cake to us not wanting to risk the damage to it that shipping may cause. He drove 6 hours round trip. Amazing.
Kyleigh the wedding planner did all she could do to make our day special. All of our guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Calling ours the wedding of the century!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walkersl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My spouse and I spent two nights at the hotel in a very comfortable river view room. The room décor reflected the hotel's beginnings and most of the furnishings were from that period.

The relaxing sound of a creek permeates the garden like setting which was abloom with seasonal plantings.

We sampled the Happy Hour beverage and food menus both days and, while limited in scope, were very good and the price point was right on. We watched bald eagles hunting in the river while eating on the veranda.

For those who relish staying in new motels with tilt up concrete walls and the same old furniture from property to property, this grand old lady may not be your cup of tea but it was perfect for us.

Room Tip: Pay a couple bucks more for a river view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Every day, they have a gorge-ous (excuse the pun) brunch. Perfect for special occasions. Call first to make sure the dining room hasn't been reserved for a wedding party. We found out the hard way. Food delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank C-horse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A month on the road ... 6,000 miles thru a dozen states ... and nothing better than this gem by the mighty Columbia. Rescued and restored to its former glory, its dedicated staff make staying here a delight. The gardens, delightful. The river view room, storybook. The terrace, convivial. And if you plan carefully and are at the bar on a Tuesday night when Erica is fixing the drinks, and Captain Barb is on her solo date night, you've lucked into one of the true highlights of your travels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boyd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our room with two queen beds was basic, nothing unique to reflect the history. Garden view was barely visible from corner window. Bedside lamp was too short in relation to height of bed, making reading in bed impossible. (No overhead light.) Staff didn't tell us coffee was available in lobby in mornings and seemed uninterested when we suggested informing guests upon arrival. Day staff graciously helped get ice for a water bottle from the restaurant, but no ice conveniently available. The tub/shower faucet was not working correctly and the modern style vessel sink had no place to set wet soap without it sliding into the sink, making it necessary to messily set it on the counter. Room was clean and beds comfortable. But wasn't the special experience we expected. Based on the nothing-special room, we chose not to try the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerX5175JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have always wanted to stay at the Columbia Gorge Hotel because of its history and we had the opportunity to get a great "deal" to stay there for two nights. My parents were going to stay there and then we were joining them for Mother's Day Brunch on Sunday....but we booked to stay there for the two nights and showed up as their early Mother's Day surprise.
The hotel is beautiful and it is old but elegant and each room is decorated with beautiful antiques. We had a room facing the river and it was a good sized room - the only complaint is that the bed was very HARD but there are so many things to do to in the area of the Gorge that quickly disappears.
The food is excellent and lovely. The service is impeccable and friendly - if you go the bar, you will get to hear Tom play for you. He has a million stories and he is a treat to talk to...ask to see his photo album of stars he has met over his lifetime. If Erica is working that night, she is an excellent server and you will want her to tell you about the wines they carry as many of them are local wineries in the area. There is fresh coffee in the lobby - excellent Cafe Umbria coffee from Seattle - along with homemade biscotti. A really great touch. Someone else mentioned the elevator must be called and a staff member brings you up in the elevator or down but we did not find that to be an issue and where our room was located we heard no noise from the dead-end road at the entrance to the hotel.
Since it was Mother's Day on Sunday, they had one of the best brunches I have ever seen...so many selections and the HOT food too. We really were impressed how everyone there made you feel welcome and that you truly were a guest. We enjoyed our stay so much we are booking again for Mother's Day next year and the rest of the family is coming to stay too!
We say Thank You to everyone who made it such a grand stay in a lovely hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a River Garden Room - these face the river and are very nice. The corner room on the South...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cjumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
0.1 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
197 reviews
17.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa

Address: 4000 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range: £135 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its historic charm and reputation for excellence the Columbia Gorge Hotel is a perfect location for your next leisure visit in the beautiful Columbia River Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing