We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For fans of past glory” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For fans of past glory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you're a fan of historic hotels, this is one of the winners. The facilities have been kept quite well, and the staff is outstanding. It is not for those who want faceless or trendy perfection, but for those who appreciate the effort involved in keeping up the physical plant, ambience and service standards of the distant past, it is a destination. On top of that, the grounds and view of the Columbia River are stunning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    157
    68
    30
    21
See reviews for
77
409
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

On our recent trip to Hood River we stayed at the Columbia River Gorge Hotel. The place was built over 100 years ago, but we loved it. Close to town, fantastic views, and helpful staff were all a plus. We really enjoyed our time in the Hood River Valley.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler2013352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Shasta, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Elegance and grace, with reasonable rates. The Columbia Gorge Hotel will make you long to return. The hotel itself is rich with 1920's interior design detail that defines a vision of elegance and grace. The food and staff were wonderful. Our room looked over several acres of very beautiful gardens, articulated with lush planting, a stream, a 100 ft waterfall. Spectacular! Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce & Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehlingen, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place. Beautifully maintained gardens and lovely views over the river. Lovely old building full of character and comfortable rooms that are clean and inviting.

If you want a little romance steeped in history this is definitely worth a visit. Not only is the area one of incredible natural beauty but the hotel fits right into this picture.

When I'm next in the area I won't think twice about staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLFkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had our wedding here. The mature landscape with the old stone bridges, to the breathtaking waterfall, to the gardens overflowing with beautiful flowers in every color, and then the Columbia River views are spectacular. The buffet we had was delicious. The staff was top notch. The service is superior. We mistakenly left the top of our wedding cake and were pleasantly surprised when there came a knock on our door. It was the hotels executive chief Paul hand delivering our cake to us not wanting to risk the damage to it that shipping may cause. He drove 6 hours round trip. Amazing.
Kyleigh the wedding planner did all she could do to make our day special. All of our guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Calling ours the wedding of the century!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walkersl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My spouse and I spent two nights at the hotel in a very comfortable river view room. The room décor reflected the hotel's beginnings and most of the furnishings were from that period.

The relaxing sound of a creek permeates the garden like setting which was abloom with seasonal plantings.

We sampled the Happy Hour beverage and food menus both days and, while limited in scope, were very good and the price point was right on. We watched bald eagles hunting in the river while eating on the veranda.

For those who relish staying in new motels with tilt up concrete walls and the same old furniture from property to property, this grand old lady may not be your cup of tea but it was perfect for us.

Room Tip: Pay a couple bucks more for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Every day, they have a gorge-ous (excuse the pun) brunch. Perfect for special occasions. Call first to make sure the dining room hasn't been reserved for a wedding party. We found out the hard way. Food delicious!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C-horse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
0.1 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
17.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa

Property: Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Address: 4000 Westcliff Drive, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its historic charm and reputation for excellence the Columbia Gorge Hotel is a perfect location for your next leisure visit in the beautiful Columbia River Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing