We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Gorge View

Gorge View
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gorge View
Ranked #8 of 13 Hood River B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay in the blue room overlooking the river. The house is charming with a lot of thoughtful amenities. It isn't in the middle of downtown but it was a pleasant walk to restaurants and shops. Pat & Ann are very nice and extremely helpful. They gave us so many wonderful recommendations, we'll have to come back to do them all. The bathroom on the second floor is very large and modern. We did share it with another couple staying but there's an additional bathroom with shower to use downstairs if one is busy. It might have been a little crowded if the room with bunk beds had also been full. The breakfasts were delicious and the other guests were interesting. My only concern was the internet was a little slow and we were trying to do some trip planning but it was a minor issue.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCtravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

As other reviewers have noted, we found Gorge View to be charming, comfortable, & pleasantly low-key (not as formal a B&B vibe we've experienced in some places--Gorge View is ,more like staying with good friends). We stayed in the Blue Room which has a view out to the river. The room was very clean, charming and comfortable. The B&B has 3 rooms, all on the 2nd floor. The 3 rooms share a bathroom on the 2nd floor and another full bath on the first floor. There are stairs (street level to house & to 2nd floor) which were not a problem for us but could be if you have mobility limitations. Location is great; we walked to brew pubs & restaurants. Pat & Ann are genuinely friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Even though I have been back to the Gorge View a least three times a year for well over twenty years, each time that I visit I find something new to like about this gem. The warm and friendly hospitality of owners Ann and Pat, aided by the elegance of their well located heritage home, always leaves me with the feeling that I have been staying with family. The rooms are attractive and clean, the beds are comfortable and the breakfasts around the dining room table are legendary, both for the food and for the interesting company. A glass of wine on the river view porch is the perfect way to celebrate the end of a day of windsurfing, kiting, hiking, biking, river rafting, wine tasting or restaurant hopping. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 347Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Staying at the Gorge view offfers one the full Hood River Experience! Hosts, Pat and Ann ensure your stay is a wonderful experience. A beautiful home in within walking distance of everything! We will be back. The warm hospitality and beautiful surrondings of the "porch" are the perfect night cap for an active and adventure filled day in the gorge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We have come back to Gorge View many times over the years and have never been disappointed. Pat and Ann are wonderful hosts and help guide all of their guests in having a wonderful experience in the Hood River/Columbia Gorge area. From shopping or dining to catching the best wind for sailing, a great hike, finding that special mountain bike trail to the beautiful orchards and wineries. The B&B is formatted to be relaxing and casual in flavor which makes all who come feel so welcome. It has a wrap around porch with beautiful views of the mountains and the river for a bit of serenity for that that book you've been wanting to finish.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My wife and I only stayed one night. This B&B is on a quiet street a few blocks away from the town center and numerous restaurants. The place was very clean and the owners were very friendly. It has a large front porch which is perfect relaxing for relaxing with a glass of wine after a long day of sight seeing. Breakfast is served around the dining room table. We really enjoyed meeting and talking with the other guests and the owners.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room and the bathroom was across the hall. It was not an issue for us. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TexasPandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

A magical 4 days at the Gorge View, friendly breakfasts around their lovely dining table, great recommendations on local places to visit and the best local eateries. Pat and Ann are wonderful warm hosts. Throughout the house tributes from kite surfing guests adorn the walls, this is a house where they really know the local sports and activities. But you can also simply sit and enjoy the wonderful views from the front porch and the beautiful garden........thank you for a memorable visit.

Room Tip: I stayed in the bunk room as a solo traveler - I was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjb3268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
1.5 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
0.5 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
197 reviews
1.6 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorge View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorge View

Address: 1009 Columbia St, Hood River, OR 97031-1725
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Price Range: £34 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing