We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hood River Suites

Hood River Suites
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hood River Suites
Ranked #5 of 13 Hood River B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

A great find!. Comfortable clean apartment-like suites. Newly refurbished, tidy and attractive. Perfect location near our favorite shopping and eating venues. Steps from everything you want in downtown Hood River. A great value for an overnight or several day stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs units have a partial view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
14
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed in an upstairs unit that had a view of the river (if I remember correctly). It was quite clean and having hardwood floors (fake or real, doesn't matter) through out made cleaning it extremely easy. We specifically chose this place because it had a full kitchen. It came with everything we needed to make our meals. More kitchen supplies would be handy, but what was provided worked well enough. We didn't have any interactions with any of the employees, so I can't comment on how good or bad they are. I don't recall any issues with the bed and I specifically remember the cable and internet working just fine. I think the only negative I saw was possibly pricing (although we managed to get a good deal at that moment in time) and the real kicker is the parking. It's a very small lot with a steep little entrance. I would not want to try to drive up/down it when it was icy. Street parking worked fine for us though.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoiseBronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Hood River Suites is in a great location near shops and restaurants. Since I like to cook on vacation, I was pleased with the kitchen was very well equipped. The apartment was nicely furnished and spacious. We could sit on the balcony and see the river. All in all a nice place to stay.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rowena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Myself and a couple friends stayed here one weekend in August. Great location - right in the center of Hood River and everything was walkable. Great price, clean, plenty of room and you can even keep it super cheap if you want cause they have a full kitchen. I slept on the pull out bed (comfy) and my friends had the room which they said was very nice. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Loved the location of Hood River Suites! We booked pretty last minute so Julie gave us a lower level room (5) but because we were staying for 6 nights she accommodated our request to move upstairs for a view later in the week! No fuss or muss, just waited for it to be cleaned and moved our things upstairs . The cleaning staff is super friendly and do an excellent job. Beds and pillows could use an upgrade is our only suggestion for improvement. We liked having the floor fan in the lower unit and wished the upstairs unit would have had one too as the noise from the street behind us is a bit loud. I'm sure if we had asked for one, Julie would,have accommodated us. Love, love, love Hood River and HRSUITES!

Room Tip: Amazing eateries & bars so close... Double Mtn Brewery, Full Sail, Pint Shack, 3rd St. Grill and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llowe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

My husband and I stayed on the 2nd floor. We were pleasantly surprised with the accomodations! We could walk to shops, restaurants and wineries. The unit was very clean and just what we needed. We didn't make meals as we were only there 2 nights, but if you are there longer it has everything you need. Would much rather have this unit than a boring hotel room. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meljamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

I stayed at the hood river suites when I was unable to book a house in the area during peak season for less than 4 nights. The website or pictures really don't do this place justice. We had a room on the 2nd floor with a view of the river. The 1 BR suite was adorable, comfortable and clean! Our friend slept on the couch which was a pull out sofa and my husband and I took the bedroom. We were expecting a small kitchenette but there was a full kitchen with all the necessary appliances.

The only downfall was the air conditioner. Since we were sharing the suite with our friend, we wanted to close the bedroom door but were unable since the room was too warm with the AC unit in the living room. We left the door open with a fan pointed the towards our room from the living room and cranked the AC to high. The AC at high was unfortunately very loud and bit disruptive to our friend. I don't know if this would be an issue normally since I believe it was unseasonably warm during our visit. I also don't know if we would have minded about the AC noise if my friend wasn't trying to sleep in the living room.

Overall, the suite was great in a fantastic location at a fabulous price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfGirl427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
1.7 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.9 mi away
Westcliff Lodge
Westcliff Lodge
#5 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hood River Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hood River Suites

Property: Hood River Suites
Address: 709 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031-1700
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of Downtown with Full Kitchens: Walk to restaurants, pubs, shops and more! Each suite has a separate bedroom (King bed), living room, dining area, bathroom, and full kitchen with oven, microwave, dishwasher, refrigerator, toaster, and coffee maker. The suites are newly designed and modern, with wood floors, 32" HD TV, DISH, HBO, DVD player, and off street parking. There are five, 2 bedroom houses available if more space for families is needed. All credit cards are accepted, or Insitu direct bill. Government or FSR Insitu Training rates accepted. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing