We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy lunch of soup, salad and sandwiches”
Review of River Daze Cafe

River Daze Cafe
Ranked #29 of 140 Restaurants in Hood River
Price range: US$4 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: All of our baked items are made in house from scratch using only natural ingredients. We use local, organic produce and natural meats. We are a genetically modified organism (GMO) free restaurant.
Akron, OH
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy lunch of soup, salad and sandwiches”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The River Daze Cafe is a fun Northwest eatery - fresh food and good coffee in an informal setting with a corner of tall windows looking up toward the town of Hood River and down to the train station.

Our group of five had a selection of salads, the day's homemade soup and the day's special sandwich plus a great fruit smoothie. All of the food was fresh and I must say that the sub style sandwich special that my daughter and I split was to die for! Breads were fresh and artisinal, our sammie was toasted with turkey, bacon, pepper jack cheese, slaw, hot sauce, banana peppers, and amazing sauce. Soup was roasted pepper.

If you are looking for a great local lunch cafe, the River Daze is a great choice!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ohiowayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best veggie sandwich anywhere!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great atmosphere and great food with a great view of the Columbia! Best veggie sandwich anywhere, they make there own bread! Great place to have breakfast or lunch!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Timcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The most epic local organic food, beer, coffee and treats! Gorge PRIDE”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Best organic and local food in Hood River for lunch and breakfast. They bake their bread daily, excellent produce from their local farm and vendors. Beer on tap and to go as well as excellent local drinks to take on your hike or river adventure with your epic sandwich. The sandwiches are huge, delicious and the service is so friendly and laid back yet very professional and passionate culinary team. Been a regular there since first day in town. My favorite part of my morning is getting my 10 speed coffee and seeing what new produce is coming off the farm and onto the menu, such beautiful veggies! Gorge pride for sure! Support your local family farms, viva la sustainable community!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jahworkshanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hood River, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Locally Organic”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This place has my favorite sandwithces in the Gorge. Locally and organically is what there all about. Definitely a must try when coming through town. Also they have the garage door set up that is taking over the restaurant scene. I will have to make this another stop soon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JonathanLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
794 reviews
408 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“great sandwices”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Not a fancy cafe, just good food and coffee with a view of the street. My tuna melt sandwich was on delicious, light, fresh homemade whole wheat bread. The latte was very good, too. I tried to buy bread to go, but it is not an available option.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Daze Cafe also viewed

 

Been to River Daze Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing