We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice choice for dinner”
Review of Brian's Pourhouse

Brian's Pourhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Brian's Pourhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 140 Restaurants in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Oregon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice choice for dinner”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We had never been to Brian's before and just dropped in on a whim. The atmosphere in the back is semi-intimate with nice views. They have a very good wine list. Like many Hood River restaurants they offer a variety of small plates. You can easily make a decent meal for two of you by choosing the appropriate small plates or hors d'oeuvres. The staff is very attentive and courteous. A lot of Hood River restaurants do their own rendition of calamari. Brian's is no exception. Make sure to ask at whatever establishment you are at if the calamari is battered and fried, and then research further to see if it is lightly fried or deep fried. Brian's is deep fried. Still palatable but not optimal. We heard a number of people talk about their signature brussel sprouts. We did not have them but heard rave reviews. Might be worth a try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kolekona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Manager at Brian's Pourhouse, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Kolekona,

Thank you for your review, I am so happy you had an enjoyable time! Next time you must try the brussel sprouts, we are famous for them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    75
    18
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
176 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Get the burger”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Apparently a favorite place for the locals. The hostess greeted many guests by name. The food was very good. My burger was excellent.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TreadLightAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Manager at Brian's Pourhouse, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear TreadLightAdventurer,

I'm glad you loved the burger! Chef John wanted to do a classic American burger and he definitely succeeded!

We are considered the "Cheers" of Hood River, a local hang out for sure. That's why you noticed the hostess greet many people by name.

Thank you for your nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mazama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely evening, great food and fantastic wine!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We walked from the historic Hood River Hotel despite the very cold, snowy weather. Cozy, warm environs and staff with too many terrific menu choices. Luckily, we were there on a Thursday eve which is their wine by the bottle discounted night. Wow, finished off a wonderful Barbera and then ordered another to go, also discounted.
Will return and attempt to recreate a memorable time!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mzbarb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Manager at Brian's Pourhouse, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear mzbarb51,

So glad you came in on a Thursday night which is half prices on all wine bottles! That must of been a nice surprise for you. Thank you for your kind words, hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb setting and service”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Late evening meal, the place was busy but the staff were fantastic, we sat at the bar and chatted to a lovely member of staff who made time for us, the food itself was fantastic, sat outdoors at the back, couldn't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordymccrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buford, GA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good spot in town”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Good place to eat. Little pricey but good food. The place is a old house turned in to restaurant. I would recommend of your looking for a good time with good food and great service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brian's Pourhouse also viewed

 

Been to Brian's Pourhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing