We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tea and coffee & free WiFi in Hood River”

Dog River Coffee Co.
Restaurant details
Los Altos, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
647 reviews
470 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great tea and coffee & free WiFi in Hood River”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

If you want plenty of room for email/texting and good iced tea or coffee in Hood River, this is your place. WiFi is free; could use some more electrical outlets but great, relaxing vibe after a day on the river.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, IN
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great local spot”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a great local place to stop and have a cup of coffee or bite to eat. Their coffee is great but it is just a very relaxed local spot. We visit Hood River at least every other summer, if not every summer and always plan a trip to "The Dog." and yes, they have a bowl of water sitting outside if you bring your dog and tie the dog up to one of their benches. Just a great, friendly atmosphere and great cofee too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Best Coffee Ever”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

TwoInMaine are coffee snobs. We admit it. We bring our own beans or ground mix of beans on trips with a French press, and search out local coffee places of note. We found Dog River Coffee by chance when visiting the Columbia Gorge waterfalls, and were blown away. The place has almost no atmosphere, has no view a block from the Columbia River, and is hard to find even on the main drag of Hood River, and on-street parking can be a challenge. But Dog River Coffee serves the best espresso drinks we've ever had, and that includes Paris, Seattle, Portland. It's Stumptown coffee, but they must have a magic wand. Espresso was perfectly made and strong and delicious. Almond milk latte was delicious, too, and barista art (cedar tree design). Robust coffee with a shot (called "shot in the dark" here, "red eye" in Maine) was smooth and great. We don't suggest a special trip out of Portland to visit Dog River Coffee, but if you're anywhere nearby, give this a chance.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twoinmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hood River, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Baristas + Coffee”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place will make you happy. Am I partial because it's my work week morning ritual? Perhaps, but maybe the fact that I live in a little town with several good independent coffee shops and I’m at Dog River 5 mornings a week for over 5 years tells you what you need to know! The service is truly incredible - the staff never has an "off day". They are always pleasant, accommodating, and quick to make your order. They remember your name and coffee order and truly seem to appreciate your patronage. The quality of the espresso drinks (they serve Stumptown Coffee) is totally consistent. They take pride in their ability to make great espresso drinks – they are passionate about coffee and attend espresso trainings and competitions ... and this love shows in the coffee you get every day! The owner is often seen behind the counter and makes every effort to go the extra mile to make sure your coffee and experience is a perfect one. The small downside is that there isn’t much space to sit outside & linger when the weather is nice. Great coffee, great people!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A beautiful cup of coffee.”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stopped in at Dog River Coffee for a nice morning refresher. Not only did they quickly make me exactly what I had ordered, but the barista took a couple seconds longer to add her own personal, signature touch by making a flower design with a couple hearts on the side on top of the coffee. Good job and good coffee.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dog River Coffee Co. also viewed

 
Hood River, OR
 

Been to Dog River Coffee Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing