We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Hood River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We went to Hood River to meet up with our three grown children and six grandchildren to go on the "Polar Express". My husband and I decided to spend the night at Sakura Ridge. We are so glad we did. There is a permanent imprint now in my mind of the gorgeous view of Mt Hood from Sakura. We also had the treat of watching the new born lambs in the field while waiting for breakfast. The breakfast was absolutely delicious - baked pear french toast, elk sausage and eggs. My husband had a great conversation with John, and Deanna was so nice and friendly. She even gave me a recommendation on a family b&b in eastern Oregon. It is so wonderful that they share their home and farm with others, so we all can have a taste of this fabulous b&b.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tchandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you! We love sharing the beauty of Sakura Ridge. The baby lamb are so playful running back and forth across the pasture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Arrived in Hood River, OR, from Portland at dinner time, afterward made our way to Sakura Ridge. At night follow their directions which are great and find yourself in a working ranch, waking up in the morning to an unbeatable view of Mt.Hood - if the weather cooperates - which it did fabulously for us. A warm welcome, great common areas to read, cats outside to pet, and a great breakfast overlooking Mt Hood. And Quiet!! (Much of Columbia Gorge area is plagued by serious freeway noise from Interstate 84.) We'd happily go back, as had one of the other couples there at the same time. Don't be put off by 5 mile distance from "historic" and fun old (but new) Hood River.

Room Tip: All likely fine but ask about relative advantages when booking, particularly which have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaktLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and share you experience staying at Sakura Ridge Farm. We love sharing the bounty of great food from the farm and are so happy when the weather cooperates to capture the view of Mt. Hood and the valleys below. Best! Downtown Hood RIver has maintained it's historic charm and you are right - it is filled with fine shops, galleries, breweries, tasting rooms, coffee shops and restaurants. Need to stay 2 nights or more to capture it all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The farm is in a breathtaking location, with incredible views of Mt. Hood. Our room was so beautiful, it should be in a design & architecture magazine, as it should the rest of the building. There is a common area with coffee/tea available all day and breakfast is like a light lunch at a super fancy restaurant (the farm grown berries were fantastic). The whole farm is so well kept, even the sheep look perfect. The owners are extremely nice and they definitely know what they are doing with the farm and the guests. On top of all this heaven, driving 15 minutes takes you to Hood River, a charming town with wonderful restaurants and fantastic breweries. Sakura Lodge was the highlight of our trip and we hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tosca123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

The golden raspberries are a treat because you can never find them in a grocery store. Perfect essence of summer. Thanks for sharing highlights of your stay at Sakura Ridge Farm and Lodge. Best regards, John, Deanna and Tiny Tim the pet lamb.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I visited the farm a couple of weeks ago, and we cannot wait to return. The lodge is immaculate, and the views of Mt. Hood are unreal (almost as good as the golden raspberries in the garden). We looked forward to Deanna's amazing breakfasts every morning and even traveled home with a cookbook, with the hopes of recreating the experience (or trying to, anyway). You will not be disappointed with a stay here - I felt as if we had stumbled upon a hidden gem in Hood River.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAB116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thanks for coming all the way to Oregon and staying at Sakura Ridge. We are now serving the first of this season's pears - perfectly ripened along with golden and red raspberries. A fruit plate saying goodbye to summer and hello to fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Where do I start? Beautiful farm - almost fairytale settings! Fabulous view of Mt Hood from our room. The Lodge is so gorgeous! I loved sitting in the living room reading. The owner collects Trade blankets, and has a beautiful collection. She shared a book about the history of the trade blankets in Oregon. I went to Pendleton and bought one, myself. Room was comfortable if a little small. Where do they get these fabulous soft sheets? If there hadn't been so much to do and see, I would've stayed in bed. Every morning was a gourmet breakfast. Food all over Oregon was to die for. Sakura Ridge was no exception. We were alone at Sakura Ridge, then one night a couple from Seattle came. It was nice to have company for breakfast. Would like to return for the annual Fruit Loop.

Room Tip: Ask for the view of Mt Hood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daiseymae66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

The Fruit loop gets in full swing mid-April when literally millions of fruit trees in the Hood River Valley are in Bloom. Anytime of year it's a beautiful drive. Cherries and Lavender Farms share the month of July and if you are lucky you can see baby Alpacas. Fall Fruit is abundant all along the Fruit Loop the months of September and October. Yes - please come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I made a reservation here based on another trip advisor review that compared entry onto this property to a religious experience. I was not disappointed. We arrived just as the sun was setting and were treated to a back-lit Mount Hood and nearly full moon hovering above the pristinely maintained lodge building and gardens. The pastoral setting is serene and very special. Our room was lovely, the bed was very comfortable, and the breakfast each morning was fresh, creative, and truly delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sepelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

It can be pretty magical when the sun is setting over Mt. Hood and the moon is rising. Get up early enough to see the sun rising as the moon sets and life doesn't get much better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 2 nights in the Orchard room on our recent vacation. The farm overall is amazing! It's a short drive from the town of hood river and very relaxing & beautiful. They have bees, chickens and sheep. There are gorgeous views if Mt. Hood. John and Deanna are extremely helpful without being intrusive. Upon arriving John gave us some great recommendations for dinner in Hood River (a short drive away). He also gave some great recommendations of things to do around the area. Deanna's breakfasts were delicious. We had Salmon & Spanish torta the first morning and French toast casserole the next. I don't eat beef or pork and Deanna was very accommodating to special diet requests including leaving the nuts off of my French toast. This is by far the nicest B&B I have ever stayed in. We can't wait for a return visit!

Room Tip: We loved the orchard room, it is a little secluded from the main common area, but if traveling with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennmcd08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

We enjoyed hosting you at Sakura Ridge and do hope you can make a return visit. There is so much to see and do in the Columbia River Gorge that perhaps a 3 night farm stay is in order.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
4.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
4.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hood River
793 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
343 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
198 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge

Address: 5601 York Hill Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8662
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artisan organic farm and Bed and Breakfast located in the foothills of Mt. Hood. World class views, breakfast fresh from the farm. 5 Guest rooms, all with private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sakura Ridge - The Farm Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing