We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream of the perfect home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge
Ranked #3 of 13 Hood River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2009

This B&B is amongst the very best. You know how something comes along that raises the bar to new levels? This is it. There are few places that can match the wonderful tranqil comfort and quality of sakura ridge.
When we had to leave we were emotional. THIS IS A SPECIAL PLACE.

Enjoy like we did and experience the very best of America.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2009

Wow, what a place. Our room looks out to the spectacular view of Mt. Hood, in all its snow-covered grandeur. The location, in the foothills of Mt. Hood, but within about 5 miles of the town of Hood River (right on the Columbia River) gives this place some extra charm. Our room and outdoor patio have a 180-degree view. Lots of nice amenities too. Rooms are lovely. Comfy pillow-top mattresses and duvets.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We stayed at this fantastic B&B in late May. We spent 1 night in the Mt. Adams room. The room was very comfortable and cozy. The views from the back deck were amazing! The breakfast in the morning was delicious, with the berries picked right from the garden. John and Deanna were very friendly and gracious hosts, giving us some great ideas for how to spend our day.
Highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a quiet place with incredible views and good company.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gt5309a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

Being from Florida, my husband and I had to rely on TripAdvisor to make our plans. I am so glad we did, because I chose this wonderful retreat based on reviews here.

After entering through the gate (to refasten it, push one side closed really hard then grab the other side and pull it closed while catching the first side as it swings back), you drive through an orchard, turn left at the barn, right past some more fruit trees and forget you were ever in an airport or on a crowded highway.

The inn is made of logs, but is by no means a cabin. The furnishings are unique and probably handcrafted. The decor is serene but warm. The front and back yards are lovingly planted and there are seats and tables tucked into various nooks. Other reviews have mentioned the organic garden and of course the fabulous views. There is a common kitchen that I didn't see anyone using; maybe you're allowed to bring food and fix it there? There is a hot water dispenser, microwave, and a selection of tea bags waiting. On the lower level there is also a small common area with a fireplace, flanked by shelves of books and board games. I spotted a croquet set on the side porch.

We stayed in the Mt. Adams room, which had had a king-sized bed and a "valley view" (facing east for gorgeous sunrise views). (You have a great view of Mt. Hood from the common rooms and the porch). We had a small fridge, as well as a pair of wine glasses, corkscrew, and a small bag of delicious trail mix. There were hooks/hangers along one wall and a bench along another. The bath had a pair of cushy robes, a roomy shower with adjustable-height, removable shower head, and the famous heated-seat toilet with bidet. There was wood trim for a spa-like feel. My 6-foot-4 husband had no complaints with shower heights, etc.

Must mention the friendly hosts and the fabulous breakfasts. I'm talking farm-fresh organic fruit and juice, homemade yogurt, local honey, and delicious fill-you-up main dishes. (On the subject of organic, I noticed 7th Generation cleaner in the common kitchen.) Their recommendations for dining in town were spot on, too.

We had always chosen B&B's in town when we traveled before, and I found this so much more relaxing, even if it did mean a 15 minute drive to town. We only got to stay 2 nights, and even with the many places of interest we visited, I found myself trying to ensure we were back at the inn before dark so we could enjoy the sunset - and the sight of geese and sheep down the hill - from the rocking chairs on the back porch. All in all, the best B&B we've ever been to. Wish I could plan another trip soon!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank almostfloridanative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We had chosen Hood River as our final stopover during our most recent 3-week holiday through Washington State, Oregon and northern California. We enjoyed a 3-night stay.

The B&B is on a working organic fruit orchard with a few geese and sheep thrown in for good measure! We stayed in the river room which had its own patio with a beautiful view of Mount Hood and part of the property. Although the room itself is quite small (we banged the little refrigerator by opening the room door), it is well appointed with many hooks on the wall to hang things. There is no place to sit but there are many sitting areas outside of the room so that was not a problem for us at all. The B&B is in a beautiful log home, well decorated with many Pendleton blankets to adorn the surroundings.

The bathroom was of good size and that allowed us to stow at least one of our bags there. It only has a tub but it has a hand held shower so that worked out just fine.

The breakfasts were awesome - with fresh fruit to boot. The jam was to die for. Deanne is an excellent cook (I actually would call her a chef!!). And the resident dog was a joy to be with ... playing fetch with him was a great way to start the day.

The only thing to keep in mind is that the B&B is not centrally located (given that it's an operating orchard, that is relatively obvious). So you do have to drive a bit to get into town and back (no more than a 10-minute drive though).

All in all a great experience in beautiful surroundings! and if you go at the right time of the year, you will be awakened by the geese which was a nice way to wake up.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BunnyIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

Staying at Sakura Ridge was the perfect way to relax, rejuvinate and reconnect. We loved the Mt Hood Room - even though a bath tub only option was a challenge. The view, the food, the hosts and the whole experience were great!! The pears were ready to be harvested. The tranquility was was addicting. I'm sure we were not the only couple ready to relocate and become B&B owners in Mt. Hood. Deanna and John were great hosts. Even though John was busy working he took the time to sit with us during a fabulous breakfast of fresh beets, potatoes and a poached egg, accompanied by the biggest fresh blackberries I've ever seen, harvested right there at the farm. Amazing place, wonderful experience. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sienalab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

I found this place online when looking for a place to stay for our anniversary. It is hands down the most beautiful place we have ever stayed at. The photos do not do it justice! The place is absolutely immaculate, with so much attention placed on the details it is incredible! The lodge is fairly new and the entire place smells of exposed wood and fresh laundry. I couldn't imagine a more relaxing place to be! The location is wonderfully close to Hood River, if you are looking to explore some nice restaurants to eat. Also, the view is MAGNIFICENT! From left to right outside your porch you will see rolling hills with the glorious Mt. Hood in the background. The breakfast is to die for, but honestly it is just the cherry on top, because everything else about this place is stunning!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mct16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
4.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
4.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
780 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
5.5 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
339 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge

Address: 5601 York Hill Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8662
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artisan organic farm and Bed and Breakfast located in the foothills of Mt. Hood. World class views, breakfast fresh from the farm. 5 Guest rooms, all with private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sakura Ridge - The Farm Hotel Hood River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing