We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Memories”
Review of Hood River BnB

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hood River BnB
Ranked #3 of 12 Hood River B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 October 2008

This was a wonderful place to stay. Jim and Jane made us very welcome, generously lent us tools for our bikes, and gave plenty of good information about local sights and restaurants. The room was really a suite, with generous changing and sitting areas, a pretty quilted double bed, wonderful views over the Columbia River towards the mountains...and to top it all, a wonderful his and hers bathroom with an extra-large massage bath - excellent for a birthday celebration!
The breakfast crepes are enjoyable the morning after, too. I liked sharing the meal with other guests and our hosts. All in all it was a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SouthendEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2008

This is a great B&B, 5 minutes walk from the centre of Hood River. My husband and I stayed in the Mountain Room - great view of Mt Adams and the Columbia River. We shared a bathroom with one other room. It was kept clean.

Cooked breakfasts were great - different every day. After much debate we decided our favourite was the pancakes. All guests are encouraged to sit around the table with our hosts, Jim and Jane.

They made us feel very welcome. They are willing to chat or leave you to your privacy - as you want. Free access to internet during stay was much appreciated.

Great choice and good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ali176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2008

The innkeepers are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Very nice people to visit with. The rooms have very comfy beds and good views, and little individually-controlled heaters in each room are a great touch! It's not quite as "posh" as some B&Bs, but I would still definitely go back. The price is more reasonable than some others as well. Location is very convenient to downtown Hood River.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank ts60611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2007

Hood River is the most glamorous of the small towns along the Columbia Gorge, in the sense that it has a number of good restaurants and boutiques. This B&B is perfectly located on Oak Street, just a few blocks from the restaurants (I recommend Brian's Pour House), and with a good view of the river and Mt. Adams.

I had originally booked the Sun Room on the lower floor, but since the house wasn't full, Jane let me choose between that and the Sky Room. I chose the latter because of the view. It also had a large new jetted tub and a sitting area. Because no one else was staying on the second floor, I had a lot of privacy. It was a great room to come back to after a day of sightseeing.

The owners have chosen to make this B&B comfortable and casual. It's not stuffy or precious. Apparently, lots of windsurfers stay here, and the owners are very accommodating about gear, etc. They're also flexible about the time breakfast is served, provided you let them know ahead of time.

Every B&B has its own way of doing things; some owners will tidy up your room everyday, while others don't. This is one of the latter.

Overall, this is a very pleasant and friendly B&B, made even better by its location in Hood River.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2007

When visiting Hood River, OR, this is a great option for a place to stay. The location is only 3 or 4 blocks from the downtown corridor, certainly within walking distance. They offer 4 rooms, we stayed in the Mountain Room. When the weather is clear, supposedly you can see Mt. Adams across the gorge from this room. Unfortunately, we were not lucky enough to confirm this. The hosts are very friendly, informative, and do everything they can to make your stay pleasant. There is a few different commons areas with a TV and DVD player (and some dvd's), a computer for checking email and weather, reading material and large couches for relaxing. There is also a fridge & microwave. They also offer their charcoal BBQ grill for guest use. You bring the food, silverware and utensils, and they'll provide the charcoal, matches, and lighter fluid.
Breakfast was crepes and fruit (fresh blueberries, raspberries, strawberries, black berries, marion berries, cherries, cantaloupe, & bananas); juice, Tea & coffee. There was also granola and yogurt. Fruit was delicious a great sampling of the areas variety!
Plenty of off street parking for guests (a major plus in a town with so many steep hills!)

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BoiseBronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hood River hotels
1.6 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hood River
793 reviews
1.5 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hood River BnB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hood River BnB

Address: 918 Oak St, Hood River, OR 97031-1818
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 1909 home has plenty of room for you, your gear, your resting needs. You will be able to find a quiet area for reading and relaxing within the home and yet are within walking distance of town. Besides the large bedrooms, our home has a media room with TV, DVD, VCR; a PC/Internet station with stored links for relevant wind & weather, etc; a river-facing deck with views of the Columbia River. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing