We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated, but the scenery!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A bit dated, but the scenery!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I found the hotel itself a bit dated. It could use some TLC, really. The wood in our bathroom is chipped, the tub is severely scratched, the room shades were torn down and put back up, but not in the right place, so there was light streaming in through the side. The room has an off smell to it. Not sure how to describe it.

But the bed was clean and comfortable, the linens were clean and overall it was a good place to stay for two nights.

This place by far has the best fitness/pool set up that I have seen! The view of the Columbia and the mountains is amazing from the fitness area and I could even let the kids swim in the pool while I worked out b/c the fitness area is also overlooking the (outdoors) pool. The pool itself was heated and felt really good given the air temp was in the 50s. The hot tub has an amazing view of the Columbia and the mountains and was nice and hot.

The full breakfast at the Riverside was really nice, as well. Good variety to choose from and the food was really good. Otherwise I would not eat at the Riverside b/c the prices are quite exorbitant on our family budget.

Room Tip: There are rooms with a view of the river, and then rooms with a view of the parking lot. Of course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmcintosh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear DMcintosh24, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our Trip Advisor friends. I am so sorry that you found your room in some disrepair, there is no excuse for the draperies being hung allowing light to stream into your room or for the scratched and chipped wood vanity. I will have our maintenance staff correct these so that the next guest does not experience the same. I am so glad you enjoyed our new pool and exercise facility, it was designed to provide for just the experience that you described. Thanks for staying with us; we hope to have the opportunity to host your family again soon. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,725
    679
    147
    44
    23
See reviews for
678
1,207
111
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Best Best Western ever. Our room (reserved a couple hours before check-in) had a balcony we could have tossed stones off of into the Columbia River. It was such a wonderful surprise. The complimentary breakfast was delicious the next day and another chance to enjoy the view.

I do wish there had been a cheaper food option onsite in the evening. We just wanted takeout to enjoy in our room after a long day of driving and the onsite restaurant was a little too pricey for that.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KC D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear KC D, Thanks for the great review and for describing us as the "Best Best Western ever." It is always satisfying when a guest is surprised with all that our hotel has to offer. I am sorry that you weren't told of our affordable bar menu which is available until 11 pm during the week and midnight on weekends. We hope to see you back again soon.
Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Verdes
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed two nights and enjoyed the hotel and surrounding area. Restaurant in the hotel was great and eating on the patio next to the Columbia River was wonderful. Didn't take advantage of the free breakfast. Definitely would go back!

Room Tip: I always ask for a "quiet room" and we were down the hall away from the elevator. Did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear Diane N, Thank you for such a wonderful review! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved the experience of dining on our deck. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Best location, right on the Columbia River. Large, comfortable, modern, clean rooms, with a mini-fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Our extended family had a total of three rooms, and everyone's was equally nice. My husband and I were on the newly-added third floor and the bathroom was beautiful and huge. Well managed property and well-trained and friendly staff. We called down to the desk for more hangers and wine glasses (this is wine country!), and they were at our door within 5-10 min. Great, thick towels and soft sheets.

The restaurant seems more likely to be a free-standing, independently owned local favorite, than in a chain hotel. Total anomaly! The free breakfast here knocked our socks off, made fresh to order from the terrific menu, with full table service, and full waterfront view. Everything from prociutto/basil scramble to lox and bagel to the most amazing oatmeal w/all the fixin's. Dinner was wonderful too...with the Alaskan halibut and local Salmon done to perfection. (What hotel restaurant you've ever been to guarantees they will not overcook the seafood?!) They also make great use of locally sourced produce and breads. Nice bar with live, local entertainment.

Cons were minimal, being a hole in the sticky, hard to open screen door to our balcony overlooking the river. Mentioned it upon check-out, and they were genuinely glad I did. There is a tad of traffic noise from the nearby bridge, on the river side, but earplugs are provided. I need it very quiet, so I noticed it a little, but still slept pretty well. Some people wouldn't give it a second thought. Definitely not a deal breaker.

Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Riverfront is totally worth the price. My sister's room in a different wing, was very large and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WearyAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear WearyAdventurer, Thank you so much for your very thorough review and for your comments about fine restaurant, “Riverside”! You touched upon so many things we're very proud of but the one that is closest to my heart is your comment about our well trained and friendly staff. I think that without friendly, gracious service, everything else is irrelevant and no matter how nice a hotel looks or functions, guest service is most important. Please come back and visit us again soon! Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Nice rooms, and great menu. I like the pool and I feel welcome! For all sort of trips! Out door tables are nice and have deck heaters for chilly days! Nice dock, but you need to watch young ones! the water gets VERY deep and even at the dock is about, oh, I'd say about 6 ft.

Room Tip: Pick riverside. Definitely river side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naturegal1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear Naturegal1313, Thanks for your review. We're excited you chose us for a getaway from Carson just 15 miles away. It is great to be appreciated by our neighbors and we truly appreciate your recommendation! Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We visit our daughter and her family in Hood River every year and have stayed at a variety of places in the last ten years. This year, we decided to try the Best Western again as we hadn't stayed there for five or six years. We had always found the staff friendly and now with the new wing and pool, it is even more attractive for us! The breakfasts that come complimentary are phenomenal! Sitting on the deck, enjoying the view of the river and enjoying a leisurely breakfast can't be beat! The only thing that the room lacked was a safe, which most hotels now come with.

Room Tip: There are waterfront view rooms but if you don't get one, you can sit on the deck and enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear Missy E, Thank you for the great review! We are very happy to be your lodging choice when you're here visiting family. We plan significant improvements to our property every year and try our best to respond to the needs and requests of our guests. Your suggestion of adding an in room safe is duly noted, when you return next year you will find that as an added amenity. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with our Trip Advisor friends. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Nice hotel, nice views, great breakfast, good location. All of the amenities were modern and nice - the TV was pretty big, the bathroom furnished nicely. The staff were very helpful in giving us directions to various locations. I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: The East Wing is probably best, although we were in the West Wing and I wouldn't hesitate to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarySFBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear GarySFBCN, Thank you so much for the five star review of our hotel and for sharing the fabulous sunrise shot from your room's balcony. It sounds like you had a memorable time with us. We look forward to your next visit to Hood River!
Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
2.6 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
2.7 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
332 reviews
19.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hood River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hood River Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Address: 1108 East Marina Way, Hood River, OR 97031-2378
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hood River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hood River's ONLY waterfront lodging and dining, on the breathtaking Columbia River with convenient access to all activities. Featuring rooms for every budget; from riverview rooms and suites to standard no-view rooms. Rooms feature mini-fridges, microwaves, hairdryers, irons & board, coffee makers, and high-speed wifi. Enjoy a delicious meal at the Riverside restaurant or Cebu Lounge. Take a dip in our gorgeous riverside pool and spa, or relax in the sauna. We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and high quality cleaning standards. Our friendly, helpful staff is ready to ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hood River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hood River Hotel Hood River
Best Western Hood River
Hood River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing