We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel on the river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Booked a one bedroom suite and was very pleased with the roominess and cleanliness of the room. We were in an end unit that overlooked the river. The hotel was quiet, but we could hear some of the activity on the stairs being on the end of the building, but otherwise was very quiet. The front desk clerk was very pleasant and professional and recommended a great restaurant for dinner. It would have been nice if the hotel had replaced the non-functioning fireplace insert (putting a note that you know it only works intermittently is great, but you really should fix a broken item once you're aware of it). Breakfast voucher works great, ordering select items off the breakfast menu on the deck overlooking the river - beautiful touch...

Room Tip: book a river view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilibob2157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Bilibob2157, Thank you so much for the great 5 Star Review. I always enjoy hearing about our friendly and professional staff as we're very proud of the service they provide. I look forward to sharing your comments with them. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,560
    641
    139
    42
    20
See reviews for
614
1,104
106
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I recommend it, and I would come back! Pluses: - Location. It's right on the river - Awesome breakfast. Dining on balcony on river adds to it! - Starbucks right next door - Bikes to borrow and ride along the river. - Clean rooms/refrig/etc

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Josine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Josine P, Thank you for your recommendation. It's great to be the recipient of your first review and we appreciate the 5 Star rating. Looking forward to your next visit. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
251 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here on a visit to Mt. Hood in early June. This hotel is right on the river and if you're on that side the view is great. You can watch ships passing, people sailing, ducks swimming or walking around on the grass between the hotel and river. But, you will pay a bit more for the rooms on this side (well worth it IMHO)

This is a 3 floor building with elevators. The rooms on the first floor (at least those facing the river) have little patios, and the rooms on the 3rd floor have little balconies. I think you pay a little extra for those rooms but as we were on the 2nd floor I don't know for sure. The rooms on the 2nd floor just have big windows.

The room was good size room and well appointed. There was a queen bed, couch & coffee table, and table/desk. There was a big fridge, microwave, coffee maker (tea, coffee, hot chocolate) and TV. One thing a bit unusual these days is that the Sink, Toilet, and tub/shower were all in the bathroom rather than the more typical set up where the sink area was outside the bathroom. The water pressure in the sink was low but the shower water pressure was good (go figure).

In general the room and furnishings were very modern and nicely done. There was plenty of good lighting with bulbs bright enough to see with without having to turn on ever light in the room

There was a little sign warning you that the outlet (which happened to be the only accessible outlet) was controlled by a wall switch which was a very nice feature and much better than getting up the next morning and finding that your cell phone was not charged.

Ok, so while we're on the subject of electrical outlets, here's my beef. There were no electrical outlets within 12 feet of the table/desk. So no place to plug in a computer or battery charger. On the wall under the desk was an electrical face plate where an outlet should be but it was just a blank face plate (see photos). So, even though there was very usable desk space I wound up having to sit on the bed to check my email and do other work on my laptop even though I brought a 12' extension cord.

Free breakfast is served in the restaurant where you can sit inside with a view of the river or out on the deck, again with a view of the river. There were decent choices - but Orange Juice was not included in the free breakfast (you could order it for a fee).

There was a nice looking pool and a small “beach” on the river. The pool looked great but the beach was not too appealing. The sand was not "beach-ey" and there were loads of ducks that frequent the beach and leave behind what ducks tend to leave behind.

I'm a photographer (danhartfordphoto) and really liked the artwork in the halls. These were canvas prints of brightly colored - almost abstract – nature.

All in all, very nice (except for the lack of places to plug things in)

Room Tip: Pay a little more for river facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Califdan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Califdan69, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our hotel. We appreciate all of the positive comments and apologize for the inconvenience of having to struggle to find an electrical outlet. I know how frustrating that can be. All of the rooms like the one you stayed in should have an auxiliary multi plug unit located on the floor next to the dresser and flat screen cabinet. We checked your room to find that it had been removed and not replaced. This should have been corrected before you'd arrived. Again, my apologies. I will share your comments about the in room and hallway photography with the local artist, I know he'll appreciate the shout out, by the way, I checked out your photography, it's fabulous. We hope to see you again. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Fabulous hotel to stay on the Columbia River. Outstanding view of the river, could walk out of the room right to the boat dock. We traveled with our 2 kids on a 2 week vacation this was the end of the trip and it could not have been better. Free breakfast was top notch at the Riverside restaurant, received a coupon for 15% off of dinner at the Riverside restaurant, which was excellent. The hotel staff as well as the restaurant staff were all very nice and super friendly. Kids loved the pool which as the picture shows is right on the river. Room was spacious and clean. We stayed in 2 other BW's on this trip and this was by far the best. Well worth the money, great for a family!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MC3CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear MC3CA, Thanks for the great 5 Star Review. Best Western is a great traveling choice for families and we certainly appreciate being thought of as one of the "Best BW Yet." Our river front pool facility is a favorite of most all of our guests, so glad that you and the kids enjoyed it. I have shared your review with our friendly restaurant staff and they, like I appreciate you taking the time to write such a stellar review. We hope to see you and the family again soon. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Best Western Hood River Inn: Great hotel, excellent location & views! Good value. Restaurant staff is top notch. Try Pheasant Valley vineyards, 3 Rivers restaurant, & 2011 Hood River pinot noir. Other recommended vineyards: Torii Mor in Dundee and Erath winery. Other recommended lodging: Lobenhaus B&B in Dundee and Shilo Inn in Bend (I'm serious - the river view rooms are worth it). Try a Willamette Valley, Silverton, Bend, Hood river LOOP.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Paul G, Thank you so much for the 5 Star Review and for sharing your wine tasting experience with our Trip Advisor friends. We're honored to be your first hotel review and hope to be the subject of another review when you are back in our area. Thanks again. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Having stayed here in 2010 and enjoyed it so much, we booked a suite again for a 4 night stay as part of our tour of Oregon this year. Coincidentally, we were allocated the same Riverside suite as on our last stay so we were able to give a good comparison. The suite has a wonderful view of the Columbia river. On the whole, we enjoyed our stay as much as before but with some downsides.

Our suite was on the ground floor and, unfortunately, for the first 3 days of our stay a family with 4 children were in the suite above and when they were there the children were constantly running around the rooms, dragging furniture about on the balcony and generally being extremely noisy and irritating. We appreciate that this is outside the control of the hotel but spoilt our enjoyment as we felt it necessary to go out whenever the family above were in residence just to get away from the continual noise. If you are considering staying in one of the suites, we would advise that you avoid the ground floor if a quiet stay is a priority for you.

The other disappointment we found was that both TVs in the suite had faults, the one in the lounge area could not receive any of the HD channels while the one in the bedroom had a green tinge. Also, the sound system for the TV in the lounge area had been removed since our last visit and replaced with a single speaker with distorted sound. For the cost of the room, we expected better equipment than this.

Having said all this, on the whole the suite was well equipped and clean and the beds were comfortable. Also the cleaning staff were very efficient and friendly.

We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant and the service was friendly and efficient although we found that we usually had to wait a while for a table to become free. The room rate included a breakfast voucher each day but, strangely, you could only have a certain selection off the menu which seemed a bit odd. It would have been better to have an allowance each day so that there was a wider choice and you paid for any extra.

It is possible to walk from the hotel along the river into the town of Hood River and on the whole this is a good walk. However, there is one section where the path goes under the interstate where we would be wary of walking after dark.

If we return to Oregon, we would certainly consider staying here again but would be careful to avoid a ground floor suite.

Room Tip: If staying in a Riverside suite, avoid the ground floor if a quiet stay is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tandrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Tandrw, Welcome back and thank you for your detailed, candid and mostly positive review. We appreciate your kind comments about our restaurant and our friendly staff. Regarding the hiccups during your stay. I apologize for the noise caused by the active children in the room above you. We would have welcomed the opportunity to call those guests to ask them for a bit of cooperation. It should not happen that one guest can spoil the stay for another. Also, I am sorry for the TV issues. They required a visit from our local dish network rep to resolve. The surround sound change was a tough decision for us but so many of our guest weren't able to navigate the DVR, DVD and sound applications that our maintenance staff were called at all hours of the day and night to work through navigation problems. As soon as a simple solution becomes available we will be restoring that system. I do hope you’ll have the opportunity to visit us again, please call me personally so that I might coordinate your reservations. We'll do our best to make your next stay more like your first! Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hood River, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a great place to stay... pool, hot tub, nice hotel room, great staff, free breakfast is a REAL breakfast and good! The views are amazing, and it's better than you'd expect. They have everything you'd need for a nice get away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVHinman, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Kris M, "Better than you'd expect", I love that, thank you, we really appreciate the 5 Star Review. I see you are from Hood River. I hope to have the chance to meet you some Happy Hour in Cebu. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
2.6 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
2.7 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
19.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hood River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hood River Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Address: 1108 E Marina Way, Hood River, OR 97031-2378
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hood River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hood River's ONLY waterfront lodging and dining, on the breathtaking Columbia River with convenient access to all activities. Featuring rooms for every budget; from riverview rooms and suites to standard no-view rooms. Rooms feature mini-fridges, microwaves, hairdryers, irons & board, coffee makers, and high-speed wifi. Enjoy a delicious meal at the Riverside restaurant or Cebu Lounge. Take a dip in our gorgeous riverside pool and spa, or relax in the sauna. We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and high quality cleaning standards. Our friendly, helpful staff is ready to ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hood River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hood River Hotel Hood River
Best Western Hood River
Hood River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing