We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River(Hood River)(Great Value!)
US$186
US$167
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westcliff Lodge(Hood River)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Columbia Gorge Hotel(Hood River)(Great Value!)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hood River Hotel(Hood River)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Motel 6 The Dalles(The Dalles)
US$73
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Hood River)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,811)
Filter reviews
2,811 results
Traveller rating
1,855
732
152
47
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,855
732
152
47
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver viewriverside restauranteast wingwalking pathfree breakfastview roomheated poolthird floorthe columbia gorgebest westernsparking lotgreat place to stayfitness centerwine tastingoatmealroad triplounge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,731 - 2,736 of 2,811 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2009

Easy to get to from the interstate and nice rooms. Decent size, comfy beds, and clean! Will definitely stop here on our travels again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwh223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

The reason that I gave this hotel a 2 was because of the pet policy, the quality of the food and the state of the east wing of the hotel.
The hotel is in a great location, just on the south side of the Columbia River and Hood River Bridge($.75 toll). When we arrived we noticed that there were 2 sides of the hotel, the west side(newer) and the east side(older...built in 1966).
We were traveling with our small dog so we requested a 1st floor room. They also gave us a "doggie bag" with a couple of dog treats and a pouch of wet food. We were given the east wing :-( When we walked into that part of the hotel the ceiling were so low that you thought that you would hit your head. The walls had wood paneling on them and OLD pictures. Our room was just O.K. The carpet had a couple of stains and the windows were dirty but other than that it was the cleanest room that we had ever been in. The room was quite small with a patio with a table and chairs and a cement bench. We had a view of the Columbia River and a HUGE rock. It was great for the dog. There was also cigarette butts on the ground outside of our room.
The next day we asked to look at one of the west wing rooms just because we were curious and really didn't see any difference....except.... The countertops in the bathrooms were granite as the ones in the east wing were not. Same decor but no stained carpet. Not really a big deal but very evident that the west wind was recently remodeled and the east wing was in dire need of one. It also included a free breakfast every morning of your stay. You have 5 things to choose from.
1.)cold cereal
2.)poached pear with oatmeal and hazlenuts
3.)french toast with scrambled eggs and either ham, apple sauage or peppered bacon
4.)biscuts & gravy with scrambled eggs and either ham, apple sausage or peppered bacon
5.)scrambled eggs with either ham, apple sausage or peppered bacon, hashbrowns and a biscut
NO SUBSTITUTIONS!!!!
Now I know that it is free but I would really like to get ham that is not full of fat and a sausage link that is not dripping with fat. The 1st morning was better the the 2nd morning. The 1st morning my husband got the sausage instead of the bacon that he ordered which he finally did get and it was pretty good. 4 good sized pieces, but the 2nd morning my brother in law ordered the bacon and only got 2 pieces and it tasted and looked totally different. My ham was half the size as the ham the morning before. I don't care for scrambled eggs so I paid $2.95 for 2 over medium eggs(whice were over easy) instead and $2.00 for wheat toast instead of the biscut. That really didn' bother me but the cost of the eggs and toast were a little high. Speaking of prices, the Cebu lounge has a GREAT Happy Hour. Monday-Friday 4P.M.-6P.M. $2.99 appetizers and there must be at least 12 to choose from if not more. Escargo, Egg Roll(1), Calamari, Onion Rings, Burger, Fish Tacos just to name a few but be warned, be careful what you order off of Happy Hour. We ordered the Egg Roll($7.50 for 1 cut in half) and the Onion Rings($5.00 for 6-7) late night and a Caesar Salad which were all just O.K. You can't beat the price during Happy Hour, no drink specials though.
Now here are 2 majors problem that would make us think twice about staying here again......
1.) The dog policy. You can NOT leave your dog unattended in your room at anytime, PERIOD! If your dog was caught unattended the hotel would call Animal Control and they would take your dog. What a joke. I would understand if you had an unruley animal that barked all of the time but that isn' the case. We had to put our dog in our car when we went to the hotels restaurant for breakfast.
2.)The hotel website does not disclose that there is also a $12.00 pet fee per nite plus tax.
So they have the most strict pet policy that I have ever heard of AND they charge you too.........
SO IF YOU ARE TRAVELING WITH A PET BEWARE!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank rvivian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeanutsAuntie, Executive Assistant/Revenue Manager at Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2008

Unfortunately, we were not told of this guests displeasure with their room, hotel furnishings, breakfast, or dog policy at any time during their stay. We would have been happy to find them a more suitable room had we known of their displeasure before their departure. For the comfort of other guests, we do ask that guests do not leave their dogs unattended in the room. Our dog policy and pet fee is clearly stated on our Best Western website. In order for us to provide a quality breakfast with quality service to 200+ guests each morning in a short amount of time, we have found that by offering a limited menu, this was the best way to serve our guests and coordinate our wait staff to work most efficiently. We have talked to our kitchen staff and have stressed the importance of consistency of food portions. We are very sorry that they did not enjoy their stay and hope we may have another opportunity to provide our typically outstanding accommodations to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2008

Excellent service. Really good restaurant. Well appointed and clean rooms with a nice view of the river. No negatives - we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank livskunst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

This is a lovely place, right on the river. Be sure to get a room with a river view. Ours was on the ground floor and had its own patio with a table and chairs, facing the Columbia River. Perfect for sipping wine and watching the river traffic, after a day of touring the Columbia River gorge area.

2  Thank RetiredinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2008

We found this through the guidebook The Dog Lovers Companion to the Pacific Northwest. The inn is located on a bluff overlooking the Columbia River Gorge--super view and location. Dogs and companions had a choice of rooms with or without a view that were no smoking, (unusual) sliding door access from the room to the well kept grass and a nice walking path along the river which connected to local marina park. Full hot breakfast was part of the room rate and with a AAA discount, made the view free. Short walk to cool downtown area with plenty of choices for eating, drinking, shopping. Impressive facility with very nice staff. Would definitely stay there again when touring the Gorge area--which I hope will be soon.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews